Missing, Presumed, Susie Steiner
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Missing, Presumed

Author: Susie Steiner

Narrator: Juanita McMahon

Unabridged: 12 hr 52 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 06/28/2016

Genre: Fiction - Mystery & Detective - Traditional British

Synopsis

A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice • A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE WALL STREET JOURNAL

“An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George.”—Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer

“Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw’s biting wit is a bonus.”—The Wall Street Journal

“Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it.”—Redbook

“A highly charismatic and engaging story.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French.”—Booklist

At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep—and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene.

Edith Hind—a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family—has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big—and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive.

The investigation starts with Edith’s loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith’s tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith’s family but for Manon herself.

Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are.

Praise for Missing, Presumed

“Smart, stylish . . . Manon is portrayed with an irresistible blend of sympathy and snark. By the time she hits bottom, professionally and privately, we’re entirely caught up in her story.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Nuanced suspense that’s perfect for Kate Atkinson fans.”—People

“Drenched in character and setting, with pinpoint detail that breathes life and color into every sentence.”—The News & Observer

“You might come to Missing, Presumed for the police procedural; you’ll stay for the layered, authentic characters that Steiner brings to life.”—Bethanne Patrick, NPR

“Where [Susie] Steiner excels is in the depth and clarity with which she depicts her characters. . . . It all adds up to a world that feels much bigger than the novel in which it is contained.”—The Guardian

Recommended

A Great Reckoning, Louise Penny
A Great Reckoning
by Louise Penny

When an intricate old map is found stuffed into the walls of the bistro in Three Pines, it at first seems no more than a curiosity. But the closer the villagers look, the stranger it becomes.Given to Armand Gamache as a gift the first day of his new...

Narrator: Robert Bathurst
Published: 08/30/2016

A Fatal Grace A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel, Louise Penny
A Fatal Grace
by Louise Penny

Winner of the 2007 Agatha Award for Best Novel!Welcome to winter in Three Pines, a picturesque village in Quebec, where the villagers are preparing for a traditional country Christmas, and someone is preparing for murder.No one liked CC de Poitiers....

Narrator: Ralph Cosham
Published: 05/06/2014

Murder on the Orient Express A Hercule Poirot Mystery, Agatha Christie
Murder on the Orient Express
by Agatha Christie

"The murderer is with us—on the train now . . ."Just after midnight, the famous Orient Express is stopped in its tracks by a snowdrift. By morning, the millionaire Samuel Edward Ratchett lies dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, hi...

Narrator: Dan Stevens
Published: 09/10/2013

Still Life A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel, Louise Penny
Still Life
by Louise Penny

Winner of the New Blood Dagger, Arthur Ellis, Barry, Anthony, and Dilys awards.Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Surete du Quebec and his team of investigators are called in to the scene of a suspicious death in a rural village south of Montreal...

Narrator: Ralph Cosham
Published: 05/06/2014

A Trick of the Light A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel, Louise Penny
A Trick of the Light
by Louise Penny

A New York Times Notable Crime Book and Favorite Cozy for 2011A Publishers Weekly Best Mystery/Thriller books for 2011"Penny has been compared to Agatha Christie [but] it sells her short. Her characters are too rich, her grasp of nuance and human ps...

Narrator: Ralph Cosham
Published: 08/30/2011

Glass Houses, Louise Penny
Glass Houses
by Louise Penny

"...the events in GLASS HOUSES challenge Gamache's conscience unlike any of the previous audiobooks, with Bathurst prying open the hero's heart and soul and laying it bare for listeners to experience at a visceral level." — Audiofile Magazine ...

Narrator: Robert Bathurst
Published: 08/29/2017

A Better Man A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel, Louise Penny
A Better Man
by Louise Penny

Catastrophic spring flooding, blistering attacks in the media, and a mysterious disappearance greet Chief Inspector Armand Gamache as he returns to the Surete du Quebec in the latest audiobook from #1 New York Times bestselling author Louise Penny. ...

Narrator: Robert Bathurst
Published: 08/27/2019

Murder on the Orient Express [Movie Tie-in] A Hercule Poirot Mystery, Agatha Christie
Murder on the Orient Express [Movie Tie-in]
by Agatha Christie

A new recording of the most widely read mystery of all time, performed by Kenneth Branagh.Now a major motion picture from Twentieth Century Fox, releasing November 10, 2017 and directed by Kenneth Branagh.“The murderer is with us - on the tra...

Narrator: Kenneth Branagh
Published: 10/31/2017

Kingdom of the Blind A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel, Louise Penny
Kingdom of the Blind
by Louise Penny

"[Narrator Robert Bathurst] engages us completely...If you haven't listened to this series, start at once. You'll love your stay in Three Pines." — AudioFile Magazine on A Great Reckoning Kingdom of the Blind, the new Chief Inspector Gamache a...

Narrator: Robert Bathurst
Published: 11/27/2018
{"id":"1328166","ean":"9780451483324","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Missing, Presumed","subtitle":"","author":"Susie Steiner","rating_average":"4.33","narrator":"Juanita McMahon","ubr_id":"1328166","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Juanita McMahon","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 12 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}