Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes, Kathleen West
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes

Author: Kathleen West

Narrator: Julia Whelan

Unabridged: 11 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Published: 02/04/2020

Genre: Fiction - Family Life

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High—the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle—and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts.

When a devoted teacher comes under pressure for her progressive curriculum and a helicopter mom goes viral on social media, two women at odds with each other find themselves in similar predicaments, having to battle back from certain social ruin.
 
Isobel Johnson has spent her career in Liston Heights sidestepping the community’s high-powered families. But when she receives a threatening voicemail accusing her of Anti-Americanism and a liberal agenda, she’s in the spotlight. Meanwhile, Julia Abbott, obsessed with the casting of the school’s winter musical, makes an error in judgment that has far-reaching consequences for her entire family.
 
Brought together by the sting of public humiliation, Isobel and Julia learn firsthand how entitlement and competition can go too far, thanks to a secret Facebook page created as an outlet for parent grievances. The Liston Heights High student body will need more than a strong sense of school spirit to move past these campus dramas in an engrossing debut novel that addresses parents behaving badly and teenagers speaking up, even against their own families.

{"id":"3693088","ean":"9780593165546","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes","subtitle":"","author":"Kathleen West","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Julia Whelan","series_id":"18313","ubr_id":"3693088","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Julia Whelan","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 9 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}