Long Black Veil, Jennifer Finney Boylan
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Long Black Veil

Author: Jennifer Finney Boylan

Narrator: Jennifer Finney Boylan

Unabridged: 11 hr 39 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 04/11/2017

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Synopsis

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2017

For fans of Donna Tartt and Megan Abbott, a novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past, from the New York Times bestselling author of She's Not There

On a warm August night in 1980, six college students sneak into the dilapidated ruins of Philadelphia’s Eastern State Penitentiary, looking for a thrill. With a pianist, a painter and a teacher among them, the friends are full of potential. But it’s not long before they realize they are locked in—and not alone. When the friends get lost and separated, the terrifying night ends in tragedy, and the unexpected, far-reaching consequences reverberate through the survivors’ lives. As they go their separate ways, trying to move on, it becomes clear that their dark night in the prison has changed them all. Decades later, new evidence is found, and the dogged detective investigating the cold case charges one of them—celebrity chef Jon Casey— with murder. Only Casey’s old friend Judith Carrigan can testify to his innocence.

But Judith is protecting long-held secrets of her own – secrets that, if brought to light, could destroy her career as a travel writer and tear her away from her fireman husband and teenage son. If she chooses to help Casey, she risks losing the life she has fought to build and the woman she has struggled to become. In any life that contains a “before” and an “after,” how is it possible to live one life, not two?

Weaving deftly between 1980 and the present day, and told in an unforgettable voice, Long Black Veil is an intensely atmospheric thriller that explores the meaning of identity, loyalty, and love. Readers will hail this as Boylan’s triumphant return to fiction.

Recommended

Thick as Thieves, Sandra Brown
Thick as Thieves
by Sandra Brown

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Kyf Brewer
Published: 08/25/2020

The Silent Wife, Karin Slaughter
The Silent Wife
by Karin Slaughter

List: $29.95

Sale: $20.97

Club: $14.97

Narrator: Kathleen Early
Published: 08/04/2020

A Conspiracy of Bones, Kathy Reichs
A Conspiracy of Bones
by Kathy Reichs

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Linda Emond
Published: 03/17/2020

Home Before Dark A Novel, Riley Sager
Home Before Dark
by Riley Sager

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Cady McClain
Published: 06/30/2020

The Guardians A Novel, John Grisham
The Guardians
by John Grisham

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Michael Beck
Published: 10/15/2019

The Deserter A Novel, Nelson DeMille
The Deserter
by Nelson DeMille

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 10/22/2019

The Midwife Murders, James Patterson
The Midwife Murders
by James Patterson

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Sophie Amoss
Published: 08/11/2020

A Minute to Midnight, David Baldacci
A Minute to Midnight
by David Baldacci

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Brittany Pressley
Published: 11/19/2019

If It Bleeds, Stephen King
If It Bleeds
by Stephen King

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Will Patton
Published: 04/28/2020
{"id":"1618754","ean":"9781524722920","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Long Black Veil","subtitle":"","author":"Jennifer Finney Boylan","rating_average":"2","narrator":"Jennifer Finney Boylan","ubr_id":"1618754","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jennifer Finney Boylan","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}