• Regular: $24.99

    Sale: $17.50 (30% Off)

    Club: $12.49

Details

Local Girl Missing: A Novel

Author: Claire Douglas

Narrator: Emilia Fox

Unabridged: 10 hr 20 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 07/04/2017

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Synopsis

From the bestselling author of The Sisters comes this twisty, haunting thriller about two best friends, corrosive jealousy, and dark secrets—perfect for fans of The Widow and Luckiest Girl Alive.Someone knows where she is…The old Victorian pier was a thing of beauty until it was allowed to decay. It was where the youth of Oldcliffe-on-Sea would go to hang out. It’s also where twenty-one-year-old Sophie Collier disappeared eighteen years ago. Francesca Howe, known as Frankie, was Sophie’s best friend, and even now she is haunted by the mystery of what happened to her. When Frankie gets a call from Sophie’s brother, Daniel, informing her that human remains have been found washed up nearby, she immediately wonders if it could be Sophie, and returns to her old hometown to try and find closure. Now an editor at a local newspaper, Daniel believes that Sophie was terrified of someone and that her death was the result of foul play rather than “death by misadventure,” as the police claim.Daniel arranges a holiday rental for Frankie that overlooks the pier where Sophie disappeared. In the middle of winter and out of season, Frankie feels isolated and unnerved, especially when she is out on the pier late one night and catches a glimpse of a woman who looks like Sophie. Is the pier really haunted, as they joked all those years ago? Could she really be seeing her friend’s ghost? And what actually happened to her best friend all those years ago?Harrowing, electrifying, and thoroughly compelling, Local Girl Missing showcases once again bestselling author Claire Douglas’ extraordinary storytelling talent.

Recommended

The Concrete Blonde
by Michael Connelly

The Dollmaker was the name of the serial killer who had stalked Los Angeles ruthlessly, leaving grisly calling cards on the faces of his victims. Now, with a single faultless shot, Harry Bosch thinks he has ended the city's nightmare.But the dead ma...

Narrator: Dick Hill
Published: 05/25/2005

The Beach House
by James Patterson

Jack Mullen is in law school in New York City when the news comes that his brother, Peter, has drowned in the ocean off East Hampton. Jack knows his brother practically grew up in the water, and that this couldn't be an accident. Someone must have w...

Narrator: Gil Bellows
Published: 11/01/2005

Blind Alley
by Iris Johansen

The New York Times bestselling author of Firestorm, Iris Johansen, returns with a psychological thriller so terrifying, so relentlessly paced, it won’t leave you time to catch your breath before the next shock comes. A forensic sculptor is loc...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne,Kate Burton
Published: 06/04/2004

The Da Vinci Code
by Dan Brown

1Robert Langdon awoke slowly.A telephone was ringing in the darkness--a tinny, unfamiliar ring. He fumbled for the bedside lamp and turned it on. Squinting at his surroundings he saw a plush Renaissance bedroom with Louis XVI furniture, hand-frescoe...

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 04/04/2006

The King of Torts
by John Grisham

The office of the public defender is not known as a training ground for bright young litigators. Clay Carter has been there too long and, like most of his colleagues, dreams of a better job in a real firm. When he reluctantly takes the case of a y...

Narrator: Michael Beck,Dennis Boutsikaris
Published: 02/04/2003

The Taking
by Dean Koontz

Dean Koontz, the author of many #1 New York Times bestsellers, lives with his wife, Gerda, and the enduring spirit of their golden retriever, Trixie, in southern California.

Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Published: 05/25/2004

The 5th Horseman
by James Patterson

It is a wild race against time as Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer and the newest member of the Women's Murder Club, attorney Yuki Castellano, lead an investigation into a string of mysterious patient deaths--and reveal a hospital administration determined ...

Narrator: Carolyn McCormick
Published: 02/27/2006

The Firm
by John Grisham

"Taut, fast and  relentless... A ride worth taking." --  San Francisco Chronicle."Keeps the reader hooked... From the creepy first  chapters... to the vise-tightening midsection and  on to the t...

Narrator: Scott Brick,D.W. Moffett
Published: 11/06/2007

The Broker
by John Grisham

John Grisham lives with his family in Virginia and Mississippi.  His previous novels are A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Pelican Brief, The Client, The Chamber, The Rainmaker, The Runaway Jury, The Partner, The Street Lawyer, and The Testame...

Narrator: Michael Beck,Dennis Boutsikaris
Published: 01/11/2005
{"id":"1731656","ean":"9780062681621","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Local Girl Missing: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Claire Douglas","rating_average":"5.00","narrator":"Emilia Fox","ubr_id":"1731656","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Emilia Fox","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}