• Regular: $24.99

    Sale: $14.99 (40% Off)

    Club: $12.49

Details

Local Girl Missing: A Novel

Author: Claire Douglas

Narrator: Emilia Fox

Unabridged: 10 hr 20 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 07/04/2017

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Synopsis

From the bestselling author of The Sisters comes this twisty, haunting thriller about two best friends, corrosive jealousy, and dark secrets—perfect for fans of The Widow and Luckiest Girl Alive.Someone knows where she is…The old Victorian pier was a thing of beauty until it was allowed to decay. It was where the youth of Oldcliffe-on-Sea would go to hang out. It’s also where twenty-one-year-old Sophie Collier disappeared eighteen years ago. Francesca Howe, known as Frankie, was Sophie’s best friend, and even now she is haunted by the mystery of what happened to her. When Frankie gets a call from Sophie’s brother, Daniel, informing her that human remains have been found washed up nearby, she immediately wonders if it could be Sophie, and returns to her old hometown to try and find closure. Now an editor at a local newspaper, Daniel believes that Sophie was terrified of someone and that her death was the result of foul play rather than “death by misadventure,” as the police claim.Daniel arranges a holiday rental for Frankie that overlooks the pier where Sophie disappeared. In the middle of winter and out of season, Frankie feels isolated and unnerved, especially when she is out on the pier late one night and catches a glimpse of a woman who looks like Sophie. Is the pier really haunted, as they joked all those years ago? Could she really be seeing her friend’s ghost? And what actually happened to her best friend all those years ago?Harrowing, electrifying, and thoroughly compelling, Local Girl Missing showcases once again bestselling author Claire Douglas’ extraordinary storytelling talent.

Recommended

The Broker
by John Grisham

In his final hours in the Oval Office, the outgoing President grants a controversial last-minute pardon to Joel Backman, a notorious Washington power broker who has spent the last six years hidden away in a federal prison. What no one knows is that ...

Narrator: Michael Beck,Dennis Boutsikaris
Published: 01/11/2005

The Concrete Blonde
by Michael Connelly

The Dollmaker was the name of the serial killer who had stalked Los Angeles ruthlessly, leaving grisly calling cards on the faces of his victims. Now, with a single faultless shot, Harry Bosch thinks he has ended the city's nightmare.But the dead ma...

Narrator: Dick Hill
Published: 05/25/2005

The King of Torts
by John Grisham

The office of the public defender is not known as a training ground for bright young litigators. Clay Carter has been there too long and, like most of his colleagues, dreams of a better job in a real firm. When he reluctantly takes the case of a y...

Narrator: Michael Beck,Dennis Boutsikaris
Published: 02/04/2003

The Da Vinci Code
by Dan Brown

While in Paris on business, Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon receives an urgent late-night phone call: the elderly curator of the Louvre has been murdered inside the museum. Near the body, police have found a baffling cipher. While working to solv...

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 04/04/2006

Hunting Fear
by Kay Hooper

He’s no ordinary kidnapper. Not only does he strike again and again, but he collects the ransom, gets away safely, and leaves his helpless hostages dead. Now, after months of eluding the best that law enforcement can put against him, this mons...

Narrator: Dick Hill
Published: 09/14/2004

The 5th Horseman
by James Patterson

It is a wild race against time as Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer and the newest member of the Women's Murder Club, attorney Yuki Castellano, lead an investigation into a string of mysterious patient deaths--and reveal a hospital administration determined ...

Narrator: Carolyn McCormick
Published: 02/27/2006

The Taking
by Dean Koontz

In one of the most dazzling books of his celebrated career, Dean Koontz delivers a masterwork of page-turning suspense that surpasses even his own inimitable reputation as a chronicler of our worst fears—and best dreams. In The Taking he tells...

Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Published: 05/25/2004

The Beach House
by James Patterson

Jack Mullen is in law school in New York City when the news comes that his brother, Peter, has drowned in the ocean off East Hampton. Jack knows his brother practically grew up in the water, and that this couldn't be an accident. Someone must have w...

Narrator: Gil Bellows
Published: 11/01/2005

The Poet
by Michael Connelly

With his four Harry Bosch novels, Michael Connelly joined "the top rank of a new generation of crime writers" (Los Angeles Times). Now Connelly returns with his most searing thriller yet—a major new departure that recalls the best work of Thom...

Narrator: Buck Schirner
Published: 09/14/2004
{"id":"1731656","ean":"9780062681621","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Local Girl Missing: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Claire Douglas","rating_average":"5.00","narrator":"Emilia Fox","ubr_id":"1731656","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Emilia Fox","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}