• Regular: $24.99

    Sale: $17.50 (30% Off)

    Club: $12.49

Details

Local Girl Missing

Author: Claire Douglas

Narrator: Emilia Fox

Unabridged: 10 hr 20 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 07/04/2017

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Synopsis

From the bestselling author of The Sisters comes this twisty, haunting thriller about two best friends, corrosive jealousy, and dark secrets—perfect for fans of The Widow and Luckiest Girl Alive.Someone knows where she is…The old Victorian pier was a thing of beauty until it was allowed to decay. It was where the youth of Oldcliffe-on-Sea would go to hang out. It’s also where twenty-one-year-old Sophie Collier disappeared eighteen years ago. Francesca Howe, known as Frankie, was Sophie’s best friend, and even now she is haunted by the mystery of what happened to her. When Frankie gets a call from Sophie’s brother, Daniel, informing her that human remains have been found washed up nearby, she immediately wonders if it could be Sophie, and returns to her old hometown to try and find closure. Now an editor at a local newspaper, Daniel believes that Sophie was terrified of someone and that her death was the result of foul play rather than “death by misadventure,” as the police claim.Daniel arranges a holiday rental for Frankie that overlooks the pier where Sophie disappeared. In the middle of winter and out of season, Frankie feels isolated and unnerved, especially when she is out on the pier late one night and catches a glimpse of a woman who looks like Sophie. Is the pier really haunted, as they joked all those years ago? Could she really be seeing her friend’s ghost? And what actually happened to her best friend all those years ago?Harrowing, electrifying, and thoroughly compelling, Local Girl Missing showcases once again bestselling author Claire Douglas’ extraordinary storytelling talent.

Recommended

The Closers
by Michael Connelly

In Los Angeles in 1988, a 16-year-old girl disappeared from her home and was later found dead of a gunshot wound to the chest. The death appeared at first to be a suicide, but some of the evidence contradicted that scenario, and detectives came to b...

Narrator: Len Cariou
Published: 05/16/2005

The Concrete Blonde
by Michael Connelly

The Dollmaker was the name of the serial killer who had stalked Los Angeles ruthlessly, leaving grisly calling cards on the faces of his victims. Now, with a single faultless shot, Harry Bosch thinks he has ended the city's nightmare.But the dead ma...

Narrator: Dick Hill
Published: 05/25/2005

Split Second
by David Baldacci

The world can change forever in a single...SPLIT SECONDMichelle Maxwell has just wrecked her promising career at the Secret Service. Against her instincts, she let a presidential candidate out of her sight for the briefest moment, and the man whose...

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 08/01/2005

The Broker
by John Grisham

In his final hours in the Oval Office, the outgoing President grants a controversial last-minute pardon to Joel Backman, a notorious Washington power broker who has spent the last six years hidden away in a federal prison. What no one knows is that ...

Narrator: Michael Beck,Dennis Boutsikaris
Published: 01/11/2005

Chill Factor
by Sandra Brown

Cleary, North Carolina, is a sleepy mountain town -- the kind of place where criminal activity is usually limited to parking violations. Not so, lately. Four women have disappeared from Cleary over the past two years. And there's always a blue ribbo...

Narrator: Stephen Lang
Published: 08/16/2005

Hunting Fear
by Kay Hooper

He’s no ordinary kidnapper. Not only does he strike again and again, but he collects the ransom, gets away safely, and leaves his helpless hostages dead. Now, after months of eluding the best that law enforcement can put against him, this mons...

Narrator: Dick Hill
Published: 09/14/2004

The Stand
by Stephen King

This is the way the world ends: with a nanosecond of computer error in a Defense Department laboratory and a million casual contacts that form the links in a chain letter of death.And here is the bleak new world of the day after: a world stripped of...

Narrator: Grover Gardner
Published: 02/14/2012

The Da Vinci Code
by Dan Brown

While in Paris on business, Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon receives an urgent late-night phone call: the elderly curator of the Louvre has been murdered inside the museum. Near the body, police have found a baffling cipher. While working to solv...

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 04/04/2006

The Last Juror
by John Grisham

In 1970, one of Mississippi's more colorful weekly newspapers, The Ford County Times, went bankrupt. To the surprise and dismay of many, ownership was assumed by a 23 year-old college dropout, named Willie Traynor. The future of the paper looked gr...

Narrator: Michael Beck,Terrence Mann
Published: 02/03/2004
{"id":"1731656","ean":"9780062681621","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Local Girl Missing","subtitle":"","author":"Claire Douglas","rating_average":"5.00","narrator":"Emilia Fox","ubr_id":"1731656","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Emilia Fox","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}