Lake Life: A Novel, David James Poissant
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Lake Life: A Novel

Author: David James Poissant

Narrator: Jacques Roy

Unabridged: 9 hr 36 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 07/07/2020

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

From the award-winning author of the acclaimed story collection The Heaven of Animals, called “a wise debut…beautiful [stories] with a rogue touch” (The New York Times Book Review), comes a sweeping, domestic novel about a family that reunites at their North Carolina lake house for one last vacation before the home is sold—and the long-buried secrets that are finally revealed. The Starling family is scattered across the country. Parents Richard and Lisa live in Ithaca, New York, and work at Cornell University. Their son Michael, a salesperson, lives in Dallas with his elementary school teacher wife, Diane. Michael’s brother, Thad, an aspiring poet, makes his home in New York City with his famous painter boyfriend, Jake. For years they’ve traveled to North Carolina to share a summer vacation at the family lake house. That tradition is coming to an end, as Richard and Lisa have decided to sell the treasured summer home and retire to Florida. Before they do, the family will spend one last weekend at the lake. But what should to be a joyous farewell takes a nightmarish turn when the family witnesses a tragedy that triggers a series of dramatic revelations among the Starlings—alcoholism, infidelity, pregnancy, and a secret the parents have kept from their sons for over thirty years. As the weekend unfolds, relationships fray, bonds are tested, and the Starlings are forced to reckon with who they are and what they want from this life. Set in today’s America, Lake Life is a beautifully rendered, emotionally compelling novel in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen’s The Corrections, Elizabeth Strout’s Olive Kitteridge, and Ann Patchett’s Commonwealth.

Recommended

Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars. A Novel, Joyce Carol Oates
Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars.
by Joyce Carol Oates

List: $48.99

Sale: $34.30

Club: $24.49

Narrator: Cheryl Smith
Published: 06/09/2020

The Heap A Novel, Sean Adams
The Heap
by Sean Adams

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: David Sadzin
Published: 01/07/2020

Such a Fun Age, Kiley Reid
Such a Fun Age
by Kiley Reid

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Nicole Lewis
Published: 12/31/2019

My Dark Vanessa A Novel, Kate Elizabeth Russell
My Dark Vanessa
by Kate Elizabeth Russell

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club Sale: $14.99

Narrator: Grace Gummer
Published: 03/10/2020

The End of the Ocean A Novel, Maja Lunde
The End of the Ocean
by Maja Lunde

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Jane Copland
Published: 01/14/2020

Valentine A Novel, Elizabeth Wetmore
Valentine
by Elizabeth Wetmore

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 03/31/2020

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015

Anxious People A Novel, Fredrik Backman
Anxious People
by Fredrik Backman

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Marin Ireland
Published: 09/08/2020
{"id":"4109024","ean":"9781797110509","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Lake Life: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"David James Poissant","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Jacques Roy","ubr_id":"4109024","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jacques Roy","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 36 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}