Lake Life: A Novel, David James Poissant
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Lake Life: A Novel

Author: David James Poissant

Narrator: Jacques Roy

Unabridged: 9 hr 36 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 07/07/2020

Genre: Fiction

Synopsis

From the award-winning author of the acclaimed story collection The Heaven of Animals, called “a wise debut…beautiful [stories] with a rogue touch” (The New York Times Book Review), comes a sweeping, domestic novel about a family that reunites at their North Carolina lake house for one last vacation before the home is sold—and the long-buried secrets that are finally revealed. The Starling family is scattered across the country. Parents Richard and Lisa live in Ithaca, New York, and work at Cornell University. Their son Michael, a salesperson, lives in Dallas with his elementary school teacher wife, Diane. Michael’s brother, Thad, an aspiring poet, makes his home in New York City with his famous painter boyfriend, Jake. For years they’ve traveled to North Carolina to share a summer vacation at the family lake house. That tradition is coming to an end, as Richard and Lisa have decided to sell the treasured summer home and retire to Florida. Before they do, the family will spend one last weekend at the lake. But what should to be a joyous farewell takes a nightmarish turn when the family witnesses a tragedy that triggers a series of dramatic revelations among the Starlings—alcoholism, infidelity, pregnancy, and a secret the parents have kept from their sons for over thirty years. As the weekend unfolds, relationships fray, bonds are tested, and the Starlings are forced to reckon with who they are and what they want from this life. Set in today’s America, Lake Life is a beautifully rendered, emotionally compelling novel in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen’s The Corrections, Elizabeth Strout’s Olive Kitteridge, and Ann Patchett’s Commonwealth.

Recommended

Since We Fell, Dennis Lehane
Since We Fell
by Dennis Lehane

List: $27.99

Sale: $19.59

Club: $13.99

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 05/09/2017

In His Father's Footsteps, Danielle Steel
In His Father's Footsteps
by Danielle Steel

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Dan John Miller
Published: 09/04/2018

Under The Dome, Stephen King
Under The Dome
by Stephen King

List: $39.99

Sale: $28.00

Club: $19.99

Narrator: Raul Esparza
Published: 11/10/2009

Fall From Grace, Danielle Steel
Fall From Grace
by Danielle Steel

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Luis Moreno
Published: 01/23/2018

Accidental Heroes, Danielle Steel
Accidental Heroes
by Danielle Steel

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Jim Frangione
Published: 03/20/2018

11/22/63, Stephen King
11/22/63
by Stephen King

List: $39.99

Sale: $28.00

Club: $19.99

Narrator: Craig Wasson
Published: 11/08/2011

Animal Farm, George Orwell
Animal Farm
by George Orwell

List: $10.99

Sale: $7.70

Club: $5.49

Narrator: Patrick Tull
Published: 01/26/2021

The Cast, Danielle Steel
The Cast
by Danielle Steel

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Jim Frangione
Published: 05/15/2018

A Dog's Way Home, W. Bruce Cameron
A Dog's Way Home
by W. Bruce Cameron

List: $20.49

Sale: $14.34

Club: $10.24

Narrator: Ann Marie Lee
Published: 05/30/2017
{"id":"4109024","ean":"9781797110509","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Lake Life: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"David James Poissant","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Jacques Roy","ubr_id":"4109024","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jacques Roy","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 36 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}