Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime, Kate Fazzini
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime

Author: Kate Fazzini

Narrator: Khristine Hvam

Unabridged: 6 hr 19 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 06/11/2019

Genre: True Crime - White Collar Crime

Synopsis

"Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers.a€ a€”Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Oath

In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frightening behind-the-scenes look at the interconnected cultures of hackers, security specialists, and law enforcement.

A 19-year-old Romanian student stumbles into a criminal ransomware ring in her village. Soon she is extorting Silicon Valley billionaires for millions--without knowing the first thing about computers.

A veteran cybersecurity specialist has built a deep network of top notch hackers in one of the worlda€™s largest banks. But then the bank brings in a cadre of ex-military personnel to a€œhelp.a€

A cynical Russian only leaves his tiny New Jersey apartment to hack sports cars at a high performance shop in Newark. But he opens his door to a consultant who needs his help.

A hotel doorman in China once served in the Peoplea€™s Army, stealing intellectual property from American companies. Now he uses his skills to build up a private side-business selling the data he takes from travelers to Shanghaia€™s commercial center.

Kingdom of Lies follows the intertwined stories of cybercriminals and ethical hackers as they jump from criminal trend to criminal trend, crisis to crisis. A cybersecurity professional turned journalist, Kate Fazzini illuminates the many lies companies and governments tell us about our security, the lies criminals tell to get ahead, and the lies security leaders tell to make us think they are better at their jobs than they are.

Like Traffic set in the cybercrime world, Kingdom of Lies is as entertaining as it is eye opening.

Recommended

DarkMarket Cyberthieves, Cybercops and You, Misha Glenny
DarkMarket
by Misha Glenny

"This extraordinarily powerful book demonstrates how utterly we lack the shared supranational tools needed to fight cybercrime. Essential reading." --Roberto Saviano, author of GommorahThe benefits of living in a digital, globalized society are enor...

Narrator: Jonathan Cowley
Published: 10/04/2011

Just Desserts, Katy Vine
Just Desserts
by Katy Vine

In partnership with Texas Monthly, Katy Vine's "Just Desserts" is now available as an audio download, where the length and timeliness of a podcast meets the high-quality production of a full-length audio program.Mr. and Mrs. Jenkins led a perfectly ...

Narrator: Lydia Mackay
Published: 01/09/2018

The Informant A True Story, Kurt Eichenwald
The Informant
by Kurt Eichenwald

From an award-winning New York Times investigative reporter comes a gripping account of one of the most captivating and bizarre tales in the history of the FBI and corporate America.It was one of the FBI's biggest secrets: Mark Whitacre, a senior ex...

Narrator: Arthur Morey
Published: 12/27/2005

The Informant A True Story, Kurt Eichenwald
The Informant
by Kurt Eichenwald

From an award-winning New York Times investigative reporter comes a gripping account of one of the most captivating and bizarre tales in the history of the FBI and corporate America.It was one of the FBI's biggest secrets: Mark Whitacre, a senior ex...

Narrator: Arthur Morey
Published: 08/11/2009

Chasing Phil The Adventures of Two Undercover Agents with the World's Most Charming Con Man, David Howard
Chasing Phil
by David Howard

A thrilling true crime caper, bursting with colorful characters and awash in ‘70s glamour, that spotlights the FBI's first white-collar undercover sting   1977, the Thunderbird Motel. J.J. Wedick and Jack Brennan—two fresh-faced, ma...

Narrator: Joe Ochman
Published: 10/10/2017

Why They Do It Inside the Mind of the White-Collar Criminal, Eugene Soltes
Why They Do It
by Eugene Soltes

Drawing on intimate details from personal visits, letters, and phone calls with former executives turned white-collar criminals, as well as psychological, sociological, and historical research, Why They Do It is a breakthrough look at the dark side ...

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 10/11/2016

Filthy Rich A Powerful Billionaire, the Sex Scandal that Undid Him, and All the Justice that Money Can Buy: The Shocking True Story of Jeffrey Epstein, James Patterson
Filthy Rich
by James Patterson

A shocking true crime tale of money, power, and sex from the world's most popular thriller writer.Jeffrey Epstein rose from humble origins to the rarefied heights of New York City's financial elite. A college dropout with an instinct for numbers--a...

Narrator: Jason Culp
Published: 10/10/2016

Noncompliant A Lone Whistleblower Exposes the Giants of Wall Street, Carmen Segarra
Noncompliant
by Carmen Segarra

A first-hand account of the oversight of the big banks in the wake of the financial crisis, from the Federal Reserve examiner who refused to be silencedIn 2011, Carmen Segarra took a job as at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York supervising for Go...

Narrator: Roxana Ortega
Published: 10/16/2018

Heist The Oddball Crew behind the $17 Million Loomis Fargo Theft, Jeff Diamant
Heist
by Jeff Diamant

The bizarre true story of the criminals behind the second-largest bank heist in American history One night in a small North Carolina town, a down-on-his-luck guard at Loomis Fargo manages to steal $17 millionliterally more than one ton of cash. Des...

Narrator: Jeffrey Kafer
Published: 08/04/2015
{"id":"3165981","ean":"9781250221162","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime","subtitle":"Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime","author":"Kate Fazzini","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Khristine Hvam","series_id":"9417","ubr_id":"3165981","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Khristine Hvam","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}