Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime, Kate Fazzini
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime

Author: Kate Fazzini

Narrator: Khristine Hvam

Unabridged: 6 hr 19 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 06/11/2019

Genre: True Crime - White Collar Crime

Synopsis

"Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers.” —Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Oath In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frightening behind-the-scenes look at the interconnected cultures of hackers, security specialists, and law enforcement. A 19-year-old Romanian student stumbles into a criminal ransomware ring in her village. Soon she is extorting Silicon Valley billionaires for millions--without knowing the first thing about computers.A veteran cybersecurity specialist has built a deep network of top notch hackers in one of the world’s largest banks. But then the bank brings in a cadre of ex-military personnel to “help.” A cynical Russian only leaves his tiny New Jersey apartment to hack sports cars at a high performance shop in Newark. But he opens his door to a consultant who needs his help. A hotel doorman in China once served in the People’s Army, stealing intellectual property from American companies. Now he uses his skills to build up a private side-business selling the data he takes from travelers to Shanghai’s commercial center. Kingdom of Lies follows the intertwined stories of cybercriminals and ethical hackers as they jump from criminal trend to criminal trend, crisis to crisis. A cybersecurity professional turned journalist, Kate Fazzini illuminates the many lies companies and governments tell us about our security, the lies criminals tell to get ahead, and the lies security leaders tell to make us think they are better at their jobs than they are.Like Traffic set in the cybercrime world, Kingdom of Lies is as entertaining as it is eye opening.

Recommended

The Real Lolita The Kidnapping of Sally Horner and the Novel that Scandalized the World, Sarah Weinman
The Real Lolita
by Sarah Weinman

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 09/11/2018

Secrets in the Cellar The True Story of the Austrian Incest Case That Shocked the World, John Glatt
Secrets in the Cellar
by John Glatt

List: $16.99

Sale: $11.89

Club: $8.49

Narrator: Gildart Jackson
Published: 07/08/2013

Practice to Deceive, Ann Rule
Practice to Deceive
by Ann Rule

List: $23.95

Sale: $16.77

Club: $11.97

Narrator: Anne Twomey
Published: 10/08/2013

The Lost Girls The True Story of the Cleveland Abductions and the Incredible Rescue of Michelle Knight, Amanda Berry, and Gina Dejesus, John Glatt
The Lost Girls
by John Glatt

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Shaun Grindell
Published: 05/01/2015

The Family Next Door The Heartbreaking Imprisonment of the 13 Turpin Siblings and Their Extraordinary Rescue, John Glatt
The Family Next Door
by John Glatt

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Shaun Grindell
Published: 08/06/2019

Den of Thieves, James B. Stewart
Den of Thieves
by James B. Stewart

List: $29.95

Sale: $20.97

Club: $14.97

Narrator: Johnny Heller,John Hockenberry
Published: 09/17/2013

Heist The Oddball Crew behind the $17 Million Loomis Fargo Theft, Jeff Diamant
Heist
by Jeff Diamant

List: $13.95

Sale: $9.77

Club: $6.97

Narrator: Jeffrey Kafer
Published: 08/04/2015

Chasing Phil The Adventures of Two Undercover Agents with the World's Most Charming Con Man, David Howard
Chasing Phil
by David Howard

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Joe Ochman
Published: 10/10/2017

Filthy Rich A Powerful Billionaire, the Sex Scandal that Undid Him, and All the Justice that Money Can Buy: The Shocking True Story of Jeffrey Epstein, James Patterson
Filthy Rich
by James Patterson

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Jason Culp
Published: 10/10/2016
{"id":"3165981","ean":"9781250221162","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime","subtitle":"Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime","author":"Kate Fazzini","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Khristine Hvam","ubr_id":"3165981","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Khristine Hvam","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}