Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime, Kate Fazzini
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime

Author: Kate Fazzini

Narrator: Khristine Hvam

Unabridged: 6 hr 19 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 06/11/2019

Genre: True Crime - Cybercrime

Synopsis

"Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers.” —Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Oath In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frightening behind-the-scenes look at the interconnected cultures of hackers, security specialists, and law enforcement. A 19-year-old Romanian student stumbles into a criminal ransomware ring in her village. Soon she is extorting Silicon Valley billionaires for millions--without knowing the first thing about computers.A veteran cybersecurity specialist has built a deep network of top notch hackers in one of the world’s largest banks. But then the bank brings in a cadre of ex-military personnel to “help.” A cynical Russian only leaves his tiny New Jersey apartment to hack sports cars at a high performance shop in Newark. But he opens his door to a consultant who needs his help. A hotel doorman in China once served in the People’s Army, stealing intellectual property from American companies. Now he uses his skills to build up a private side-business selling the data he takes from travelers to Shanghai’s commercial center. Kingdom of Lies follows the intertwined stories of cybercriminals and ethical hackers as they jump from criminal trend to criminal trend, crisis to crisis. A cybersecurity professional turned journalist, Kate Fazzini illuminates the many lies companies and governments tell us about our security, the lies criminals tell to get ahead, and the lies security leaders tell to make us think they are better at their jobs than they are.Like Traffic set in the cybercrime world, Kingdom of Lies is as entertaining as it is eye opening.

Recommended

American Sherlock Murder, Forensics, and the Birth of American CSI, Kate Winkler Dawson
American Sherlock
by Kate Winkler Dawson

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Kate Winkler Dawson
Published: 02/11/2020

The Suspect An Olympic Bombing, the FBI, the Media, and Richard Jewell, the Man Caught in the Middle, Kent Alexander
The Suspect
by Kent Alexander

List: $22.95

Sale: $16.07

Club: $11.47

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 11/12/2019

The Family Next Door The Heartbreaking Imprisonment of the 13 Turpin Siblings and Their Extraordinary Rescue, John Glatt
The Family Next Door
by John Glatt

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Shaun Grindell
Published: 08/06/2019

An Unexplained Death The True Story of a Body at the Belvedere, Mikita Brottman
An Unexplained Death
by Mikita Brottman

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Mikita Brottman
Published: 11/06/2018

The Cold Vanish Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands, Jon Billman
The Cold Vanish
by Jon Billman

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Stephen Graybill
Published: 07/07/2020

Ghost of the Innocent Man A True Story of Trial and Redemption, Benjamin Rachlin
Ghost of the Innocent Man
by Benjamin Rachlin

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Ron Butler
Published: 08/15/2017

Practice to Deceive, Ann Rule
Practice to Deceive
by Ann Rule

List: $23.95

Sale: $16.77

Club: $11.97

Narrator: Anne Twomey
Published: 10/08/2013

The Girl on the Velvet Swing Sex, Murder, and Madness at the Dawn of the Twentieth Century, Simon Baatz
The Girl on the Velvet Swing
by Simon Baatz

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Christine Lakin
Published: 01/16/2018

The Lost Girls The True Story of the Cleveland Abductions and the Incredible Rescue of Michelle Knight, Amanda Berry, and Gina Dejesus, John Glatt
The Lost Girls
by John Glatt

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Shaun Grindell
Published: 05/01/2015
{"id":"3165981","ean":"9781250221162","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime","subtitle":"Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime","author":"Kate Fazzini","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Khristine Hvam","ubr_id":"3165981","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Khristine Hvam","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}