Island of a Thousand Mirrors, Nayomi Munaweera
  • List: $16.95  |  Sale: $11.87
    Club: $8.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Island of a Thousand Mirrors

Author: Nayomi Munaweera

Narrator: Priya Ayyar

Unabridged: 7 hr 6 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 09/02/2014

Genre: Fiction - Cultural Heritage

Synopsis

A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposing sides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil War Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara and her siblings lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents ambitions, teenage love, and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodharas family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodharas life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girls. Saraswathie is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoida conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways. In the tradition of Michael Ondatjes Anils Ghost and Arundhati Roys The God of Small Things, Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict, and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to

Recommended

From Sand and Ash, Amy Harmon
From Sand and Ash
by Amy Harmon

List: $9.99

Sale: $7.00

Club: $4.99

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 12/01/2016

The Color of Our Sky, Amita Trasi
The Color of Our Sky
by Amita Trasi

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Sneha Mathan
Published: 04/18/2017

Bangkok Wakes to Rain A Novel, Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Bangkok Wakes to Rain
by Pitchaya Sudbanthad

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Euan Morton
Published: 02/19/2019

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, Arundhati Roy
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
by Arundhati Roy

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Arundhati Roy
Published: 06/06/2017

Where the Dead Sit Talking, Brandon Hobson
Where the Dead Sit Talking
by Brandon Hobson

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Eric Michael Summerer
Published: 02/28/2018

The Stationery Shop, Marjan Kamali
The Stationery Shop
by Marjan Kamali

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Mozhan Marno
Published: 06/18/2019

House of Broken Angels, Luis Alberto Urrea
House of Broken Angels
by Luis Alberto Urrea

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Luis Alberto Urrea
Published: 03/06/2018

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress, Dai Sijie
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstr...
by Dai Sijie

List: $13.95

Sale: $9.77

Club: $6.97

Narrator: B.D. Wong
Published: 10/29/2002

The Golden Son, Shilpi Somaya Gowda
The Golden Son
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

List: $27.99

Sale: $19.59

Club: $13.99

Narrator: Sunil Malhotra
Published: 01/26/2016
{"id":"793924","ean":"9781481508124","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Island of a Thousand Mirrors","subtitle":"","author":"Nayomi Munaweera","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Priya Ayyar","ubr_id":"793924","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"16.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.02","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Priya Ayyar","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 6 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}