Island of a Thousand Mirrors, Nayomi Munaweera
  • List: $16.95  |  Sale: $11.87
    Club: $8.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Island of a Thousand Mirrors

Author: Nayomi Munaweera

Narrator: Priya Ayyar

Unabridged: 7 hr 6 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 09/02/2014

Genre: Fiction - Cultural Heritage

Synopsis

A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposing sides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil War Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara and her siblings lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents ambitions, teenage love, and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodharas family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodharas life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girls. Saraswathie is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoida conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways. In the tradition of Michael Ondatjes Anils Ghost and Arundhati Roys The God of Small Things, Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict, and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to

Recommended

A Woman Is No Man A Novel, Etaf Rum
A Woman Is No Man
by Etaf Rum

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Susan Nezami
Published: 03/05/2019

Mountains Sing, The, Nguy?n Phan Qu? Mai
Mountains Sing, The
by Nguy?n Phan Qu? Mai

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Quyen Ngo
Published: 03/17/2020

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, Arundhati Roy
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
by Arundhati Roy

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Arundhati Roy
Published: 06/06/2017

Bangkok Wakes to Rain A Novel, Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Bangkok Wakes to Rain
by Pitchaya Sudbanthad

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Euan Morton
Published: 02/19/2019

From Sand and Ash, Amy Harmon
From Sand and Ash
by Amy Harmon

List: $9.99

Sale: $7.00

Club: $4.99

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 12/01/2016

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress, Dai Sijie
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstr...
by Dai Sijie

List: $13.95

Sale: $9.77

Club: $6.97

Narrator: B.D. Wong
Published: 10/29/2002

The Stationery Shop, Marjan Kamali
The Stationery Shop
by Marjan Kamali

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Mozhan Marno
Published: 06/18/2019

The Shape of Family A Novel, Shilpi Somaya Gowda
The Shape of Family
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Shiromi Arserio
Published: 03/17/2020

Little Family A Novel, Ishmael Beah
Little Family
by Ishmael Beah

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Dion Graham
Published: 04/28/2020
{"id":"793924","ean":"9781481508124","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Island of a Thousand Mirrors","subtitle":"","author":"Nayomi Munaweera","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Priya Ayyar","ubr_id":"793924","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"16.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.02","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Priya Ayyar","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 6 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}