Island of a Thousand Mirrors, Nayomi Munaweera
  • List: $16.95  |  Sale: $11.87
    Club: $8.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Island of a Thousand Mirrors

Author: Nayomi Munaweera

Narrator: Priya Ayyar

Unabridged: 7 hr 6 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 09/02/2014

Genre: Fiction

Synopsis

A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposing sides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil War Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara and her siblings lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents ambitions, teenage love, and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodharas family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodharas life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girls. Saraswathie is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoida conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways. In the tradition of Michael Ondatjes Anils Ghost and Arundhati Roys The God of Small Things, Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict, and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to

Recommended

Fifty Shades of Grey, E L James
Fifty Shades of Grey
by E L James

THE WORLDWIDE BESTSELLER FEATURED IN THE MOVIE "Book Club"When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana i...

Narrator: Becca Battoe
Published: 04/03/2012

A Clash of Kings Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin
A Clash of Kings
by George R. R. Martin

THE BOOK BEHIND THE SECOND SEASON OF GAME OF THRONES, AN ORIGINAL SERIES NOW ON HBO.In this sequel to A Game of Thrones, George Martin pursues the embattled Seven Kingdoms through a bitter 10-year winter in which good and evil contend for ...

Narrator: Roy Dotrice
Published: 10/15/2003

It, Stephen King
It
by Stephen King

Now a major motion picture Stephen King’s terrifying, classic #1 New York Times bestseller, “a landmark in American literature” (Chicago Sun-Times)—about seven adults who return to their hometown to confront a nightmare they ...

Narrator: Steven Weber
Published: 01/01/2016

A Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin
A Game of Thrones
by George R. R. Martin

NOW THE ACCLAIMED HBO SERIES GAME OF THRONESNominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American ReadFrom a master of contemporary fantasy comes the first novel of a landmark series unlike any you’ve eve...

Narrator: Roy Dotrice
Published: 08/14/2003

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho continues to change the lives of its readers forever. With more than two million copies sold around the world, The Alchemist has established itself as a modern classic, universally admired.Paulo Coelho’s masterpi...

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

The Hunger Games Special Edition, Suzanne Collins
The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

A brand-new special edition recording of the first audiobook in the worldwide bestselling trilogy from Suzanne Collins! In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying d...

Narrator: Tatiana Maslany
Published: 10/30/2018

Ready Player One, Ernest Cline
Ready Player One
by Ernest Cline

Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American ReadThe bestselling cult classic—now a major motion picture directed by Steven Spielberg.At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia, ...

Narrator: Wil Wheaton
Published: 08/16/2011

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

Voted America's Best-Loved Novel in PBS's The Great American ReadHarper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep South—and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatredOne of the most ch...

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

The #1 New York Times Bestseller, USA Today Book of the Year, now a major motion picture.   The debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives.   “Nothing is more addicting th...

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015
{"id":"793924","ean":"9781481508124","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Island of a Thousand Mirrors","subtitle":"","author":"Nayomi Munaweera","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Priya Ayyar","ubr_id":"793924","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"16.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.02","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Priya Ayyar","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 6 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}