I am George Washington, Brad Meltzer
  • List: $5.00  |  Sale: $3.50
    Club: $2.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

I am George Washington

Author: Brad Meltzer

Series: Ordinary People Change the World

Narrator: Jonathan Davis, Various

Unabridged: 16 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio

Published: 02/05/2019

Genre: Children & Young Adults Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Presidents & First Families (u.s.)

Synopsis

We can all be heroes. That’s the inspiring message of this New York Times Bestselling biography series from historian and author Brad Meltzer. Learn all about George Washington, America’s first president.
 
George Washington was one of the greatest leaders the world has ever known. He was never afraid to be the first to try something, from exploring the woods around his childhood home to founding a brand new nation, the United States of America. With his faith in the American people and tremendous bravery, he helped win the Revolutionary War and became the country’s first president.
 
Each entry in this series is a biography of a significant historical figure, told in a simple, conversational, vivacious way, and always focusing on a character trait that makes the person a role model for kids. The heroes tell their life stories in first-person present tense, which keeps the books playful and accessible to young children. And each book ends with a line of encouragement and a direct quote.

Recommended

Death on the River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Amazon Adventure, Samantha Seiple
Death on the River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Amazon Adventure
by Samantha Seiple

The action-packed true story of President Theodore Roosevelt's dangerous adventure down one of the most treacherous rivers on Earth. Death on the River of Doubt takes readers inside the thrilling journey that unfolds as Theodore Roosevelt and his ...

Narrator: David de Vries
Published: 01/03/2017

Who Was Abigail Adams?, True Kelley
Who Was Abigail Adams?
by True Kelley

Abigail Adams was a strong woman far ahead of her time. She urged her husband, President John Adams, to "remember the ladies" and despite having no formal education herself, she later advocated for equal education in public schools for both boys and...

Narrator: Ann Marie Lee
Published: 06/19/2018

Who Is Hillary Clinton?, Heather Alexander
Who Is Hillary Clinton?
by Heather Alexander

Who Is Hillary Clinton? Readers of our New York Times best-selling series can find out now!At age fourteen, Hillary Clinton thought it would be thrilling to become an astronaut, so she sent an application to NASA. The reply was a flat out rejection:...

Narrator: Nan Mcnamara
Published: 08/02/2016

Looking at Lincoln, Maira Kalman
Looking at Lincoln
by Maira Kalman

Lincoln's legacy is everywhere - there he is on your penny and five-dollar bill. And we are still the United States because Lincoln helped hold them together. But who was he, really? The little girl in this video wants to find out. Among the many...

Narrator: Elizabeth Cottle
Published: 01/20/2015

Thomas Jefferson: President and Philosopher, Jon Meacham
Thomas Jefferson: President and Philosopher
by Jon Meacham

In this special edition of the #1 New York Times bestselling Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power by Pulitzer Prize–winning author Jon Meacham, young listeners will learn about the life and political philosophy of one of our Founding Fathers....

Narrator: Edward Herrmann
Published: 09/09/2014

Abraham Lincoln's Dueling Words, Donna Janell Bowman
Abraham Lincoln's Dueling Words
by Donna Janell Bowman

As a young lawyer, Abraham Lincoln was known for his sense of humor. But in 1842, he did something so rascally--so downright mean--he was challenged to a duel. Lincoln needed his wit and a healthy dose of humility to save his life and his career. He...

Narrator: Adam Grupper
Published: 08/10/2018

Lincoln: A Photobiography, Russell Freedman
Lincoln: A Photobiography
by Russell Freedman

Abraham Lincoln stood out in a crowd as much for his wit and rollicking humor as for his height. Here is a warm, appealing biography of our Civil War president.Russell Freedman begins with a lively account of Abraham Lincoln’s boyhood, his ca...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 10/14/2008

Your Presidential Fantasy Dream Team, Daniel O'Brien
Your Presidential Fantasy Dream Team
by Daniel O'Brien

Draft your own presidential fantasy team, based on these hilarious-but-true profiles of our past leaders, in this fun and funny illustrated book perfect for fans of How They Croaked: The Awful Ends of the Awfully Famous and Kid Presid...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 06/28/2016

Who Was George Washington?, Roberta Edwards
Who Was George Washington?
by Roberta Edwards

In 1789, George Washington became the first president of the United States. He has been called the father of our country for leading America through its early years. Washington also served in two major wars during his lifetime: the French and Indian...

Narrator: Mike Chamberlain
Published: 06/19/2018

About the Author

As a #1 New York Times bestselling author, Brad Meltzer has led a very full personal and professional life. He is one of those rare authors who have been quite successful in different genres of writing. He has had success in fiction, non-fiction, advice, and comics. It must be very satisfying to be so diversified as a writer. He graduated from Columbia Law School and was selected to the Columbia Law Review.

His works of fiction encompass: The Inner Circle, The Book of Fate, The Millionaires, The President's Shadow, and his latest, The Escape Artist. Non-Fiction: History Decoded, Advice (Heroes for My Son..... Heroes for My Daughter), Children's books: I Am Amelia Earhart and I Am Abraham Lincoln, and comics: Justice League of America.

Meltzer is host of Brad Meltzer's Last History on H2 and Brad Meltzer's Decoded on the History Channel. As if that is not enough, he was also responsible for helping find the missing 9/11 flag that was raised by the firefighters at Ground Zero. Using his tv show, he had a former Marine walk in to return the flag. It is now in the 9/11 Museum in New York City.

Meltzer is very attuned to his research, so that fictional books have elements of authenticity. He even had former President's Bill Clinton and George H. W. Bush give him advice. He has also participated in Homeland Security round table discussions. There are very few, if any, American authors as diversified as Brad Meltzer.

Ordinary People Change the World Bundle

Get 5% off your total order by adding 3 or more audiobooks from Ordinary People Change the World

I am George Washington, Brad Meltzer
I am Abraham Lincoln, Brad Meltzer
I am Neil Armstrong, Brad Meltzer

I am George Washington
Ordinary People Change the World

I am Abraham Lincoln
Ordinary People Change the World

I am Neil Armstrong
Ordinary People Change the World



Or Choose Any 3 Audiobooks From This Series >
{"id":"2823351","ean":"9781984883780","abr":"Unabridged","title":"I am George Washington","subtitle":"","author":"Brad Meltzer","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Jonathan Davis","series_id":"9322","ubr_id":"2823351","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"5.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"3.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jonathan Davis","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}