How America Lost Its Secrets: Edward Snowden, the Man and the Theft Edward Snowden, the Man and the Theft, Edward Jay Epstein
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

How America Lost Its Secrets: Edward Snowden, the Man and the Theft

Author: Edward Jay Epstein

Narrator: Michael Bybee

Unabridged: 11 hr 59 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 01/17/2017

Genre: Political Science - Political Freedom & Security - Intelligence

Synopsis

A groundbreaking exposé that convincingly challenges the popular image of Edward Snowden as hacker turned avenging angel, while revealing how vulnerable our national security systems have become--as exciting as any political thriller, and far more important.

After details of American government surveillance were published in 2013, Edward Snowden, formerly a subcontracted IT analyst for the NSA, became the center of an international controversy: Was he a hero, traitor, whistle-blower, spy? Was his theft legitimized by the nature of the information he exposed? When is it necessary for governmental transparency to give way to subterfuge? Edward Jay Epstein brings a lifetime of journalistic and investigative acumen to bear on these and other questions, delving into both how our secrets were taken and the man who took them. He makes clear that by outsourcing parts of our security apparatus, the government has made classified information far more vulnerable; how Snowden sought employment precisely where he could most easily gain access to the most sensitive classified material; and how, though he claims to have acted to serve his country, Snowden is treated as a prized intelligence asset in Moscow, his new home.


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

The Fifth Domain Defending Our Country, Our Companies, and Ourselves in the Age of Cyber Threats, Richard A. Clarke
The Fifth Domain
by Richard A. Clarke

An urgent new warning from two bestselling security experts--and a gripping inside look at how governments, firms, and ordinary citizens can confront and contain the tyrants, hackers, and criminals bent on turning the digital realm into a war zone. ...

Narrator: Marc Cashman
Published: 07/16/2019

Collusion Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win, Luke Harding
Collusion
by Luke Harding

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER  An explosive exposé that lays out the story behind the Steele Dossier, including Russia’s decades-in-the-making political game to upend American democracy and the Trump administration’s...

Narrator: Ralph Lister
Published: 11/16/2017

Proof of Conspiracy How Trump's International Collusion Is Threatening American Democracy, Seth Abramson
Proof of Conspiracy
by Seth Abramson

Seth Abramson shows how Trump has conspired and colluded with leaders from Russia, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE, from even before he won the presidency. In late 2015, convicted pedophile, international dealmaker, and cooperating witness in Special Coun...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 09/03/2019

Drone Warrior An Elite Soldier's Inside Account of the Hunt for America's Most Dangerous Enemies, Brett Velicovich
Drone Warrior
by Brett Velicovich

A former Delta Force black ops member takes us inside America’s covert drone war in this headline-making, never-before-told account for fans of Zero Dark Thirty and Lone Survivor, told by a Pulitzer Prize-winning Wall Street Journal writer an...

Narrator: Roger Wayne
Published: 06/27/2017

The Secrets of the FBI, Ronald Kessler
The Secrets of the FBI
by Ronald Kessler

New York Times bestselling author reveals the FBI’s most closely guarded secrets, with an insider look at the bureau’s inner workings and intelligence investigations.   Based on inside access and hundreds of interviews with federal...

Narrator: Michael Bybee
Published: 08/02/2011

A Very Expensive Poison The Assassination of Alexander Litvinenko and Putin's War with the West, Luke Harding
A Very Expensive Poison
by Luke Harding

A true story of murder and conspiracy that points directly to Vladimir Putin, by The Guardian’s former Moscow bureau chief.On November 1, 2006, journalist and Russian dissident Alexander Litvinenko was poisoned in London. He died twenty-two da...

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 01/24/2017

The Devil's Chessboard Allen Dulles, the CIA, and the Rise of America's Secret Government, David Talbot
The Devil's Chessboard
by David Talbot

An explosive, headline-making portrait of Allen Dulles, the man who transformed the CIA into the most powerful—and secretive—colossus in Washington, from the founder of Salon.com and author of the New York Times bestseller Brothers.Amer...

Narrator: Peter Altschuler
Published: 10/13/2015

The Triple Agent The al-Qaeda Mole who Infiltrated the CIA, Joby Warrick
The Triple Agent
by Joby Warrick

A stunning narrative account of the mysterious Jordanian who penetrated both the inner circle of al-Qaeda and the highest reaches of the CIA, with a devastating impact on the war on terror.   In December 2009, a group of the CIA’s top ter...

Narrator: Sunil Malhotra
Published: 07/19/2011

The Assault on Intelligence American National Security in an Age of Lies, Michael V. Hayden
The Assault on Intelligence
by Michael V. Hayden

A blistering critique of the forces threatening the American intelligence community, beginning with the President of the United States himself, in a time when that community's work has never been harder or more importantIn the face of a President wh...

Narrator: Michael V. Hayden
Published: 05/01/2018
{"id":"1535338","ean":"9781524755904","abr":"Unabridged","title":"How America Lost Its Secrets: Edward Snowden, the Man and the Theft","subtitle":"Edward Snowden, the Man and the Theft","author":"Edward Jay Epstein","rating_average":"3.75","narrator":"Michael Bybee","ubr_id":"1535338","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Michael Bybee","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}