House on Fire: A Novel A Novel, Bonnie Kistler
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

House on Fire: A Novel

Author: Bonnie Kistler

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell

Unabridged: 14 hr 56 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 03/12/2019

Genre: Fiction - Thrillers - Domestic

Synopsis

In the bestselling tradition of Jodi Picoult and Celeste Ng, a tightly wound and suspenseful novel about a blended family in crisis after a drunk driving accident leaves the daughter of one parent dead—and the son of the other parent charged with manslaughter. Divorce lawyer Leigh Huyett knows all too well that most second marriages are doomed to fail. But five years in, she and Pete Conley have a perfectly blended family of her children and his. To celebrate their anniversary, they grab some precious moments of alone time and leave Pete’s son Kip, a high school senior, in charge of Leigh’s fourteen-year-old daughter Chrissy at their home. Driving back on a rainy Friday night, their cell phones start ringing. After a raucous party celebrating his college acceptance to Duke and his upcoming birthday, Kip was arrested for drunk driving after his truck crashed into a tree. And he wasn’t alone—Chrissy was with him. Twelve hours later, Chrissy is dead and Kip is charged with manslaughter. Kip has always been a notorious troublemaker, but he’s also a star student with a dazzling future ahead of him. At first, Leigh does her best to rally behind Pete and help Kip through his ordeal. Until he changes his story, and claims that he wasn’t driving after all—Chrissy was, and he swears there is a witness. Leigh is stunned that he would lie about such a thing, while Pete clutches onto the story as the last, best hope to save his son, throwing his energy and money into finding this elusive witness. As they hurtle toward Kip’s trial date, husband and wife are torn between loyalty to their children and to each other, while the mystery of what really happened that night intensifies. This richly conceived and tightly plotted exploration of family and tragedy will have you racing toward its shocking and thought-provoking conclusion.

Recommended

The Woman Inside A Novel, E. G. Scott
The Woman Inside
by E. G. Scott

An impossible-to-put-down domestic thriller about secrets and revenge, told from the perspectives of a husband and wife who are the most perfect, and the most dangerous, match for each other   Rebecca didn’t know love was possible until s...

Narrator: Erin Bennett
Published: 01/22/2019

It's Always the Husband, Michele Campbell
It's Always the Husband
by Michele Campbell

Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny first met as college roommates and soon became inseparable, despite being as different as three women can be. Kate was beautiful, wild, wealthy, and damaged. Aubrey, on financial aid, came from a broken home, and wanted more ...

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 05/16/2017

The First Mistake, Sandie Jones
The First Mistake
by Sandie Jones

From Sandie Jones, author of the Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick and USA Today Bestseller, The Other Woman, comes an addictive new domestic suspense audiobook about a wife, her husband, and the woman who is supposedly her best frie...

Narrator: Nathalie Buscombe
Published: 06/11/2019

The Other Woman, Sandie Jones
The Other Woman
by Sandie Jones

THE REESE WITHERSPOON X HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK AND NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"One of the most twisted and entertaining plots."—Reese Witherspoon "Narrator Clare Corbett gives each character in this engrossing thriller a genuine personal...

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 08/21/2018

Run Away, Harlan Coben
Run Away
by Harlan Coben

A perfect family is shattered in RUN AWAY, the thriller from the master of domestic suspense, Harlan Coben.You've lost your daughter.She's addicted to drugs and to an abusive boyfriend. And she's made it clear that she doesn't want to be found.Then,...

Narrator: Steven Weber
Published: 03/19/2019

The Mother-in-Law A Novel, Sally Hepworth
The Mother-in-Law
by Sally Hepworth

“Deliciously entertaining, this Australian novel is packed with wit and suspense, and it also delivers sharp insights about family dynamics and love.” — People MagazineA twisty, compelling new audiobook about one woman's complicate...

Narrator: Barrie Kreinik
Published: 04/23/2019

The Wife Between Us, Greer Hendricks
The Wife Between Us
by Greer Hendricks

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 01/09/2018

Most Wanted, Lisa Scottoline
Most Wanted
by Lisa Scottoline

Donor 3319 Profile:Tall. Blonde. Blue eyes. Medical Student.Wanted for Serial Murder.“Spellbinding. Another tour de force from Scottoline. It drew me in, in a single breath.” –Mary Kubica, bestselling author of The Good GirlChristi...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 04/12/2016

The Other Sister, Sarah Zettel
The Other Sister
by Sarah Zettel

Two sisters. One murder plan.An intense psychological thriller full of family secrets, perfect for readers of The Woman in the Window and Watch Me Disappear. Everyone thought reckless, troubled Geraldine Monroe was the bad sister-especially when sh...

Narrator: AngA¿le Masters
Published: 08/28/2018
{"id":"2987621","ean":"9781508280545","abr":"Unabridged","title":"House on Fire: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Bonnie Kistler","rating_average":"4.47","narrator":"Cassandra Campbell","ubr_id":"2987621","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Cassandra Campbell","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 14 hr 56 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}