Hot Little Hands: Fiction, Abigail Ulman
  • List: $17.50  |  Sale: $12.25
    Club: $8.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Hot Little Hands: Fiction

Author: Abigail Ulman

Narrator: Gemma Whelan

Unabridged: 8 hr 39 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 05/31/2016

Genre: Fiction - Short Stories (single Author)

Synopsis

For fans of HBO’s Girls, Abigail Ulman’s heartbreakingly tender and often darkly funny fiction is a fresh take on the experiences of contemporary young women.

“A familiar yet highly inventive collection of short fiction which hits virtually all my buttons: dark humor, complex female characters, and a strong summer camp storyline.”—Lena Dunham, Lenny

Claire is magnetic. On the cusp of adulthood and letting go of her adolescence one miserable responsibility at a time, she’s moved from London to San Francisco to work toward her PhD and minor in cheap whiskey, pour-over coffee, and guys who can’t be bothered to shower. When she finds out she’s pregnant by a heartsick ex-boyfriend, the solution seems clear, if only to her.

Kira is a talented thirteen-year-old Russian gymnast who leaves her traditional family to travel to America.

Elise and Jenni, two Australian high school students, seek asylum from the hooking up and heavy drinking they’ve been doing for years by reenrolling in their childhood sleepaway camp.

Over the course of nine loosely connected stories, Hot Little Hands introduces us to young women, at once clever and naïve, who struggle to navigate the chronic uncertainty and very real dangers that come with being impatient for the future and reluctant to leave childhood behind.

Abigail Ulman’s voice feels of the moment—sharp and powerful—as she deftly explores ageless themes of sex and maturity among girls who are both confident and frighteningly exposed.

Praise for Hot Little Hands

“In this sardonic, smart, and thoroughly modern debut collection, Ulman presents nine stories about young women on the verge of adulthood, motherhood, and more who make momentous decisions while delirious with desire.”—O: The Oprah Magazine

“[Ulman] excels at dialogue and narrative. The more you get to know her characters, the funnier it is to witness their verbal code-switching as they navigate between nosy parents, fumbling love interests, and trusted friends. That none of these stories is constrained by any need for tidy endings makes them all the more believable.”—The Atlantic

“Deftly written with a fresh and realistic style . . . Each female protagonist is wonderfully complicated and charming in her own way.”—Bookreporter

“The captivating women in this collection leave a lasting impression.”—Publishers Weekly

“Genuinely insightful . . . Hot Little Hands is the rare collection that portrays how life pivots around mundane moments as readily as earth-shaking events.”—Shelf Awareness

“It is rare for a collection to so adeptly capture the way life can be at once facile and intense. Ulman’s details are lifelike and droll, her style lucid and engaging, and the overall effect stirring.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A noteworthy debut. . . . Ulman writes without judgment, and this is what gives her characters life. They are multifaceted, flawed beings—sometimes victims of others, but often victims of their own actions—in whom readers will recognize flashes of themselves.”—Booklist

“The stories are beautifully paced, the dialogue perfect. There is a lovely comedy underpinning the cool tone. Often this becomes hilarious, but it is also controlled and well-judged. Abigail Ulman knows how to write a story, manage a buildup, hold your attention, suggest that somehow nothing much is happening while, in fact, everything is going on.”—Colm Tóibín, author of Brooklyn


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

One More Thing Stories and Other Stories, B. J. Novak
One More Thing
by B. J. Novak

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: B. J. Novak
Published: 02/04/2014

Uncommon Type Some Stories, Tom Hanks
Uncommon Type
by Tom Hanks

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Tom Hanks
Published: 10/17/2017

Full Throttle Stories, Joe Hill
Full Throttle
by Joe Hill

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Zachary Quinto
Published: 10/01/2019

Bullseye An Original Will Robie / Camel Club Short Story, David Baldacci
Bullseye
by David Baldacci

$0.00 with Free Trial

Narrator: Ron McLarty
Published: 02/04/2014

Everything's Eventual 14 Dark Tales, Stephen King
Everything's Eventual
by Stephen King

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Stephen King
Published: 03/04/2014

Full Dark, No Stars, Stephen King
Full Dark, No Stars
by Stephen King

List: $24.95

Sale: $17.47

Club: $12.47

Narrator: Craig Wasson
Published: 11/09/2010

Trigger Warning Short Fictions and Disturbances, Neil Gaiman
Trigger Warning
by Neil Gaiman

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Neil Gaiman
Published: 02/03/2015

Exhalation Stories, Ted Chiang
Exhalation
by Ted Chiang

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Edoardo Ballerini
Published: 05/07/2019

Daddy Stories, Emma Cline
Daddy
by Emma Cline

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Natasha Soudek
Published: 09/01/2020
{"id":"1297275","ean":"9780451483706","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Hot Little Hands: Fiction","subtitle":"Fiction","author":"Abigail Ulman","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Gemma Whelan","ubr_id":"1297275","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.38","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Gemma Whelan","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}