Hole In My Life, Jack Gantos
  • List: $12.95  |  Sale: $9.07
    Club: $6.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Hole In My Life

Author: Jack Gantos

Narrator: Jack Gantos

Unabridged: 4 hr 20 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 07/22/2003

Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Literary

Ages: 14 - 19

Synopsis

In the summer of 1971, Jack Gantos was an aspiring writer desperate for adventure, college cash, and a way out of a dead-end job. For ten thousand dollars, he recklessly agreed to help sail a sixty-foot yacht loaded with hashish from the Virgin Islands to New York City, where he and his partners sold the drug until federal agents finally caught up to them in a bust at the Chelsea Hotel. For his part in the conspiracy, the twenty-year-old Gantos was sentenced to serve up to six years in prison.
            In Hole in My Life, this acclaimed author of more than 30 books for young people confronts the period of struggle and confinement that marked the end of his own youth. On the surface, the narrative tumbles from one intense moment to the next as Gantos pieces together the story of his restless final year of high school, his short-lived career as a smuggler, and his time in prison. But running just beneath the action is the story of how Gantos—once he found himself locked up in a small, yellow-walled cell—moved from wanting to be a writer to writing, and how this newfound dedication helped him endure the worst experience of his life.

Recommended

Sabina In the Eye of the Storm, Bella Kuligowska Zucker
Sabina
by Bella Kuligowska Zucker

This is the memoir written by Bella Kuligowska Zucker, the only person in her family to survive the Holocaust. In September 1939, Bella was a carefree teenager living in Poland when the German army struck. She was rounded up with her friends and fam...

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 05/31/2019

Courage to Soar A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance, Simone Biles
Courage to Soar
by Simone Biles

Simone Biles’ entrance into the world of gymnastics may have started on a daycare field trip in her hometown of Spring, Texas, but her God-given talent, passion, and perseverance have made her one of the top gymnasts in the world, as well as a...

Narrator: Imani Parks
Published: 11/15/2016

Dreaming Out Loud, Baby Ariel
Dreaming Out Loud
by Baby Ariel

Musical.ly megastar and recording artist Baby Ariel tells the inspiring story behind her empire of more than 35 million fans. Full of revealing personal anecdotes and advice! Ariel is all about opening up and being goofy, funny, and completely...

Narrator: Baby Ariel
Published: 10/09/2018

Being Jazz My Life as a (Transgender) Teen, Jazz Jennings
Being Jazz
by Jazz Jennings

Teen advocate and trailblazer Jazz Jennings—named one of “The 25 Most Influential Teens” of the year by Time—shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people to accept the differences in others while th...

Narrator: Jazz Jennings
Published: 06/07/2016

Fierce How Competing for Myself Changed Everything, Aly Raisman
Fierce
by Aly Raisman

Discover Aly Raisman's inspiring story of dedication, perseverance, and learning to think positive even in the toughest times on her path to gold medal success in two Olympic Games--and beyond. Aly Raisman first stepped onto a gymnastics mat as a t...

Narrator: Natalie Roy Camargo
Published: 11/14/2017

Bad Boy, Walter Dean Myers
Bad Boy
by Walter Dean Myers

Into a memoir that is gripping, funny, heartbreaking, and unforgettable, Walter Dean Myers richly weaves the details of his Harlem childhood in the 1940s and 1950s: a loving home life with his adopted parents, Bible school, street games, and the vi...

Narrator: Joe Morton
Published: 02/22/2005

Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Bernie Sanders
Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution
by Bernie Sanders

In The Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Independent congressman, presidential candidate and activist Bernie Sanders continues his fight against the imbalances in the nation’s status quo, and shows you how to make a difference to e...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 08/29/2017

Discovering Wes Moore, Wes Moore
Discovering Wes Moore
by Wes Moore

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turn...

Narrator: Wes Moore
Published: 06/11/2013

Hidden Girl The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave, Shyima Hall
Hidden Girl
by Shyima Hall

Shyima Hall was born in Egypt on September 29, 1989, the seventh child of desperately poor parents. When she was eight, her parents sold her into slavery. Shyima then moved two hours away to Egypt's capitol city of Cairo to live with a wealthy famil...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 06/25/2014
{"id":"326744","ean":"9780807216460","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Hole In My Life","subtitle":"","author":"Jack Gantos","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Jack Gantos","ubr_id":"326744","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"12.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"8.42","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jack Gantos","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}