Holding Up the Universe, Jennifer Niven
  • List: $25.00  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Holding Up the Universe

Author: Jennifer Niven

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie, Robbie Daymond

Unabridged: 9 hr 3 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 10/04/2016

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Depression

Synopsis

A New York Times Bestseller

From the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone—and love someone—for who they truly are.

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for EVERY POSSIBILITY LIFE HAS TO OFFER. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything in new and bad-ass ways, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone. 

Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. . . . Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

Jennifer Niven delivers another poignant, exhilarating love story about finding that person who sees you for who you are—and seeing them right back.

"Niven is adept at creating characters. . . . [Libby's] courage and body-positivity make for a joyful reading experience." --The New York Times

“Holding Up the Universe . . . taps into the universal need to be understood. To be wanted. And that’s what makes it such a remarkable read.” —TeenVogue.com, “Why New Book Holding Up the Universe Is the Next The Fault in Our Stars”

"Want a love story that will give you all the feels? . . . You'll seriously melt!" —Seventeen Magazine

Recommended

Belzhar, Meg Wolitzer
Belzhar
by Meg Wolitzer

If life were fair, Jam Gallahue would still be at home in New Jersey with her sweet British boyfriend, Reeve Maxfield. She’d be watching old comedy sketches with him. She’d be kissing him in the library stacks.  ...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 09/30/2014

Words on Bathroom Walls, Julia Walton
Words on Bathroom Walls
by Julia Walton

Soon to be a Major Motion Picture starring Charlie Plummer, AnnaSophia Robb, and Taylor Russell! Fans of More Happy Than Not and The Perks of Being a Wallflower will cheer for Adam in this uplifting and surprisingly funny story of a boy living with ...

Narrator: Christopher Gebauer
Published: 07/10/2018

Impulse, Ellen Hopkins
Impulse
by Ellen Hopkins

Three teens who have attempted suicide meet in a psychiatric hospital, battle their demons, and begin to heal. The handsome son of wealthy parents, Connor has everything anyone could want-except his family's love and affection. Jailed for years afte...

Narrator: Laura Flanagan
Published: 02/17/2009

All the Bright Places, Jennifer Niven
All the Bright Places
by Jennifer Niven

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning! Theodore Finch is fasc...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 01/06/2015

Cut, Patricia McCormick
Cut
by Patricia McCormick

Fifteen-year-old Callie is so withdrawn that she's not speaking to anyone, including her therapist at the residential treatment facility where her parents and doctor send her after discovering that she cuts herself. Her story unfolds primarily throu...

Narrator: Clea Lewis
Published: 09/23/2003

The First Time She Drowned, Kerry Kletter
The First Time She Drowned
by Kerry Kletter

The beautiful struggle of a girl desperate for the one relationship that has caused her the most painCassie O'Malley has spent the past two and a half years in a mental institution—dumped there by her mother, against her will. Now, at 18, Cass...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 03/15/2016

It's Kind of a Funny Story, Ned Vizzini
It's Kind of a Funny Story
by Ned Vizzini

Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life—which means getting into the right high school to get into the right college to get the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan's Executive Pre-Profes...

Narrator: Robert Fass
Published: 09/03/2012

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B, Teresa Toten
The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
by Teresa Toten

Filled with moments of deep emotion and unexpected humor, this understated and wise novel explores the complexities of living with OCD and offers the prospect of hope, happiness and healing. Perfect for readers who love Eleanor & Park and All th...

Narrator: Johnathan McClain
Published: 03/10/2015

Get Well Soon, Julie Halpern
Get Well Soon
by Julie Halpern

Anna Bloom is depressed–so depressed that her parents have committed her to a mental hospital with a bunch of other messed-up teens. Here, she meets a roommate with a secret (and a plastic baby), a doctor who focuses way too much on her weight...

Narrator: Mandy Siegfried
Published: 05/13/2008
{"id":"1429875","ean":"9780735207516","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Holding Up the Universe","subtitle":"","author":"Jennifer Niven","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Jorjeana Marie","ubr_id":"1429875","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jorjeana Marie","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}