Going Bovine, Libba Bray
  • List: $25.00  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Going Bovine

Author: Libba Bray

Narrator: Erik Davies

Unabridged: 15 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 09/22/2009

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Boys & Men

Synopsis

From the author of the Gemma Doyle trilogy and The Diviners series, this groundbreaking New York Times bestseller and winner of the Michael L. Printz Award for literary excellence is "smart, funny, and layered," raves Entertainment Weekly.

All 16-year-old Cameron wants is to get through high school—and life in general—with a minimum of effort. It’s not a lot to ask. But that’s before he’s given some bad news: he’s sick and he’s going to die. Which totally sucks. Hope arrives in the winged form of Dulcie, a loopy punk angel/possible hallucination with a bad sugar habit. She tells Cam there is a cure—if he’s willing to go in search of it. With the help of a death-obsessed, video-gaming dwarf and a yard gnome, Cam sets off on the mother of all road trips through a twisted America . . . into the heart of what matters most.

From acclaimed author Libba Bray comes a dark comedic journey that poses the questions: Why are we here? What is real? What makes microwave popcorn so good? Why must we die? And how do we really learn to live? 

"A hilarious and hallucinatory quest."—The New York Times

"Sublimely surreal."—People

"Libba Bray's fabulous new book will, with any justice, be a cult classic. The kind of book you take with you to college, in the hopes that your roommate will turn out to have packed their own copy, too. Reading it is like discovering an alternate version of The Phantom Tollbooth, where Holden Caulfield has hit Milo over the head and stolen his car, his token, and his tollbooth. There's adventure and tragedy here, a sprinkling of romance, musical interludes, a battle-ready yard gnome who's also a Norse God, and practically a chorus line of physicists. Which reminds me: will someone, someday, take Going Bovine and turn it into a musical, preferably a rock opera? I want the sound track, the program, the T-shirt, and front row tickets."—Kelly Link, author of Get in Trouble, finalist for the Pulitzer Prize

Recommended

Ball Don't Lie, Matt de la PeA±a
Ball Don't Lie
by Matt de la PeA±a

Newbery Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Matt de la Pena's Ball Don't Lie "is a must-read." [The Bulletin]   Sticky is a beat-around-the-head foster kid with nowhere to call home but the street, and an outer shell so to...

Narrator: Dion Graham
Published: 04/04/2017

Twisted, Laurie Halse Anderson
Twisted
by Laurie Halse Anderson

High school senior Tyler Miller used to be the kind of guy who faded into the background—average student, average looks, average dysfunctional family. But since he got busted for doing graffiti on the school, and spent the summer doing outdoor...

Narrator: Mike Chamberlain
Published: 03/27/2007

Reality Boy, A. S. King
Reality Boy
by A. S. King

In this fearless portrayal of a boy on the edge, highly acclaimed Printz Honor author A.S. King explores the desperate reality of a former child "star" struggling to break free of his anger.Gerald Faust knows exactly when he started feeling angry: ...

Narrator: Michael Stellman
Published: 10/22/2013

Riverkeep, Martin Stewart
Riverkeep
by Martin Stewart

A stunning debut perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman!The Danék is a wild, treacherous river, and the Fobisher family has tended it for generations—clearing it of ice and weed, making sure boats can get through, and fishing ...

Narrator: James Cosmo
Published: 07/26/2016

Challenger Deep, Neal Shusterman
Challenger Deep
by Neal Shusterman

National Book Award and Golden Kite Award WinnerA captivating novel about mental illness that lingers long beyond the last page, Challenger Deep is a heartfelt tour de force by New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman.C...

Narrator: Michael Curran-Dorsano
Published: 04/21/2015

100 Sideways Miles, Andrew Smith
100 Sideways Miles
by Andrew Smith

Finn Easton sees the world through miles instead of minutes. It's how he makes sense of the world, and how he tries to convince himself that he's a real boy and not just a character in his father's bestselling cult-classic book. Finn has two things ...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 06/09/2015

Playground, 50 Cent
Playground
by 50 Cent

Thirteen-year-old Butterball doesn't have much going for him. He's teased about his weight. He hates the Long Island suburb his mom moved them to so she could go to nursing school and start her life over. He wishes he still lived with his dad in New...

Narrator: Dwayne Clark
Published: 11/01/2011

Love and First Sight, Josh Sundquist
Love and First Sight
by Josh Sundquist

In his debut novel, YouTube personality and author of We Should Hang Out Sometime Josh Sundquist explores the nature of love, trust, and romantic attraction. On his first day at a new school, blind sixteen-year-old Will Porter accidentally groped a...

Narrator: Pat Young
Published: 01/03/2017

The Dream Bearer, Walter Dean Myers
The Dream Bearer
by Walter Dean Myers

For a young adolescent, David Curry has a lot to contend with. He loves and fears Reuben, his troubled father. His older brother, Ty, is turning into someone David doesn't know anymore -- or trust. And his mom is struggling to hold everything toget...

Narrator: Peter Francis James
Published: 02/22/2005
{"id":"326456","ean":"9780739385586","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Going Bovine","subtitle":"","author":"Libba Bray","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Erik Davies","ubr_id":"326456","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Erik Davies","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}