Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe, Nancy Goldstone
  • List: $20.49  |  Sale: $14.34
    Club: $10.24
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe

Author: Nancy Goldstone

Narrator: Josephine Bailey

Unabridged: 11 hr 31 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 05/07/2007

Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Synopsis

Set against the backdrop of the turbulent thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily. From a cultured childhood in Provence, each sister was propelled into a world marked by shifting alliances, intrigue, and subterfuge. Marguerite, the eldest, whose resolution and spirit would be tested by the cold splendor of the Palais du Roi in Paris; Eleanor, whose soaring political aspirations would provoke her kingdom to civil war; Sanchia, the neglected wife of the richest man in England who bought himself the crown of Germany; and Beatrice, whose desire for sovereignty was so acute that she risked her life to earn her place at the royal table. A compulsively readable narrative, Four Queens shatters the myth that women were helpless pawns in a society that celebrated physical prowess and masculine intellect. A riveting historical saga for fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.

Recommended

Medium Raw A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook, Anthony Bourdain
Medium Raw
by Anthony Bourdain

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Anthony Bourdain
Published: 07/06/2010

The Magnolia Story, Chip Gaines
The Magnolia Story
by Chip Gaines

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Chip & Joanna Gaines
Published: 10/18/2016

A Stolen Life A Memoir, Jaycee Dugard
A Stolen Life
by Jaycee Dugard

List: $14.95

Sale: $10.47

Club: $7.47

Narrator: Jaycee Dugard
Published: 07/12/2011

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, Frederick Douglass
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Do...
by Frederick Douglass

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Stephen Gillikin
Published: 05/17/2020

Three Cups of Tea One Man's Mission to Promote Peace . . . One School at a Time, Greg Mortenson
Three Cups of Tea
by Greg Mortenson

List: $21.99

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Patrick Lawlor
Published: 06/15/2006

Red Notice A True Story of High Finance, Murder and One Man's Fight for Justice, Bill Browder
Red Notice
by Bill Browder

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Adam Grupper
Published: 02/03/2015

Tiger Woods, Jeff Benedict
Tiger Woods
by Jeff Benedict

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Roger Casey
Published: 03/27/2018

Adrift [Movie tie-in] A True Story of Love, Loss, and Survival at Sea, Tami Oldham Ashcraft
Adrift [Movie tie-in]
by Tami Oldham Ashcraft

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Laurence Bourvard
Published: 05/29/2018

Hard Choices, Hillary Rodham Clinton
Hard Choices
by Hillary Rodham Clinton

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Kathleen Chalfant
Published: 06/10/2014
{"id":"240563","ean":"9781400173846","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe","subtitle":"The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe","author":"Nancy Goldstone","rating_average":"3.45","narrator":"Josephine Bailey","ubr_id":"240563","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.49","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.29","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Josephine Bailey","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 31 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}