Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe, Nancy Goldstone
  • List: $20.49  |  Sale: $14.34
    Club: $10.24
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe

Author: Nancy Goldstone

Narrator: Josephine Bailey

Unabridged: 11 hr 31 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 05/07/2007

Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Synopsis

Set against the backdrop of the turbulent thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily. From a cultured childhood in Provence, each sister was propelled into a world marked by shifting alliances, intrigue, and subterfuge. Marguerite, the eldest, whose resolution and spirit would be tested by the cold splendor of the Palais du Roi in Paris; Eleanor, whose soaring political aspirations would provoke her kingdom to civil war; Sanchia, the neglected wife of the richest man in England who bought himself the crown of Germany; and Beatrice, whose desire for sovereignty was so acute that she risked her life to earn her place at the royal table. A compulsively readable narrative, Four Queens shatters the myth that women were helpless pawns in a society that celebrated physical prowess and masculine intellect. A riveting historical saga for fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.

Recommended

Eat, Pray, Love One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia, Elizabeth Gilbert
Eat, Pray, Love
by Elizabeth Gilbert

A transformational journey through Italy, India, and Bali searching for pleasure and devotion—the massive bestseller from the author of The Signature of All Things This beautifully written, heartfelt memoir touched a nerve among both readers a...

Narrator: Elizabeth Gilbert
Published: 02/16/2006

Scrappy Little Nobody, Anna Kendrick
Scrappy Little Nobody
by Anna Kendrick

A collection of humorous autobiographical essays by the Academy Award-nominated actress and star of Up in the Air and Pitch Perfect.“I’m excited to publish my first book, and because I get uncomfortable when people have high expectations...

Narrator: Anna Kendrick
Published: 11/15/2016

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy Schumer
The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo
by Amy Schumer

“Amy’s got your back. She’s in your corner. She’s an honesty bomb. And she’s coming for you.” —Actress Tilda Swinton and Trainwreck co-star The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Insi...

Narrator: Amy Schumer
Published: 08/16/2016

Unbroken A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption, Laura Hillenbrand
Unbroken
by Laura Hillenbrand

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The incredible true story of survival and salvation that is the basis for two major motion pictures: 2014’s Unbroken and the upcoming Unbroken: Path to Redemption.On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forc...

Narrator: Edward Herrmann
Published: 11/16/2010

American Sniper The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History, Chris Kyle
American Sniper
by Chris Kyle

NOW A BLOCKBUSTER MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY CLINT EASTWOOD—NOMINATED FOR SIX ACADEMY AWARDS, INCLUDING BEST PICTUREFrom 1999 to 2009, U.S. Navy Seal Chris Kyle recorded the most career sniper kills in United States military history. His fell...

Narrator: John Pruden
Published: 01/03/2012

Shoe Dog, Phil Knight
Shoe Dog
by Phil Knight

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s...

Narrator: Norbert Leo Butz
Published: 04/26/2016

Educated A Memoir, Tara Westover
Educated
by Tara Westover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge UniversityBook Club Pick for Now Read This, from PBS NewsHour...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 02/20/2018

Becoming, Michelle Obama
Becoming
by Michelle Obama

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States   In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of...

Narrator: Michelle Obama
Published: 11/13/2018

The Glass Castle A Memoir, Jeannette Walls
The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010
{"id":"240563","ean":"9781400173846","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe","subtitle":"The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe","author":"Nancy Goldstone","rating_average":"3.45","narrator":"Josephine Bailey","ubr_id":"240563","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.49","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.29","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Josephine Bailey","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}