For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind, Rosemary Mahoney
  • List: $24.98  |  Sale: $17.49
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind

Author: Rosemary Mahoney

Narrator: Rosemary Mahoney

Unabridged: 9 hr 27 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 01/14/2014

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Cultural Heritage

Synopsis

"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author of Far From the Tree In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world." Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.

Recommended

The Line Becomes a River Dispatches from the Border, Francisco CantAº
The Line Becomes a River
by Francisco CantAº

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Francisco CantAº
Published: 02/06/2018

Waking Up White: and Finding Myself in the Story of Race, Debby Irving
Waking Up White: and Finding Myself i...
by Debby Irving

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Debby Irving
Published: 04/19/2016

Always Running La Vida Loca: Gang Days in L.A., Luis J. Rodriguez
Always Running
by Luis J. Rodriguez

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Luis J. Rodriguez
Published: 12/13/2011

Twelve Years a Slave, Solomon Northup
Twelve Years a Slave
by Solomon Northup

List: $19.95

Sale: $13.97

Club: $9.97

Narrator: Louis Gossett Jr.
Published: 03/20/2013

The Latehomecomer A Hmong Family Memoir, Kao Kalia Yang
The Latehomecomer
by Kao Kalia Yang

List: $24.47

Sale: $17.13

Club: $12.23

Narrator: Kao Kalia Yang
Published: 05/10/2011

We Are All the Same A Story of a Boy's Courage and a Mother's Love, Jim Wooten
We Are All the Same
by Jim Wooten

List: $16.99

Sale: $11.89

Club: $8.49

Narrator: Alan Sklar
Published: 12/01/2004

Twelve Years a Slave, Solomon Northup
Twelve Years a Slave
by Solomon Northup

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Louis Gossett Jr.
Published: 11/25/2019

The Fire Next Time, James Baldwin
The Fire Next Time
by James Baldwin

List: $14.95

On Sale: $6.95

Narrator: Jesse L. Martin
Published: 02/01/2008

Men We Reaped A Memoir, Jesmyn Ward
Men We Reaped
by Jesmyn Ward

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Cherise Boothe
Published: 03/27/2014
{"id":"384354","ean":"9781478925279","abr":"Unabridged","title":"For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind","subtitle":"Dispatches from the World of the Blind","author":"Rosemary Mahoney","rating_average":"3.71","narrator":"Rosemary Mahoney","ubr_id":"384354","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rosemary Mahoney","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}