Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout, Philip Connors
  • List: $16.95  |  Sale: $11.87
    Club: $8.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout

Author: Philip Connors

Narrator: Sean Runnette

Unabridged: 8 hr 35 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 04/05/2011

Genre: Nature

Synopsis

In the tradition of Desert Solitaire and Shop Class as Soulcraft, this is a remarkable debut from a major new voice in American nonfictiona meditation on nature and life, witnessed from the heights of one of the last firelookout towers in America. For nearly a decade, Philip Connors has spent half of each year in a sevenbyseven foot firelookout tower, ten thousand feet above sea level in one of the most remote territories of New Mexico. One of the least developed parts of the country, the first region designated as an official wilderness area in the world, the section he tends is also one of the most fireprone, suffering more than thirty thousand lightning strikes each year. Written with gusto, charm, and a sense of history, Fire Season captures the wonder and grandeur of this most unusual job and place: the eerie pleasure of solitude, the strange dance of communion and mistrust with its animal inhabitants, and the majesty, might, and beauty of untamed fire at its wildest. Connors time up on the peak is filled with dramathere are fires large and small; spectacular midnight lightning storms and silent mornings awakening above the clouds; surprise encounters with longdistance hikers, smokejumpers, bobcats, black bears, and an abandoned, dying fawn. Filled with Connors heartfelt reflections on our place in the wild, on other writers who have worked as lookoutsJack Kerouac, Edward Abbey, Norman Maclean, Gary Snyderand on the ongoing debate over whether fires should be suppressed or left to burn, Fire Season is a remarkable homage to the beauty of nature, the blessings of solitude, and the freedom of the independent spirit. As Connors writes, Ive seen lunar eclipses and desert sandstorms and lightning that made my hair stand on endIve watched deer and elk frolic in the meadow below me and pine trees explode in a blue ball of smoke. If theres a better job anywhere on the planet, Id like to know what it is.

Recommended

The Soul of an Octopus A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness, Sy Montgomery
The Soul of an Octopus
by Sy Montgomery

In this astonishing book from the author of the best selling memoir The Good Good Pig, Sy Montgomery explores the emotional and physical world of the octopus—a surprisingly complex, intelligent, and spirited creature—and the remarkable c...

Narrator: Sy Montgomery
Published: 05/12/2015

H Is for Hawk, Helen Macdonald
H Is for Hawk
by Helen Macdonald

When Helen Macdonalds father died suddenly on a London street, she was devastated. An experienced falconer captivated by hawks since childhood, shed never before been tempted to train one of the most vicious predators: the goshawk. But in her grief,...

Narrator: Helen Macdonald
Published: 03/03/2015

The Stranger in the Woods The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit, Michael Finkel
The Stranger in the Woods
by Michael Finkel

Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for 27 years, making this dream a reality—not out of anger at the wo...

Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Published: 03/07/2017

Braiding Sweetgrass Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants, Robin Wall Kimmerer
Braiding Sweetgrass
by Robin Wall Kimmerer

As a botanist and professor of plant ecology, Robin Wall Kimmerer has spent a career learning how to ask questions of nature using the tools of science. As a Potawatomi woman, she learned from elders, family, and history that the Potawatomi, as well...

Narrator: Robin Wall Kimmerer
Published: 07/05/2016

The Perfect Storm A True Story of Men Against the Sea, Sebastian Junger
The Perfect Storm
by Sebastian Junger

Man’s struggle against the sea is a theme that has created some of the world’s most exciting stories. Now, in the tradition of Moby Dick comes a New York Times best-seller destined to become a modern classic. Written by journalist Sebast...

Narrator: Richard Davidson
Published: 01/07/2000

Silent Spring, Rachel Carson
Silent Spring
by Rachel Carson

First published in 1962, Silent Spring can singlehandedly be credited with sounding the alarm and raising awareness of humankind's collective impact on its own future through chemical pollution. No other book has so strongly influenced the environme...

Narrator: Kaiulani Lee
Published: 11/30/2006

The Perfect Horse The Daring U.S. Mission to Rescue the Priceless Stallions Kidnapped by the Nazis, Elizabeth Letts
The Perfect Horse
by Elizabeth Letts

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion, the remarkable story of the heroic rescue of priceless horses in the closing days of World War II In the chaotic last days of the war, a small troop of battle-weary Amer...

Narrator: Paul Boehmer
Published: 08/23/2016

Never Cry Wolf, Farley Mowat
Never Cry Wolf
by Farley Mowat

More than half a century ago, the naturalist Farley Mowat accepted an assignment to investigate why wolves were killing Arctic caribou. Mowat’s account of the summer he lived in the frozen tundra alone – studying the wolf population...

Narrator: Adam Sims
Published: 06/28/2010

The Other End of the Leash: Why We Do What We Do Around Dogs, Patricia B. McConnell
The Other End of the Leash: Why We Do What We Do Around Dogs
by Patricia B. McConnell

The Other End of the Leash shares a revolutionary, new perspective on our relationship with dogs, focusing on our behavior in comparison with that of dogs. An applied animal behaviorist and dog trainer with more than twenty years experience, Dr. Pat...

Narrator: Ellen Archer
Published: 05/17/2016
{"id":"102460","ean":"9781441782168","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout","subtitle":"Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout","author":"Philip Connors","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Sean Runnette","ubr_id":"102460","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"16.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.02","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Sean Runnette","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}