Elizabeth the Queen: The Life of a Modern Monarch The Life of a Modern Monarch, Sally Bedell Smith
  • List: $27.50  |  Sale: $19.25
    Club: $13.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Elizabeth the Queen: The Life of a Modern Monarch

Author: Sally Bedell Smith

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor

Unabridged: 20 hr 43 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 01/10/2012

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Royalty

Synopsis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of The Crown, this magisterial biography of Queen Elizabeth II is a close-up view of the woman we’ve known only from a distance—and a captivating window into the last great monarchy.

From the moment of her ascension to the throne in 1952 at the age of twenty-five, Queen Elizabeth II has been the object of unparalleled scrutiny. But through the fog of glamour and gossip, how well do we really know the world’s most famous monarch? Drawing on numerous interviews and never-before-revealed documents, acclaimed biographer Sally Bedell Smith pulls back the curtain to show in intimate detail the public and private lives of Queen Elizabeth II, who has led her country and Commonwealth through the wars and upheavals of the last sixty years with unparalleled composure, intelligence, and grace.
 
In Elizabeth the Queen, we meet the young girl who suddenly becomes “heiress presumptive” when her uncle abdicates the throne. We meet the thirteen-year-old Lilibet as she falls in love with a young navy cadet named Philip and becomes determined to marry him, even though her parents prefer wealthier English aristocrats. We see the teenage Lilibet repairing army trucks during World War II and standing with Winston Churchill on the balcony of Buckingham Palace on V-E Day. We see the young Queen struggling to balance the demands of her job with her role as the mother of two young children. Sally Bedell Smith brings us inside the palace doors and into the Queen’s daily routines—the “red boxes” of documents she reviews each day, the weekly meetings she has had with twelve prime ministers, her physically demanding tours abroad, and the constant scrutiny of the press—as well as her personal relationships: with Prince Philip, her husband of sixty-four years and the love of her life; her children and their often-disastrous marriages; her grandchildren and friends.

Praise for Elizabeth the Queen

“An excellent, all-embracing new biography.”—The New York Times

“[An] imposing, yet nimbly written, biography [that] dwarfs the field . . . a most satisfying and enjoyable read, one to be savored at length.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Fascinating . . . After sixty years on the throne, the monarch of Britain is better known for her poker face than for sly wit or easy charm. Yet in biographer Sally Bedell Smith’s Elizabeth the Queen, Her Majesty sparkles with both.”—More

“[A] smart and satisfying book.”—Los Angeles Times

Recommended

The Diana Chronicles, Tina Brown
The Diana Chronicles
by Tina Brown

"Intensely well researched and an un-put-down-able read, Tina Brown's extraordinary book parts the brocaded velvet and allows us an unprecedented look at the world and mind of the most famous person on the planet. A social commentary, a historical d...

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor,Tina Brown
Published: 06/12/2007

The Diana Chronicles, Tina Brown
The Diana Chronicles
by Tina Brown

Ten years after her death, Princess Diana remains a mystery. Was she “the people’s princess,” who electrified the world with her beauty and humanitarian missions? Or was she a manipulative, media-savvy neurotic who nearly brought d...

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor,Tina Brown
Published: 06/12/2007

Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman, Robert K. Massie
Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman
by Robert K. Massie

The Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Peter the Great, Nicholas and Alexandra, and The Romanovs returns with another masterpiece of narrative biography, the extraordinary story of an obscure young German princess who traveled to Russia at fourt...

Narrator: Mark Deakins
Published: 11/08/2011

American Princess The Love Story of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry, Leslie Carroll
American Princess
by Leslie Carroll

A behind-the-scenes look into the life of Meghan Markle and her romance with Prince Harry—a dishy, delightful must-listen filled with exclusive insights for anyone obsessed with the Royal Family.Leslie Carroll’s books on royalty are ...

Narrator: Andi Arndt
Published: 04/24/2018

Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret, Craig Brown
Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret
by Craig Brown

A witty and profound audiobook portrait of the most talked-about English royal.She made John Lennon blush and Marlon Brando tongue-tied. She iced out Princess Diana and humiliated Elizabeth Taylor. Andy Warhol photographed her. Jack Nicholson offere...

Narrator: Eleanor Bron
Published: 08/07/2018

Elizabeth and Mary Cousins, Rivals, Queens, Jane Dunn
Elizabeth and Mary
by Jane Dunn

The first dual biography of two of the world’s most remarkable women—Elizabeth I of England and Mary Queen of Scots—by one of Britain’s “best biographers” (The Sunday Times).In a rich and riveting narrative, Jane ...

Narrator: Donada Peters,Isla Blair
Published: 10/15/2003

Elizabeth and Mary Cousins, Rivals, Queens, Jane Dunn
Elizabeth and Mary
by Jane Dunn

The first dual biography of two of the world’s most remarkable women—Elizabeth I of England and Mary Queen of Scots—by one of Britain’s “best biographers” (The Sunday Times).In a rich and riveting narrative, Jane ...

Narrator: Donada Peters,Isla Blair
Published: 01/06/2004

Meghan A Hollywood Princess, Andrew Morton
Meghan
by Andrew Morton

The New York Times bestselling biography of Meghan Markle, the American actress who won Prince Harry's heart. Women who smash the royal mold have always fascinated the public, from Grace Kelly to Princess Diana. Now acclaimed royal biographer Andre...

Narrator: Charles Armstrong
Published: 04/17/2018

Mary Queen of Scots The True Life of Mary Stuart, John Guy
Mary Queen of Scots
by John Guy

In the first full-scale biography of Mary Stuart in more than thirty years, John Guy creates an intimate and absorbing portrait of one of history's most famous women, depicting her world and her place in the sweep of history with stunning immediacy....

Narrator: Lucy Rayner
Published: 12/07/2018
{"id":"328954","ean":"9780307934185","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Elizabeth the Queen: The Life of a Modern Monarch","subtitle":"The Life of a Modern Monarch","author":"Sally Bedell Smith","rating_average":"3.86","narrator":"Rosalyn Landor","ubr_id":"328954","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"27.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"17.88","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rosalyn Landor","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 15 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}