Discovering Wes Moore, Wes Moore
  • List: $15.00  |  Sale: $10.50
    Club: $7.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Discovering Wes Moore

Author: Wes Moore

Narrator: Wes Moore

Unabridged: 4 hr 1 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 06/11/2013

Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Cultural Heritage

Synopsis

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.
 
The story of “the other Wes Moore” is one that the author couldn’t get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his name—just two years his senior—grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy—now a man—a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure—and the choices that make all the difference.
 
Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore’s bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.
 
Includes an 8-page photo insert.


Praise for Discovering Wes Moore
 
“Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults.”—Kirkus Reviews

Recommended

Courage to Soar A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance, Simone Biles
Courage to Soar
by Simone Biles

Simone Biles’ entrance into the world of gymnastics may have started on a daycare field trip in her hometown of Spring, Texas, but her God-given talent, passion, and perseverance have made her one of the top gymnasts in the world, as well as a...

Narrator: Imani Parks
Published: 11/15/2016

Hole In My Life, Jack Gantos
Hole In My Life
by Jack Gantos

In the summer of 1971, Jack Gantos was an aspiring writer desperate for adventure, college cash, and a way out of a dead-end job. For ten thousand dollars, he recklessly agreed to help sail a sixty-foot yacht loaded with hashish from the Virgin Isla...

Narrator: Jack Gantos
Published: 07/22/2003

Bad Boy, Walter Dean Myers
Bad Boy
by Walter Dean Myers

Into a memoir that is gripping, funny, heartbreaking, and unforgettable, Walter Dean Myers richly weaves the details of his Harlem childhood in the 1940s and 1950s: a loving home life with his adopted parents, Bible school, street games, and the vi...

Narrator: Joe Morton
Published: 02/22/2005

Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Bernie Sanders
Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution
by Bernie Sanders

In The Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Independent congressman, presidential candidate and activist Bernie Sanders continues his fight against the imbalances in the nationa€™s status quo, and shows you how to make a differen...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 08/29/2017

Being Jazz My Life as a (Transgender) Teen, Jazz Jennings
Being Jazz
by Jazz Jennings

Teen advocate and trailblazer Jazz Jennings—named one of “The 25 Most Influential Teens” of the year by Time—shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people to accept the differences in others while th...

Narrator: Jazz Jennings
Published: 06/07/2016

Fierce How Competing for Myself Changed Everything, Aly Raisman
Fierce
by Aly Raisman

Discover Aly Raisman's inspiring story of dedication, perseverance, and learning to think positive even in the toughest times on her path to gold medal success in two Olympic Games--and beyond. Aly Raisman first stepped onto a gymnastics mat as a t...

Narrator: Natalie Roy Camargo
Published: 11/14/2017

Sabina In the Eye of the Storm, Bella Kuligowska Zucker
Sabina
by Bella Kuligowska Zucker

This is the memoir written by Bella Kuligowska Zucker, the only person in her family to survive the Holocaust.

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 05/31/2019

Dreaming Out Loud, Baby Ariel
Dreaming Out Loud
by Baby Ariel

Musical.ly megastar and recording artist Baby Ariel tells the inspiring story behind her empire of more than 35 million fans. Full of revealing personal anecdotes and advice! Ariel is all about opening up and being goofy, funny, and completely...

Narrator: Baby Ariel
Published: 10/09/2018

Hidden Girl The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave, Shyima Hall
Hidden Girl
by Shyima Hall

An inspiring and compelling memoir from a young woman who lost her childhood to slavery—and built a new life grounded in determination and justice.

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 06/25/2014
{"id":"326488","ean":"9780804121927","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Discovering Wes Moore","subtitle":"","author":"Wes Moore","rating_average":"4.5","narrator":"Wes Moore","ubr_id":"326488","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.75","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Wes Moore","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}