Discovering Wes Moore, Wes Moore
  • List: $15.00  |  Sale: $10.50
    Club: $7.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Discovering Wes Moore

Author: Wes Moore

Narrator: Wes Moore

Unabridged: 4 hr 1 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 06/11/2013

Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Cultural Heritage

Ages: 12 - UP

Synopsis

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.
 
The story of “the other Wes Moore” is one that the author couldn’t get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his name—just two years his senior—grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy—now a man—a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure—and the choices that make all the difference.
 
Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore’s bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.
 
Includes an 8-page photo insert.


Praise for Discovering Wes Moore
 
“Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults.”—Kirkus Reviews

Recommended

Hidden Girl The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave, Shyima Hall
Hidden Girl
by Shyima Hall

List: $16.99

Sale: $11.89

Club: $8.49

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 06/25/2014

Bad Boy, Walter Dean Myers
Bad Boy
by Walter Dean Myers

List: $14.99

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.49

Narrator: Joe Morton
Published: 02/22/2005

Hole In My Life, Jack Gantos
Hole In My Life
by Jack Gantos

List: $12.95

Sale: $9.07

Club: $6.47

Narrator: Jack Gantos
Published: 07/22/2003

Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning, Jason Reynolds
Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You
by Jason Reynolds

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Jason Reynolds
Published: 03/10/2020

Courage to Soar A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance, Simone Biles
Courage to Soar
by Simone Biles

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Imani Parks
Published: 11/15/2016

Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Bernie Sanders
Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Rev...
by Bernie Sanders

List: $10.99

Sale: $7.70

Club: $5.49

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 08/29/2017

Dreaming Out Loud, Baby Ariel
Dreaming Out Loud
by Baby Ariel

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Baby Ariel
Published: 10/09/2018

Sabina In the Eye of the Storm, Bella Kuligowska Zucker
Sabina
by Bella Kuligowska Zucker

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 05/31/2019

Fierce How Competing for Myself Changed Everything, Aly Raisman
Fierce
by Aly Raisman

List: $22.98

Sale: $16.09

Club: $11.49

Narrator: Natalie Roy Camargo
Published: 11/14/2017
{"id":"326488","ean":"9780804121927","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Discovering Wes Moore","subtitle":"","author":"Wes Moore","rating_average":"4.5","narrator":"Wes Moore","ubr_id":"326488","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.75","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Wes Moore","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}