Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City, Kate Winkler Dawson
  • List: $25.98  |  Sale: $18.19
    Club: $12.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City

Author: Kate Winkler Dawson

Narrator: Graeme Malcolm

Unabridged: 9 hr 30 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 10/17/2017

Genre: True Crime - Murder - Serial Killers

Synopsis

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. London was still recovering from the devastation of World War II when another disaster hit: for five long days in December 1952, a killer smog held the city firmly in its grip and refused to let go. Day became night, mass transit ground to a halt, criminals roamed the streets, and some 12,000 people died from the poisonous air. But in the chaotic aftermath, another killer was stalking the streets, using the fog as a cloak for his crimes. All across London, women were going missing--poor women, forgotten women. Their disappearances caused little alarm, but each of them had one thing in common: they had the misfortune of meeting a quiet, unassuming man, John Reginald Christie, who invited them back to his decrepit Notting Hill flat during that dark winter. They never left. The eventual arrest of the "Beast of Rillington Place" caused a media frenzy: were there more bodies buried in the walls, under the floorboards, in the back garden of this house of horrors? Was it the fog that had caused Christie to suddenly snap? And what role had he played in the notorious double murder that had happened in that same apartment building not three years before--a murder for which another, possibly innocent, man was sent to the gallows? The Great Smog of 1952 remains the deadliest air pollution disaster in world history, and John Reginald Christie is still one of the most unfathomable serial killers of modern times. Journalist Kate Winkler Dawson braids these strands together into a taut, compulsively readable true crime thriller about a man who changed the fate of the death penalty in the UK, and an environmental catastrophe with implications that still echo today.

Recommended

I'll Be Gone in the Dark One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer, Michelle McNamara
I'll Be Gone in the Dark
by Michelle McNamara

List: $26.99

Sale: $16.20 (40% Off)

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Patton Oswalt
Published: 02/27/2018

American Predator The Hunt for the Most Meticulous Serial Killer of the 21st Century, Maureen Callahan
American Predator
by Maureen Callahan

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Amy Landon
Published: 07/02/2019

The Most Dangerous Animal of All, Gary L. Stewart
The Most Dangerous Animal of All
by Gary L. Stewart

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Gary L. Stewart
Published: 05/13/2014

Bind, Torture, Kill The Inside Story of BTK, the Serial Killer Next Door, L. Kelly
Bind, Torture, Kill
by L. Kelly

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Keith Sellon-Wright
Published: 02/06/2018

Ripper The Secret Life of Walter Sickert, Patricia Cornwell
Ripper
by Patricia Cornwell

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Mary Stuart Masterson
Published: 02/28/2017

The Good Nurse A True Story of Medicine, Madness, and Murder, Charles Graeber
The Good Nurse
by Charles Graeber

List: $9.98

Sale: $6.99

Club: $4.99

Narrator: Will Collyer
Published: 04/15/2013

The I-5 Killer, Ann Rule
The I-5 Killer
by Ann Rule

List: $16.99

Sale: $11.89

Club: $8.49

Narrator: Laural Merlington
Published: 07/04/2017

The Five The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper, Hallie Rubenhold
The Five
by Hallie Rubenhold

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 10/08/2019

Highway of Tears, Jessica McDiarmid
Highway of Tears
by Jessica McDiarmid

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Emily Nixon
Published: 11/12/2019
{"id":"1914119","ean":"9781478923138","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City","subtitle":"The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City","author":"Kate Winkler Dawson","rating_average":"3.67","narrator":"Graeme Malcolm","ubr_id":"1914119","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.89","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Graeme Malcolm","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}