DarkMarket: Cyberthieves, Cybercops and You Cyberthieves, Cybercops and You, Misha Glenny
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

DarkMarket: Cyberthieves, Cybercops and You

Author: Misha Glenny

Narrator: Jonathan Cowley

Unabridged: 9 hr 26 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 10/04/2011

Genre: True Crime - White Collar Crime

Synopsis

"This extraordinarily powerful book demonstrates how utterly we lack the shared supranational tools needed to fight cybercrime. Essential reading." --Roberto Saviano, author of Gommorah

The benefits of living in a digital, globalized society are enormous; so too are the dangers. The world has become a law enforcer’s nightmare and every criminal’s dream. We bank online; shop online; date, learn, work and live online. But have the institutions that keep us safe on the streets learned to protect us in the burgeoning digital world? Have we become complacent about our personal security—sharing our thoughts, beliefs and the details of our daily lives with anyone who might care to relieve us of them?
 
In this fascinating and compelling book, Misha Glenny, author of the international best seller McMafia, explores the three fundamental threats facing us in the twenty-first century: cybercrime, cyberwarfare and cyberindustrial espionage. Governments and the private sector are losing billions of dollars each year fighting an ever-morphing, often invisible and often supersmart new breed of criminal: the hacker.
 
Glenny has traveled and trawled the world. By exploring the rise and fall of the criminal website DarkMarket he has uncovered the most vivid, alarming and illuminating stories. Whether JiLsi or Matrix, Iceman, Master Splynter or Lord Cyric; whether Detective Sergeant Chris Dawson in Scunthorpe, England, or Agent Keith Mularski in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Glenny has tracked down and interviewed all the players—the criminals, the geeks, the police, the security experts and the victims—and he places everyone and everything in a rich brew of politics, economics and history.
 
The result is simply unputdownable. DarkMarket is authoritative and completely engrossing. It’s a must-read for everyone who uses a computer: the essential crime book for our times.


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Filthy Rich A Powerful Billionaire, the Sex Scandal that Undid Him, and All the Justice that Money Can Buy: The Shocking True Story of Jeffrey Epstein, James Patterson
Filthy Rich
by James Patterson

A shocking true crime tale of money, power, and sex from the world's most popular thriller writer.Jeffrey Epstein rose from humble origins to the rarefied heights of New York City's financial elite. A college dropout with an instinct for numbers--a...

Narrator: Jason Culp
Published: 10/10/2016

Chasing Phil The Adventures of Two Undercover Agents with the World's Most Charming Con Man, David Howard
Chasing Phil
by David Howard

A thrilling true crime caper, bursting with colorful characters and awash in ‘70s glamour, that spotlights the FBI's first white-collar undercover sting   1977, the Thunderbird Motel. J.J. Wedick and Jack Brennan—two fresh-faced, ma...

Narrator: Joe Ochman
Published: 10/10/2017

Kingdom of Lies Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime, Kate Fazzini
Kingdom of Lies
by Kate Fazzini

"Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers.a€ a€”Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Oath In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating an...

Narrator: Khristine Hvam
Published: 06/11/2019

Just Desserts, Katy Vine
Just Desserts
by Katy Vine

In partnership with Texas Monthly, Katy Vine's "Just Desserts" is now available as an audio download, where the length and timeliness of a podcast meets the high-quality production of a full-length audio program.Mr. and Mrs. Jenkins led a perfectly ...

Narrator: Lydia Mackay
Published: 01/09/2018

Why They Do It Inside the Mind of the White-Collar Criminal, Eugene Soltes
Why They Do It
by Eugene Soltes

Drawing on intimate details from personal visits, letters, and phone calls with former executives turned white-collar criminals, as well as psychological, sociological, and historical research, Why They Do It is a breakthrough look at the dark side ...

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 10/11/2016

Noncompliant A Lone Whistleblower Exposes the Giants of Wall Street, Carmen Segarra
Noncompliant
by Carmen Segarra

A first-hand account of the oversight of the big banks in the wake of the financial crisis, from the Federal Reserve examiner who refused to be silencedIn 2011, Carmen Segarra took a job as at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York supervising for Go...

Narrator: Roxana Ortega
Published: 10/16/2018

The Informant A True Story, Kurt Eichenwald
The Informant
by Kurt Eichenwald

From an award-winning New York Times investigative reporter comes a gripping account of one of the most captivating and bizarre tales in the history of the FBI and corporate America.It was one of the FBI's biggest secrets: Mark Whitacre, a senior ex...

Narrator: Arthur Morey
Published: 12/27/2005

The Informant A True Story, Kurt Eichenwald
The Informant
by Kurt Eichenwald

From an award-winning New York Times investigative reporter comes a gripping account of one of the most captivating and bizarre tales in the history of the FBI and corporate America.It was one of the FBI's biggest secrets: Mark Whitacre, a senior ex...

Narrator: Arthur Morey
Published: 08/11/2009

Heist The Oddball Crew behind the $17 Million Loomis Fargo Theft, Jeff Diamant
Heist
by Jeff Diamant

The bizarre true story of the criminals behind the second-largest bank heist in American history One night in a small North Carolina town, a down-on-his-luck guard at Loomis Fargo manages to steal $17 millionliterally more than one ton of cash. Des...

Narrator: Jeffrey Kafer
Published: 08/04/2015
{"id":"318484","ean":"9780307966759","abr":"Unabridged","title":"DarkMarket: Cyberthieves, Cybercops and You","subtitle":"Cyberthieves, Cybercops and You","author":"Misha Glenny","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Jonathan Cowley","ubr_id":"318484","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jonathan Cowley","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}