Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman, Larry Loftis
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman

Author: Larry Loftis

Narrator: Kate Reading

Unabridged: 9 hr 59 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 01/15/2019

Genre: History - Military - World War Ii

Synopsis

From internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls. The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill. As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’s Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues. In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing “nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel” (Parade).

Recommended

Dunkirk The History Behind the Major Motion Picture, Joshua Levine
Dunkirk
by Joshua Levine

New York Times BestsellerThe epic true story of Dunkirk—now a major motion picture, written and directed by Christopher Nolan, and starring Kenneth Branagh, Tom Hardy, and Mark RylanceIn 1940, the Allies had been beaten back by the ...

Narrator: Leighton Pugh
Published: 06/27/2017

Stalingrad, David M. Glantz
Stalingrad
by David M. Glantz

Tantor Audio presents the complete audio version of the long awaited one-volume campaign history from the leading experts of the decisive clash of Nazi and Soviet forces at Stalingrad. Stalingrad is an abridged edition of the five-volume Stalingrad ...

Narrator: Paul Woodson
Published: 11/14/2017

Hitler's Soldiers The German Army in the Third Reich, Ben H. Shepherd
Hitler's Soldiers
by Ben H. Shepherd

For decades after 1945, it was generally believed that the German army, professional and morally decent, had largely stood apart from the SS, Gestapo, and other corps of the Nazi machine. Ben Shepherd draws on a wealth of primary sources and recent ...

Narrator: Michael Page
Published: 02/20/2018

The Guns at Last Light The War in Western Europe, 1944-1945, Rick Atkinson
The Guns at Last Light
by Rick Atkinson

The eagerly awaited final volume in Pulitzer Prize-winner Rick Atkinson's New York Times bestselling Liberation Trilogy.It is the twentieth century’s unrivaled epic: at a staggering price, the United States and its allies liberated Europe and ...

Narrator: L.J. Ganser,Rick Atkinson
Published: 05/14/2013

Killing the Rising Sun How America Vanquished World War II Japan, Bill O'Reilly
Killing the Rising Sun
by Bill O'Reilly

The powerful and riveting new book in the multimillion-selling Killing series by Bill O'Reilly and Martin DugardAutumn 1944. World War II is nearly over in Europe but is escalating in the Pacific, where American soldiers face an opponent who will go...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 09/13/2016

The Guns at Last Light The War in Western Europe, 1944-1945, Rick Atkinson
The Guns at Last Light
by Rick Atkinson

The eagerly awaited final volume in Pulitzer Prize-winner Rick Atkinson's New York Times bestselling Liberation Trilogy.It is the twentieth century’s unrivaled epic: at a staggering price, the United States and its allies liberated Europe and ...

Narrator: L.J. Ganser,Rick Atkinson
Published: 05/14/2013

Shadow Divers The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II, Robert Kurson
Shadow Divers
by Robert Kurson

New York Times Bestseller In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great histo...

Narrator: Michael Prichard,Campbell Scott
Published: 06/29/2004

Citizen Soldiers, Stephen E. Ambrose
Citizen Soldiers
by Stephen E. Ambrose

Citizen Soldiers opens on June 7, 1944, on the Normandy beaches, and ends on May 7, 1945. From the high command on down to the enlisted men, Stephen E. Ambrose draws on hundreds of interviews and oral histories from men on both sides who were there....

Narrator: George Wilson
Published: 01/04/2011

Killing Patton The Strange Death of World War II's Most Audacious General, Bill O'Reilly
Killing Patton
by Bill O'Reilly

Listeners around the world have been enthralled by Killing Lincoln, Killing Kennedy, and Killing Jesus—riveting works of nonfiction that journey into the heart of the most famous murders in history. Now from Bill O'Reilly, iconic anchor of The...

Narrator: Bill O'Reilly
Published: 09/23/2014
{"id":"2715678","ean":"9781508278900","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman","subtitle":"The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman","author":"Larry Loftis","rating_average":"4.5","narrator":"Kate Reading","ubr_id":"2715678","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kate Reading","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 59 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}