Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman, Larry Loftis
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman

Author: Larry Loftis

Narrator: Kate Reading

Unabridged: 9 hr 59 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 01/15/2019

Genre: History - Military - World War Ii

Synopsis

From internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls. The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill. As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’s Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues. In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing “nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel” (Parade).

Recommended

Shattered Sword The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway, Jonathan Parshall
Shattered Sword
by Jonathan Parshall

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Tom Perkins
Published: 04/16/2019

Killing the Rising Sun How America Vanquished World War II Japan, Bill O'Reilly
Killing the Rising Sun
by Bill O'Reilly

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 09/13/2016

The First Wave The D-Day Warriors Who Led the Way to Victory in World War II, Alex Kershaw
The First Wave
by Alex Kershaw

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 05/14/2019

Spearhead An American Tank Gunner, His Enemy, and a Collision of Lives in World War II, Adam Makos
Spearhead
by Adam Makos

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Johnathan McClain
Published: 02/19/2019

What Really Happened: The Death of Hitler, Robert J. Hutchinson
What Really Happened: The Death of Hi...
by Robert J. Hutchinson

List: $19.95

Sale: $13.97

Club: $9.97

Narrator: Grover Gardner
Published: 11/03/2020

Three Days at the Brink FDR's Daring Gamble to Win World War II, Bret Baier
Three Days at the Brink
by Bret Baier

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Bret Baier
Published: 10/22/2019

Twilight of the Gods War in the Western Pacific, 1944-1945, Ian Toll
Twilight of the Gods
by Ian Toll

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: P.J. Ochlan
Published: 09/01/2020

Killing Patton The Strange Death of World War II's Most Audacious General, Bill O'Reilly
Killing Patton
by Bill O'Reilly

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Bill O'Reilly
Published: 09/23/2014

The Splendid and the Vile A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz, Erik Larson
The Splendid and the Vile
by Erik Larson

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: John Lee
Published: 02/25/2020
{"id":"2715678","ean":"9781508278900","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman","subtitle":"The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman","author":"Larry Loftis","rating_average":"4.67","narrator":"Kate Reading","ubr_id":"2715678","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kate Reading","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 59 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}