Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii, James L. Haley
  • List: $22.95  |  Sale: $16.07
    Club: $11.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii

Author: James L. Haley

Narrator: Joe Barrett

Unabridged: 13 hr 33 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 12/30/2014

Genre: History - United States - State & Local

Synopsis

In the tradition of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough comes the first full-scale narrative history of Hawaii, an epic tale of empire, industry, war, and culture. The most recent state to join the union, Hawaii is the only one to have once been a royal kingdom. After its discovery by Captain Cook in the late eighteenth century, Hawaii was fought over by European powers determined to take advantage of its position as the crossroads of the Pacific. The arrival of the first missionaries marked the beginning of the struggle between a native culture with its ancient gods, sexual libertinism, and rites of human sacrifice and the rigid values of the Calvinists. While Hawaiis royal rulers adopted Christianity, they also fought to preserve their ancient ways. But the success of the ruthless American sugar barons sealed their fate, and in 1893 the American Marines overthrew Liliuokalani, the last queen of Hawaii. Captive Paradise is the story of King Kamehameha I, the Conqueror, who unified the islands through terror and bloodshed but whose dynasty succumbed to inbreeding; of Gilded Age tycoons like Claus Spreckels, who brilliantly outmaneuvered his competitors; of firebrand Lorrin Thurston, who was determined that Hawaii be ruled by whites; of President McKinley, who presided over the eventual annexation of the islands. Not since James Micheners classic novel Hawaii has there been such a vibrant and compelling portrait of an extraordinary place and its people.

Recommended

Lies My Teacher Told Me 2nd Edition, Dr. James Loewen
Lies My Teacher Told Me
by Dr. James Loewen

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: L.J. Ganser
Published: 06/04/2019

Lone Star Nation How a Ragged Army of Courageous Volunteers Won the Battle for Texas Independence, H. W. Brands
Lone Star Nation
by H. W. Brands

List: $24.95

Sale: $17.47

Club: $12.47

Narrator: Don Leslie,Chuck Montgomery
Published: 11/12/2003

The Poisoner's Handbook Murder and the Birth of Forensic Medicine in Jazz Age New York, Deborah Blum
The Poisoner's Handbook
by Deborah Blum

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Coleen Marlo
Published: 03/03/2010

On the Edge of Survival A Shipwreck, a Raging Storm, and the Harrowing Alaskan Rescue That Became a Legend, Spike Walker
On the Edge of Survival
by Spike Walker

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Robertson Dean
Published: 10/12/2010

Detroit A Biography, Scott Martelle
Detroit
by Scott Martelle

List: $19.95

Sale: $13.97

Club: $9.97

Narrator: William Hughes
Published: 04/01/2012

Fly by Wire The Geese, the Glide, the Miracle on the Hudson, William Langewiesche
Fly by Wire
by William Langewiesche

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: David Drummond
Published: 12/14/2009

Songs of America Patriotism, Protest, and the Music That Made a Nation, Jon Meacham
Songs of America
by Jon Meacham

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Jon Meacham
Published: 06/11/2019

Trail of Tears The Rise and Fall of the Cherokee Nation, John Ehle
Trail of Tears
by John Ehle

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: John McDonough
Published: 02/07/2001

Isaac's Storm A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History, Erik Larson
Isaac's Storm
by Erik Larson

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Richard Davidson
Published: 06/20/2006
{"id":"719743","ean":"9781481526340","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii","subtitle":"A History of Hawaii","author":"James L. Haley","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Joe Barrett","ubr_id":"719743","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.92","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Joe Barrett","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}