Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii A History of Hawaii, James L. Haley
  • List: $22.95  |  Sale: $16.07
    Club: $11.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii

Author: James L. Haley

Narrator: Joe Barrett

Unabridged: 13 hr 33 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 12/30/2014

Genre: History - United States - State & Local

Synopsis

In the tradition of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough comes the first full-scale narrative history of Hawaii, an epic tale of empire, industry, war, and culture. The most recent state to join the union, Hawaii is the only one to have once been a royal kingdom. After its discovery by Captain Cook in the late eighteenth century, Hawaii was fought over by European powers determined to take advantage of its position as the crossroads of the Pacific. The arrival of the first missionaries marked the beginning of the struggle between a native culture with its ancient gods, sexual libertinism, and rites of human sacrifice and the rigid values of the Calvinists. While Hawaiis royal rulers adopted Christianity, they also fought to preserve their ancient ways. But the success of the ruthless American sugar barons sealed their fate, and in 1893 the American Marines overthrew Liliuokalani, the last queen of Hawaii. Captive Paradise is the story of King Kamehameha I, the Conqueror, who unified the islands through terror and bloodshed but whose dynasty succumbed to inbreeding; of Gilded Age tycoons like Claus Spreckels, who brilliantly outmaneuvered his competitors; of firebrand Lorrin Thurston, who was determined that Hawaii be ruled by whites; of President McKinley, who presided over the eventual annexation of the islands. Not since James Micheners classic novel Hawaii has there been such a vibrant and compelling portrait of an extraordinary place and its people.

Recommended

Bill O'Reilly's Legends and Lies The Real West, David Fisher
Bill O'Reilly's Legends and Lies
by David Fisher

The must-have companion to Bill O'Reilly's historic series Legends and Lies: The Real West, a fascinating, eye-opening look at the truth behind the western legends we all think we knowHow did Davy Crockett save President Jackson's life only to end u...

Narrator: Tom Wopat
Published: 04/07/2015

God Save Texas A Journey into the Soul of the Lone Star State, Lawrence Wright
God Save Texas
by Lawrence Wright

With humor and the biting insight of a native, the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Looming Tower explores the history, culture, and politics of Texas, while holding the stereotypes up for rigorous scrutiny.God Save Texas is a journey through th...

Narrator: Lawrence Wright
Published: 04/17/2018

Last Train to Paradise, Les Standiford
Last Train to Paradise
by Les Standiford

The fast-paced and gripping true account of the extraordinary construction and spectacular demise of the Key West Railroad—one of the greatest engineering feats ever undertaken, destroyed in one fell swoop by the strongest storm ever to ...

Narrator: Del Roy
Published: 05/13/2002

Bloody Mohawk The French and Indian War & American Revolution on New York's Frontier, Richard Berleth
Bloody Mohawk
by Richard Berleth

In this narrative history of the Mohawk River Valley and surrounding region from 1713 to 1794, Professor Richard Berleth charts the passage of the valley from a fast-growing agrarian region streaming with colonial traffic to a war-ravaged wasteland....

Narrator: Jonathan Yen
Published: 06/19/2018

Blood at the Root A Racial Cleansing in America, Patrick Phillips
Blood at the Root
by Patrick Phillips

Forsyth County, Georgia, at the turn of the twentieth century was home to a large African American community that included ministers and teachers, farmers and field hands, tradesmen, servants, and children. Many black residents were poor sharecroppe...

Narrator: Patrick Phillips
Published: 09/20/2016

In the Shadow of Statues A White Southerner Confronts History, Mitch Landrieu
In the Shadow of Statues
by Mitch Landrieu

"An extraordinarily powerful journey that is both political and personal...An important book for everyone in America to read." --Walter Isaacson,#1 New York Times bestselling author of Leonardo Da Vinci and Steve JobsThe New Orleans mayor who remove...

Narrator: Mitch Landrieu
Published: 03/20/2018

Chesapeake Requiem A Year with the Watermen of Vanishing Tangier Island, Earl Swift
Chesapeake Requiem
by Earl Swift

A brilliant, soulful, and timely portrait of a two-hundred-year-old crabbing community in the middle of the Chesapeake Bay as it faces extinction from rising sea levels—part natural history of an extraordinary ecosystem, starring the beloved ...

Narrator: Tom Parks
Published: 08/07/2018

Isaac's Storm A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History, Erik Larson
Isaac's Storm
by Erik Larson

Erik Larson is a regular contributor to national magazines including Time, The Atlantic, and Harpers. Filled with images as powerful as the hurricane it describes, Isaacs Storm immediately swept onto best-seller lists across the country. In 1900, ...

Narrator: Richard Davidson
Published: 06/20/2006

The Cadaver King and the Country Dentist A True Story of Injustice in the American South, Radley Balko
The Cadaver King and the Country Dentist
by Radley Balko

A shocking and deeply reported account of the persistent plague of institutional racism and junk forensic science in our criminal justice system, and its devastating effect on innocent livesAfter two three-year-old girls were raped and murdered in r...

Narrator: Robert Fass
Published: 02/27/2018
{"id":"719743","ean":"9781481526340","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii","subtitle":"A History of Hawaii","author":"James L. Haley","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Joe Barrett","ubr_id":"719743","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.92","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Joe Barrett","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}