Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End, Jennifer Worth
  • List: $27.97  |  Sale: $19.57
    Club: $13.98
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Author: Jennifer Worth

Series: Call the Midwife #3

Narrator: Nicola Barber

Unabridged: 10 hr 49 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Highbridge Audio

Published: 02/04/2014

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Medical

Synopsis

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Recommended

Beauty in the Broken Places A Memoir of Love, Faith, and Resilience, Allison Pataki
Beauty in the Broken Places
by Allison Pataki

A deeply moving memoir about a couple whose lives were changed in the blink of an eye, and the love that helped them rewrite their future.Five months pregnant, on a flight to their "babymoon," Allison Pataki turned to her husband when he asked if hi...

Narrator: Lee Woodruff
Published: 05/01/2018

Every Patient Tells A Story Medical Mysteries and the Art of Diagnosis, Lisa Sanders
Every Patient Tells A Story
by Lisa Sanders

A riveting exploration of the most difficult and important part of what doctors do, by Yale School of Medicine physician Dr. Lisa Sanders, author of the monthly New York Times Magazine column "Diagnosis," the inspiration for the hit Fox TV...

Narrator: Lisa Sanders
Published: 08/11/2009

On the Move A Life, Oliver Sacks
On the Move
by Oliver Sacks

When Oliver Sacks was twelve years old, a perceptive schoolmaster wrote in his report: “Sacks will go far, if he does not go too far.” It is now abundantly clear that Sacks has never stopped going. From its opening pages on his youthful ...

Narrator: Dan Woren
Published: 04/28/2015

The Real Doctor Will See You Shortly A Physician's First Year, Matt McCarthy
The Real Doctor Will See You Shortly
by Matt McCarthy

A scorchingly frank look at how doctors are made, bringing readers into the critical care unit to see one burgeoning physician's journey from ineptitude to competence.In medical school, Matt McCarthy dreamed of being a different kind of doctor&mdash...

Narrator: Matt McCarthy
Published: 04/07/2015

Attending Medicine, Mindfulness, and Humanity, Ronald Epstein
Attending
by Ronald Epstein

The first book for the general public about mindfulness and medical practice, a groundbreaking, intimate exploration of how doctors think and what matters most—safe, effective, patient-centered, compassionate care—from the foremost exper...

Narrator: Jonathan Todd Ross
Published: 01/24/2017

Against Medical Advice One Family's Struggle with an Agonizing Medical Mystery, James Patterson
Against Medical Advice
by James Patterson

Cory Friedman woke up one morning when he was five years old with the uncontrollable urge to shake his head and his life was never the same again. From that day forward his life became a hell of uncontrollable tics, urges, and involuntary utteranc...

Narrator: Kevin T. Collins
Published: 10/20/2008

Call the Midwife A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times, Jennifer Worth
Call the Midwife
by Jennifer Worth

At the age of twenty-two, Jennifer Worth leaves her comfortable home to move into a convent and become a midwife in post war London’s East End slums. The colorful characters she meets while delivering babies all over London-from the plucky, wa...

Narrator: Nicola Barber
Published: 08/28/2012

The Pact Three Young Men Make a Promise and Fulfill a Dream, George Jenkins
The Pact
by George Jenkins

George Jenkins, Sampson Davis and Rameck Hunt were three African American kids living in the inner city of Newark, all from broken homes, all living amid poverty, crime, and drug abuse. Two served time in juvenile detention centers. They met in high...

Narrator: Lisa Frazier Page
Published: 03/01/2007

Gifted Hands The Ben Carson Story, Ben Carson, M.D.
Gifted Hands
by Ben Carson, M.D.

In 1987, Dr. Benjamin Carson gained worldwide recognition for his part in the first successful separation of Siamese twins joined at the back of the head. The extremely complex and delicate operation, five months in the planning and twenty-two hours...

Narrator: Dion Graham
Published: 07/05/2011

Call the Midwife Bundle

Get 5% off your total order by adding 3 or more audiobooks from Call the Midwife

{"id":"1171758","ean":"9781622313488","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End","subtitle":"","author":"Jennifer Worth","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Nicola Barber","series_id":"3096","ubr_id":"1171758","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"27.97","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.78","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Nicola Barber","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}