Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End, Jennifer Worth
  • List: $27.97  |  Sale: $19.57
    Club: $13.98
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Author: Jennifer Worth

Series: Call the Midwife #3

Narrator: Nicola Barber

Unabridged: 10 hr 49 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Highbridge Audio

Published: 02/04/2014

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Medical

Synopsis

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Recommended

Call the Midwife A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times, Jennifer Worth
Call the Midwife
by Jennifer Worth

List: $27.97

Sale: $19.57

Club: $13.98

Narrator: Nicola Barber
Published: 08/28/2012

God in the ICU The inspirational biography of a praying doctor, Dave Walker MD
God in the ICU
by Dave Walker MD

List: $10.00

Sale: $7.00

Club: $5.00

Narrator: Dave Walker
Published: 11/22/2018

Beauty in the Broken Places A Memoir of Love, Faith, and Resilience, Allison Pataki
Beauty in the Broken Places
by Allison Pataki

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Lee Woodruff
Published: 05/01/2018

Against Medical Advice One Family's Struggle with an Agonizing Medical Mystery, James Patterson
Against Medical Advice
by James Patterson

List: $14.98

Sale: $10.49

Club: $7.49

Narrator: Kevin T. Collins
Published: 10/20/2008

The Valedictorian of Being Dead The True Story of Dying Ten Times to Live, Heather B. Armstrong
The Valedictorian of Being Dead
by Heather B. Armstrong

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Heather B. Armstrong
Published: 04/23/2019

Anatomy of an Illness as Perceived by the Patient Reflections on Healing and Regeneration, Norman Cousins
Anatomy of an Illness as Perceived by...
by Norman Cousins

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Mikael Naramore
Published: 07/30/2019

Attending Medicine, Mindfulness, and Humanity, Ronald Epstein
Attending
by Ronald Epstein

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Jonathan Todd Ross
Published: 01/24/2017

Playing God The Evolution of a Modern Surgeon, MD Youn
Playing God
by MD Youn

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Kyle Tait
Published: 09/17/2019

Hidden Valley Road Inside the Mind of an American Family, Robert Kolker
Hidden Valley Road
by Robert Kolker

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Sean Pratt
Published: 04/07/2020

Call the Midwife Bundle

Get 5% off your total order by adding 3 or more audiobooks from Call the Midwife

{"id":"1171758","ean":"9781622313488","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End","subtitle":"","author":"Jennifer Worth","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Nicola Barber","series_id":"3096","ubr_id":"1171758","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"27.97","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.78","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Nicola Barber","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}