Blade Runner (Movie-Tie-In Edition): Based on the novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep: Official Movie Tie-In Based on the novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep: Official Movie Tie-In, Philip K. Dick
  • List: $17.48  |  Sale: $12.24
    Club: $8.74
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Blade Runner (Movie-Tie-In Edition): Based on the novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep: Official Movie Tie-In

Author: Philip K. Dick

Narrator: Scott Brick

Unabridged: 9 hr 12 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 11/27/2007

Genre: Fiction - Science Fiction - Adventure

Synopsis

The classic sci-fi novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, which inspired two major motion pictures: Blade Runner and Blade Runner 2049

By 2021, the World War has killed millions, driving entire species into extinction and sending mankind off-planet. Those who remain covet any living creature, and for people who can’t afford one, companies build incredibly realistic simulacra: horses, birds, cats, sheep. They’ve even built humans. Immigrants to Mars receive androids so sophisticated they are indistinguishable from true men or women. Fearful of the havoc these artificial humans can wreak, the government bans them from Earth. Driven into hiding, unauthorized androids live among human beings, undetected. Rick Deckard, an officially sanctioned bounty hunter, is commissioned to find rogue androids and “retire” them. But when cornered, androids fight back—with lethal force.
 
Praise for Philip K. Dick
 
“[Philip K. Dick] sees all the sparkling—and terrifying—possibilities . . . that other authors shy away from.”—Rolling Stone
 
“A kind of pulp-fiction Kafka, a prophet.”—The New York Times

Recommended

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
by Douglas Adams

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Extremely funny . . . inspired lunacy . . . [and] over much too soon.”—The Washington Post Book WorldNominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great America...

Narrator: Stephen Fry
Published: 04/05/2005

Golden Son Book II of the Red Rising Trilogy, Pierce Brown
Golden Son
by Pierce Brown

With shades of The Hunger Games, Enders Game, and Game of Thrones, debut author Pierce Browns genre-defying epic Red Rising hit the ground running and wasted no time becoming a sensation. Golden Son continues the stunning saga of Darrow, a rebel for...

Narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds
Published: 01/06/2015

Sleeping Giants, Sylvain Neuvel
Sleeping Giants
by Sylvain Neuvel

An electrifying debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.  A girl named Rose is riding her new bike...

Narrator: Various
Published: 04/26/2016

Persepolis Rising, James S.A. Corey
Persepolis Rising
by James S.A. Corey

The seventh novel in James S. A. Corey's New York Times bestselling Expanse series--now a major television series. The Expanse Leviathan Wakes Caliban's War Abaddon's Gate Cibola Burn Nemesis Games Babylon's Ashes Persepolis Rising The Expanse Short...

Narrator: Jefferson Mays
Published: 12/05/2017

Armada, Ernest Cline
Armada
by Ernest Cline

From the author of Ready Player One, a rollicking alien invasion thriller that embraces and subverts science-fiction conventions as only Ernest Cline can. Zack Lightman has never much cared for reality. He vastly prefers the countless scie...

Narrator: Wil Wheaton
Published: 07/14/2015

Waking Gods Book 2 of The Themis Files, Sylvain Neuvel
Waking Gods
by Sylvain Neuvel

In the gripping sequel to Sleeping Giants, which was hailed by Pierce Brown as “a luminous conspiracy yarn . . . reminiscent of The Martian and World War Z,” Sylvain Neuvel’s innovative series about human-alien contact takes anothe...

Narrator: Various
Published: 04/04/2017

Morning Star, Pierce Brown
Morning Star
by Pierce Brown

Red Rising thrilled readers and announced the presence of a talented new author. Golden Son changed the game and took the story of Darrow to the next level. Now comes the exhilarating conclusion to the Red Rising Trilogy: Morning Star.

Narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds
Published: 02/09/2016

Red Rising, Pierce Brown
Red Rising
by Pierce Brown

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. Yet he spends his life wi...

Narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds
Published: 04/16/2014

Ready Player One, Ernest Cline
Ready Player One
by Ernest Cline

Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American ReadThe bestselling cult classic—now a major motion picture directed by Steven Spielberg.At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia, ...

Narrator: Wil Wheaton
Published: 08/16/2011
{"id":"320853","ean":"9780739342763","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Blade Runner (Movie-Tie-In Edition): Based on the novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep: Official Movie Tie-In","subtitle":"Based on the novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep: Official Movie Tie-In","author":"Philip K. Dick","rating_average":"4.27","narrator":"Scott Brick","ubr_id":"320853","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.48","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.36","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Scott Brick","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}