• Regular: $26.99

    Sale: $18.89 (30% Off)

    Club: $13.49

Details

Black Chalk

Author: Christopher J. Yates

Narrator: Peter Brooke

Unabridged: 13 hr 55 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 11/28/2017

Genre: Fiction - Thrillers - Psychological

Synopsis

"This is the smart summer thriller you've been waiting for."--NPR's All Things Considered

Named a Best Book of the Year by NPR in 2015, Black Chalk finally makes its American audiobook debut.

A breathless psychological thriller set in New York and at Oxford University in which a group of six students play an elaborate game of dares and consequences with tragic results.

It was only ever meant to be a game played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University; a game of consequences, silly forfeits, and childish dares. But then the game changed: The stakes grew higher and the dares more personal and more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. Who knows better than your best friends what would break you?

A gripping psychological thriller partly inspired by the author's own time at Oxford University, Black Chalk is perfect for fans of the high tension and expert pacing. Christopher J. Yates' background in puzzle writing and setting is clearly felt in the plotting of this clever, tricky audiobook that will keep listeners guessing till the very last track.

*This program includes a bonus chapter from Christopher J. Yates' upcoming book, Grist Mill Road, set to publish in 2018*

Recommended

Behind Her Eyes
by Sarah Pinborough

Why is everyone talking about the ending of Sarah Pinborough's Behind Her Eyes?Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, sheâ...

Narrator: Anna Bentinck
Published: 01/31/2017

Twisted River
by Siobhn MacDonald

A gripping debut psychological thriller for fans of The Silent Wife and The Wicked Girls about two families in crisis and a holiday house swap gone terribly wrong She would never have fit as neatly into the trunk of his own car. Limerick, Ireland;...

Narrator: Alana Kerr Collins; Sile Bermingham; Gerard Doyle; Tom Taylorson
Published: 03/22/2016

Stillhouse Lake
by Rachel Caine

An Amazon Charts and USA Today bestseller.Gina Royal is the definition of average—a shy Midwestern housewife with a happy marriage and two adorable children. But when a car accident reveals her husband’s secret life as a serial killer, s...

Narrator: Emily Sutton-Smith
Published: 07/01/2017

I See You
by Clare Mackintosh

“[A] well-told suspense story...refreshingly realistic.”—The New York Times Book Review   “Danger feels real in the brilliant I See You…Mackintosh seems destined to do important work for many years to come.”...

Narrator: Rachel Atkins
Published: 02/21/2017

Only She Sees
by Manel Loureiro

After a tragic car accident shatters her body and mind, Cassandra struggles to piece together her life as a respected psychiatrist and devoted mother. But the accident has changed her. Her eyes have been opened to horrors she never knew existed. Is ...

Narrator: Kate Rudd
Published: 02/07/2017

The Widow's House
by Carol Goodman

This chilling novel from the bestselling, award-winning author of The Lake of Dead Languages blends the gothic allure of Daphne DuMaurier’s Rebecca and the crazed undertones of Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper with the twi...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 03/07/2017

Behind Closed Doors
by B. A. Paris

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING DEBUT PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER YOU CAN'T MISS!The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?“A hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep yo...

Narrator: Georgia Maguire
Published: 08/09/2016

The Cabin
by Natasha Preston

A New York Times Bestseller! There may only be one killer, but no one is innocent in this new young adult thriller from Natasha Preston, author of The Cellar, a New York Times Bestseller, and Awake They think they're invincible. They think they ca...

Narrator: Morag Sims
Published: 03/03/2017

The Breakdown
by B. A. Paris

"[Georgia Maguire's] overall narration is calm and elegant but emotional and alarming during the horrific moments Grace experiences." - AudioFile Magazine on Behind Closed Doors.Named One of the Most Anticipated Thriller Novels Of 2017 by Bustle!THE...

Narrator: Georgia Maguire
Published: 07/18/2017
{"id":"1935331","ean":"9781427299291","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Black Chalk","subtitle":"","author":"Christopher J. Yates","rating_average":"4.00","narrator":"Peter Brooke","ubr_id":"1935331","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Peter Brooke","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr 55 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}