Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance A Surgeon's Notes on Performance, Atul Gawande
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance

Author: Atul Gawande

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd

Unabridged: 7 hr 34 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 04/03/2007

Genre: Medical - Essays

Synopsis

The struggle to perform well is universal: each one of us faces fatigue, limited resources, and imperfect abilities in whatever we do. But nowhere is this drive to do better more important than in medicine, where lives are on the line with every decision. In his new book, Atul Gawande explores how doctors strive to close the gap between best intentions and best performance in the face of obstacles that sometimes seem insurmountable.

Gawande's gripping stories take us to battlefield surgical tents in Iraq, to delivery rooms in Boston, to a polio outbreak in India, and to malpractice courtrooms around the country. He examines the ethical dilemmas of doctors' participation in lethal injections, the influence of money on modern medicine, and the astoundingly contentious history of hand-washing. Offering a searingly honest first-hand account of work in a field where mistakes are both unavoidable and unthinkable, Better provides rare insight into the elements of success that illuminates every area of human endeavor.

Recommended

Rabid A Cultural History of the Worlds Most Diabolical Virus, Bill Wasik and Monica Murphy
Rabid
by Bill Wasik and Monica Murphy

A maddened creature, frothing at the mouth, lunges at an innocent victim-and with a bite, transforms its prey into another raving monster. It's a scenario that underlies our darkest tales of supernatural horror, but its power derives from a very rea...

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 07/19/2012

The Nurses A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital, Alexandra Robbins
The Nurses
by Alexandra Robbins

Nursing is more than a career; it's a calling, and one of the most important fascinating, and dangerous professions in the world. As the frontline responders battling traumas, illnesses, and aggression from surprising sources, nurses are remarkable...

Narrator: Alexandra Robbins
Published: 04/19/2016

You Can Stop Humming Now A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between, Daniela Lamas
You Can Stop Humming Now
by Daniela Lamas

"Gripping, soaring, inspiring."--Atul Gawande, author of Being MortalFor readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology.Modern medici...

Narrator: Daniela Lamas
Published: 03/27/2018

Undoctored Why Health Care Has Failed You and How You Can Become Smarter Than Your Doctor, William Davis, MD
Undoctored
by William Davis, MD

Conventional health care is no longer working in your favor?but thankfully, Dr. Davis is. In his New York Times bestseller Wheat Belly, Dr. William Davis changed the lives of millions of people by teaching them to remove grains from their diets to ...

Narrator: Dan Woren
Published: 05/09/2017

The Checklist Manifesto How to Get Things Right, Atul Gawande
The Checklist Manifesto
by Atul Gawande

The New York Times bestselling author of Better and Complications reveals the surprising power of the ordinary checklist We live in a world of great and increasing complexity, where even the most expert professionals struggle to master the tasks the...

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 12/22/2009

The Stem Cell Hope How Stem Cell Medicine Can Change Our Lives, Alice Park
The Stem Cell Hope
by Alice Park

A landmark book by the senior science writer at Time magazine introduces us to a medical breakthrough that can save our lives. Few people know much about stem cell research beyond the ethical questions raised by using embryos. But in the last deca...

Narrator: Walter Dixon
Published: 05/24/2011

The Brain's Way of Healing Remarkable Discoveries and Recoveries from the Frontiers of Neuroplasticity, Norman Doidge
The Brain's Way of Healing
by Norman Doidge

The New York Times–bestselling author of The Brain That Changes Itself presents astounding advances in the treatment of brain injury and illness. Now a new afterword. Winner of the 2015 Gold Nautilus Award in Science & Cosm...

Narrator: George Newbern
Published: 01/27/2015

Complications A Surgeon's Notes on an Imperfect Science, Atul Gawande
Complications
by Atul Gawande

A brilliant and courageous doctor reveals, in gripping accounts of true cases, the power and limits of modern medicine.Sometimes in medicine the only way to know what is truly going on in a patient is to operate, to look inside with one's own eyes. ...

Narrator: William David Griffith
Published: 03/01/2003

The Beauty of Dirty Skin The Surprising Science of Looking and Feeling Radiant from the Inside Out, Whitney Bowe
The Beauty of Dirty Skin
by Whitney Bowe

Internationally renowned dermatologist and research scientist Dr. Whitney Bowe presents, for the first time, the connection between a healthy gut and radiant, clear skin, with a 21-day program to maximize skin health and beauty.Every year, nearly 8...

Narrator: Whitney Bowe
Published: 04/17/2018
{"id":"242698","ean":"9781427200990","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance","subtitle":"A Surgeon's Notes on Performance","author":"Atul Gawande","rating_average":"4.05","narrator":"John Bedford Lloyd","series_id":"9417","ubr_id":"242698","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"John Bedford Lloyd","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}