Before I Die, Jenny Downham
  • List: $17.00  |  Sale: $11.91
    Club: $8.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Before I Die

Author: Jenny Downham

Narrator: Charlotte Parry

Unabridged: 7 hr 10 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 09/25/2007

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Death & Dying

Synopsis

For the many readers who love The Fault in Our Stars, this is the story of a girl who is determined to live, love, and to write her own ending before her time is finally up.

Tessa has just months to live. Fighting back against hospital visits, endless tests, drugs with excruciating side-effects, Tessa compiles a list. It’s her To Do Before I Die list. And number one is Sex. Released from the constraints of ‘normal’ life, Tessa tastes new experiences to make her feel alive while her failing body struggles to keep up. Tessa’s feelings, her relationships with her father and brother, her estranged mother, her best friend, and her new boyfriend, all are painfully crystallised in the precious weeks before Tessa’s time runs out.


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

The Astonishing Color of After, Emily X.R. Pan
The Astonishing Color of After
by Emily X.R. Pan

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles Al...

Narrator: Stephanie Hsu
Published: 03/20/2018

They Both Die at the End, Adam Silvera
They Both Die at the End
by Adam Silvera

Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.New York Times bestseller * 4 starre...

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 09/05/2017

The Darkest Corners, Kara Thomas
The Darkest Corners
by Kara Thomas

"Gripping from start to finish . . . with twists that left me shocked."—Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen For fans of Gillian Flynn and Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a ps...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 04/19/2016

The Forest of Hands and Teeth, Carrie Ryan
The Forest of Hands and Teeth
by Carrie Ryan

In Mary's world there are simple truths.    The Sisterhood always knows best.    The Guardians will protect and serve.    The Unconsecrated will never relent.   And you must always mind the fence that surrou...

Narrator: Vane Millon
Published: 05/12/2009

Goodbye Days, Jeff Zentner
Goodbye Days
by Jeff Zentner

“Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming,” says Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also A Star, of this novel about finding strength and hope after tragedy. Perfect f...

Narrator: Michael Crouch
Published: 03/07/2017

Twisted Fate, Norah Olson
Twisted Fate
by Norah Olson

The moment a mysterious boy moves in next door to Sydney and Allyson Tate, both of their lives begin to change in ways that neither of them can ignore.When Allyson meets Graham Copeland, she instantly feels like he's a kindred spirit—shy ...

Narrator: Jason Culp
Published: 01/20/2015

The Memory Book, Lara Avery
The Memory Book
by Lara Avery

They tell me that my memory will never be the same, that I'll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I'm writing to remember.Sammie McCoy is a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small ...

Narrator: Casey Holloway
Published: 07/05/2016

Neverworld Wake, Marisha Pessl
Neverworld Wake
by Marisha Pessl

Five friends. Only one can survive the Neverworld Wake. Who would you choose?From the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Special Topics in Calamity Physics and Night Film comes an absorbing psychological suspense thriller in which fears ...

Narrator: Phoebe Strole
Published: 06/05/2018

We Are Okay, Nina LaCour
We Are Okay
by Nina LaCour

Winner of the 2018 Michael L. Printz Award — An achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship.“Short, poetic and gorgeously written.” —The New York Times Book Review“A beautiful, de...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 02/14/2017

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Wendy on 2009-06-13 11:23:40

Tessa is a 16 year old girl who is dying. She has cancer. Cancer....it is amazing how one word can say so much. This book speaks volumes. The emotional slap that you receive on every page is sometimes too much to bear and you have to set the book down and walk away for a while. There is the anger from Tessa, the desperation from her father, the denial from her brother, the love from Adam, and the almost mean spirited fragility from her friend Zoey. You connect with each of these emotions and at times you feel drained. Make sure that you have plenty of Kleenex on hand before beginning, but this book is definitely worth the time. It will make you re-evaluate life and maybe, just maybe, not take it for granted quite as much.

{"id":"321269","ean":"9780739362891","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Before I Die","subtitle":"","author":"Jenny Downham","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Charlotte Parry","ubr_id":"321269","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.05","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Charlotte Parry","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}