Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey through His Son's Meth Addiction, David Sheff
  • List: $20.95  |  Sale: $14.66
    Club: $10.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey through His Son's Meth Addiction

Best Seller

Author: David Sheff

Narrator: Anthony Heald

Unabridged: 11 hr 28 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 02/26/2008

Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Synopsis

David Sheffs story is a first: a teenagers addiction from the parents point of view, a realtime chronicle of the shocking descent into substance abuse and the gradual emergence into hope. Before meth, Sheffs son, Nic, was a varsity athlete, honor student, and awardwinning journalist. After meth, he was a trembling wraith who stole money from his eightyearold brother and lived on the streets. With haunting candor, Sheff traces the first warning signs, the attempts at rehabilitation, and, at last, the way past addiction. He shows us that, whatever an addicts fate, the rest of the family must care for one another, too, lest they become addicted to addiction.

Recommended

The Tender Bar A Memoir, J. R. Moehringer
The Tender Bar
by J. R. Moehringer

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.J....

Narrator: Adam Grupper
Published: 09/05/2017

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy Schumer
The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo
by Amy Schumer

“Amy’s got your back. She’s in your corner. She’s an honesty bomb. And she’s coming for you.” —Actress Tilda Swinton and Trainwreck co-star The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Insi...

Narrator: Amy Schumer
Published: 08/16/2016

Unbroken A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption, Laura Hillenbrand
Unbroken
by Laura Hillenbrand

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The incredible true story of survival and salvation that is the basis for two major motion pictures: 2014’s Unbroken and the upcoming Unbroken: Path to Redemption.On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forc...

Narrator: Edward Herrmann
Published: 11/16/2010

Educated A Memoir, Tara Westover
Educated
by Tara Westover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge UniversityBook Club Pick for Now Read This, from PBS NewsHour...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 02/20/2018

Bitter is the New Black Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smartass, Or, Why You Should Never Carry A Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office, Jen Lancaster
Bitter is the New Black
by Jen Lancaster

Unabridged ? 11 hoursThis is the smart-mouthed, soul- searching story of a woman trying to figure out what happens next when she's gone from six figures to unemployment checks and she stops to reconsider some of the less-than-rosy attitudes and valu...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

The Glass Castle A Memoir, Jeannette Walls
The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

Becoming, Michelle Obama
Becoming
by Michelle Obama

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States   In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of...

Narrator: Michelle Obama
Published: 11/13/2018

Shoe Dog, Phil Knight
Shoe Dog
by Phil Knight

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s...

Narrator: Norbert Leo Butz
Published: 04/26/2016

The Glass Castle A Memoir, Jeannette Walls
The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Jase on 2008-08-06 17:55:51

As a parent, the story is heartbreaking but hopeful. I thought the narration was great, almost as if the auther was reading himself, but I think the abridged version would have sufficed. I'm anxious to read his son's novel of the same account.

{"id":"101002","ean":"9781433241499","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey through His Son's Meth Addiction","subtitle":"A Father's Journey through His Son's Meth Addiction","author":"David Sheff","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Anthony Heald","ubr_id":"101002","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Anthony Heald","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}