Ball Don't Lie, Matt de la PeA±a
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Ball Don't Lie

Author: Matt de la PeA±a

Narrator: Dion Graham

Unabridged: 6 hr 58 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 04/04/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Boys & Men

Synopsis

Newbery Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Matt de la Pena's Ball Don't Lie "is a must-read." [The Bulletin]

   Sticky is a beat-around-the-head foster kid with nowhere to call home but the street, and an outer shell so tough that no one will take him in. He started out life so far behind the pack that the finish line seems nearly unreachable. He’s a white boy living and playing in a world where he doesn’t seem to belong.
    But Sticky can ball. And basketball might just be his ticket out . . . if he can only realize that he doesn’t have to be the person everyone else expects him to be.
    Matt de la Peña's breakout urban masterpiece, Ball Don’t Lie takes place where the street and the court meet and where a boy can be anything if he puts his mind to it.

★"[An] inspiring story. Sticky is a true original, and de la Peña has skillfully brought him to life."-School Library Journal, Starred

"Riveting...Teens will be strongly affected by the unforgettable...basketball action; and the questions about race, love, self-worth, and what it means to build a life without advantages."-Booklist

"Stunningly realistic."-VOYA

"Gritty and mesmerizing."-Kirkus Reviews

"I have never before seen blacktop ball depicted so well. In this novel, you will find its flash, its power, and its elegance without chains. This is powerful stuff."-Antawn Jamison, forward for the Los Angeles Clippers

"Truly authentic in its examination of both the game I love and the invariable missteps toward manhood. You cannot fail to be moved by the eloquence and truth of this story."-Rick Fox, former forward for the Los Angeles Lakers

An ALA Best Book for Young Adults

An ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers

Recommended

100 Sideways Miles, Andrew Smith
100 Sideways Miles
by Andrew Smith

Finn Easton sees the world through miles instead of minutes. It's how he makes sense of the world, and how he tries to convince himself that he's a real boy and not just a character in his father's bestselling cult-classic book. Finn has two things ...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 06/09/2015

Twisted, Laurie Halse Anderson
Twisted
by Laurie Halse Anderson

High school senior Tyler Miller used to be the kind of guy who faded into the background—average student, average looks, average dysfunctional family. But since he got busted for doing graffiti on the school, and spent the summer doing outdoor...

Narrator: Mike Chamberlain
Published: 03/27/2007

Playground, 50 Cent
Playground
by 50 Cent

Thirteen-year-old Butterball doesn't have much going for him. He's teased about his weight. He hates the Long Island suburb his mom moved them to so she could go to nursing school and start her life over. He wishes he still lived with his dad in New...

Narrator: Dwayne Clark
Published: 11/01/2011

The Dream Bearer, Walter Dean Myers
The Dream Bearer
by Walter Dean Myers

For a young adolescent, David Curry has a lot to contend with. He loves and fears Reuben, his troubled father. His older brother, Ty, is turning into someone David doesn't know anymore -- or trust. And his mom is struggling to hold everything toget...

Narrator: Peter Francis James
Published: 02/22/2005

Challenger Deep, Neal Shusterman
Challenger Deep
by Neal Shusterman

National Book Award and Golden Kite Award WinnerA captivating novel about mental illness that lingers long beyond the last page, Challenger Deep is a heartfelt tour de force by New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman.C...

Narrator: Michael Curran-Dorsano
Published: 04/21/2015

Riverkeep, Martin Stewart
Riverkeep
by Martin Stewart

A stunning debut perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman!The Danék is a wild, treacherous river, and the Fobisher family has tended it for generations—clearing it of ice and weed, making sure boats can get through, and fishing ...

Narrator: James Cosmo
Published: 07/26/2016

Spanking Shakespeare, Jake Wizner
Spanking Shakespeare
by Jake Wizner

SHAKESPEARE SHAPIRO HAS ALWAYS hated his name. His parents bestowed it on him as some kind of sick joke when he was born, and his life has gone downhill from there, one embarrassing incident after another. Entering his senior year of high school, Sh...

Narrator: Mike Chamberlain
Published: 02/12/2008

Reality Boy, A. S. King
Reality Boy
by A. S. King

In this fearless portrayal of a boy on the edge, highly acclaimed Printz Honor author A.S. King explores the desperate reality of a former child "star" struggling to break free of his anger.Gerald Faust knows exactly when he started feeling angry: ...

Narrator: Michael Stellman
Published: 10/22/2013

Love and First Sight, Josh Sundquist
Love and First Sight
by Josh Sundquist

In his debut novel, YouTube personality and author of We Should Hang Out Sometime Josh Sundquist explores the nature of love, trust, and romantic attraction. On his first day at a new school, blind sixteen-year-old Will Porter accidentally groped a...

Narrator: Pat Young
Published: 01/03/2017
{"id":"1590261","ean":"9781524778668","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Ball Don't Lie","subtitle":"","author":"Matt de la PeA±a","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Dion Graham","ubr_id":"1590261","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Dion Graham","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}