Bad Boy, Walter Dean Myers
  • List: $14.99  |  Sale: $10.50
    Club: $7.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Bad Boy

Author: Walter Dean Myers

Narrator: Joe Morton

Unabridged: 4 hr 56 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 02/22/2005

Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Literary

Synopsis

Into a memoir that is gripping, funny, heartbreaking, and unforgettable, Walter Dean Myers richly weaves the details of his Harlem childhood in the 1940s and 1950s: a loving home life with his adopted parents, Bible school, street games, and the vitality of his neighborhood. Although Walter spent much of his time either getting into trouble or on the basketball court, secretly he was a voracious reader and an aspiring writer. But as his prospects for a successful future diminished, the values he had been taught at home, in school, and in his community seemed worthless, and he turned to the streets and his books for comfort. Here in his own words is the story of one of the strongest voices in children's and young adult literature today.

Recommended

Hidden Girl The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave, Shyima Hall
Hidden Girl
by Shyima Hall

Shyima Hall was born in Egypt on September 29, 1989, the seventh child of desperately poor parents. When she was eight, her parents sold her into slavery. Shyima then moved two hours away to Egypt's capitol city of Cairo to live with a wealthy famil...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 06/25/2014

Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Bernie Sanders
Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution
by Bernie Sanders

In The Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Independent congressman, presidential candidate and activist Bernie Sanders continues his fight against the imbalances in the nation’s status quo, and shows you how to make a difference to e...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 08/29/2017

Being Jazz My Life as a (Transgender) Teen, Jazz Jennings
Being Jazz
by Jazz Jennings

Teen advocate and trailblazer Jazz Jennings—named one of “The 25 Most Influential Teens” of the year by Time—shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people to accept the differences in others while th...

Narrator: Jazz Jennings
Published: 06/07/2016

Hole In My Life, Jack Gantos
Hole In My Life
by Jack Gantos

In the summer of 1971, Jack Gantos was an aspiring writer desperate for adventure, college cash, and a way out of a dead-end job. For ten thousand dollars, he recklessly agreed to help sail a sixty-foot yacht loaded with hashish from the Virgin Isla...

Narrator: Jack Gantos
Published: 07/22/2003

Fierce How Competing for Myself Changed Everything, Aly Raisman
Fierce
by Aly Raisman

Discover Aly Raisman's inspiring story of dedication, perseverance, and learning to think positive even in the toughest times on her path to gold medal success in two Olympic Games--and beyond. Aly Raisman first stepped onto a gymnastics mat as a t...

Narrator: Natalie Roy Camargo
Published: 11/14/2017

Dreaming Out Loud, Baby Ariel
Dreaming Out Loud
by Baby Ariel

Musical.ly megastar and recording artist Baby Ariel tells the inspiring story behind her empire of more than 35 million fans. Full of revealing personal anecdotes and advice! Ariel is all about opening up and being goofy, funny, and completely...

Narrator: Baby Ariel
Published: 10/09/2018

Courage to Soar A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance, Simone Biles
Courage to Soar
by Simone Biles

Simone Biles’ entrance into the world of gymnastics may have started on a daycare field trip in her hometown of Spring, Texas, but her God-given talent, passion, and perseverance have made her one of the top gymnasts in the world, as well as a...

Narrator: Imani Parks
Published: 11/15/2016

Sabina In the Eye of the Storm, Bella Kuligowska Zucker
Sabina
by Bella Kuligowska Zucker

This is the memoir written by Bella Kuligowska Zucker, the only person in her family to survive the Holocaust. In September 1939, Bella was a carefree teenager living in Poland when the German army struck. She was rounded up with her friends and fam...

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 05/31/2019

Discovering Wes Moore, Wes Moore
Discovering Wes Moore
by Wes Moore

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turn...

Narrator: Wes Moore
Published: 06/11/2013
{"id":"171426","ean":"9780060839161","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Bad Boy","subtitle":"","author":"Walter Dean Myers","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Joe Morton","ubr_id":"171426","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"14.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"8.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Joe Morton","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr 57 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}