Annie On My Mind, Nancy Garden
  • List: $17.50  |  Sale: $12.25
    Club: $8.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Annie On My Mind

Author: Nancy Garden

Narrator: Rebecca Lowman

Unabridged: 7 hr 14 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 12/23/2008

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Romance - Lgbt

Synopsis

This groundbreaking book, first published in 1982, is the story of two teenage girls whose friendship blossoms into love and who, despite pressures from family and school that threaten their relationship, promise to be true to each other and their feelings.
 
Of the author and the book, the Margaret A. Edwards Award committee said, "Nancy Garden has the distinction of being the first author for young adults to create a lesbian love story with a positive ending. Using a fluid, readable style, Garden opens a window through which readers can find courage to be true to themselves."
 
The 25th Anniversary Edition features a full-length interview with the author by Kathleen T. Horning, Director of the Cooperative Children's Book Center. Ms. Garden answers such revealing questions as how she knew she was gay, why she wrote the book, censorship, and the book's impact on readers – then and now.

Recommended

One Man Guy, Michael Barakiva
One Man Guy
by Michael Barakiva

Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians never eat out. Why bother, when their home cooking is far superior to anything "these Americans" could come up with? Betw...

Narrator: Michael Chernus
Published: 05/27/2014

Autoboyography, Christina Lauren
Autoboyography
by Christina Lauren

INCLUDES AN EXTENDED INTERVIEW WITH CHRISTINA HOBBS, LAUREN BILLINGS, AND NARRATOR DEACON LEE! Fangirl meets Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda in this funny and poignant coming-of-age novel from New York Times bestselling author Christina Lauren abo...

Narrator: Deacon Lee
Published: 09/12/2017

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me, Julie Anne Peters
Lies My Girlfriend Told Me
by Julie Anne Peters

When Alix's charismatic girlfriend, Swanee, dies from sudden cardiac arrest, Alix is overcome with despair. As she searches Swanee's room for mementos of their relationship, she finds Swanee's cell phone, pinging with dozens of texts sent from a my...

Narrator: Christine Lakin
Published: 06/10/2014

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit, Jaye Robin Brown
Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit
by Jaye Robin Brown

Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that's perfect for fans of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' and Beck...

Narrator: Amanda Dolan
Published: 02/12/2019

You Know Me Well, David Levithan
You Know Me Well
by David Levithan

Who knows you well? Your best friend? Your boyfriend or girlfriend? A stranger you meet on a crazy night? No one, really?Mark and Kate have sat next to each other for an entire year, but have never spoken. For whatever reason, their paths outside of...

Narrator: Emma Galvin
Published: 06/07/2016

The Summer of Jordi Perez (and the Best Burger in Los Angeles), Amy Spalding
The Summer of Jordi Perez (and the Best Burger in Los Angeles)
by Amy Spalding

Seventeen, fashion-obsessed, and gay, Abby Ives has always been content playing the sidekick in other people's lives. While her friends and sister have plunged headfirst into the world of dating and romances, Abby's been happy to focus on her plus-s...

Narrator: Cassandra Morris
Published: 04/17/2018

The Dangerous Art of Blending In, Angelo Surmelis
The Dangerous Art of Blending In
by Angelo Surmelis

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis. Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn’t know where he fits in. His strict immi...

Narrator: Michael Crouch
Published: 01/30/2018

Everything Leads to You, Nina LaCour
Everything Leads to You
by Nina LaCour

"I want you to do something with the place. Something epic."   After being entrusted with her brother's Los Angeles apartment for the summer as a graduation gift, Emi Price isn't sure how to fulfill his one condition: that something great take ...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 07/03/2018

Odd One Out, Nic Stone
Odd One Out
by Nic Stone

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes this illuminating exploration of old friendships, new crushes, and the path to self-discovery. Told in three voices, Nic Stone's new book is sure to please fans of Becky Albertalli, Nic...

Narrator: Dion Graham
Published: 10/09/2018
{"id":"321413","ean":"9780739367445","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Annie On My Mind","subtitle":"","author":"Nancy Garden","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Rebecca Lowman","ubr_id":"321413","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.38","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rebecca Lowman","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}