American Street, Ibi Zoboi
  • List: $22.99  |  Sale: $16.09
    Club: $11.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

American Street

Author: Ibi Zoboi

Narrator: Robin Miles

Unabridged: 8 hr 35 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 02/14/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Emigration & Immigration

Ages: 14 - UP

Synopsis

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the YearAmerican Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Recommended

Willow, Julia Hoban
Willow
by Julia Hoban

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Kim J. Ulrich
Published: 07/14/2009

Red Glass, Laura Resau
Red Glass
by Laura Resau

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Emma Bering
Published: 03/10/2009

Children of Virtue and Vengeance, Tomi Adeyemi
Children of Virtue and Vengeance
by Tomi Adeyemi

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 12/03/2019

Wintergirls, Laurie Halse Anderson
Wintergirls
by Laurie Halse Anderson

List: $23.00

Sale: $16.10

Club: $11.50

Narrator: Phoebe Strole
Published: 04/02/2019

A Step From Heaven, An Na
A Step From Heaven
by An Na

List: $14.00

Sale: $9.80

Club: $7.00

Narrator: Jina Oh
Published: 03/14/2017

The Iron Thorn The Iron Codex Book One, Caitlin Kittredge
The Iron Thorn The Iron Codex Book On...
by Caitlin Kittredge

List: $27.00

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.50

Narrator: Katie MacNichol
Published: 02/22/2011

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian 10th Anniversary Edition, Sherman Alexie
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-T...
by Sherman Alexie

List: $19.98

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Sherman Alexie
Published: 06/18/2019

Seedfolks, Paul Fleischman
Seedfolks
by Paul Fleischman

List: $12.95

Sale: $9.07

Club: $6.47

Narrator: various narrators
Published: 04/30/2010

Stargirl, Jerry Spinelli
Stargirl
by Jerry Spinelli

List: $12.50

Sale: $8.75

Club: $6.25

Narrator: John H. Ritter
Published: 05/14/2002
{"id":"1562131","ean":"9780062661241","abr":"Unabridged","title":"American Street","subtitle":"","author":"Ibi Zoboi","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Robin Miles","ubr_id":"1562131","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Robin Miles","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}