American Street, Ibi Zoboi
  • List: $22.99  |  Sale: $16.09
    Club: $11.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

American Street

Author: Ibi Zoboi

Narrator: Robin Miles

Unabridged: 8 hr 35 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 02/14/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Emigration & Immigration

Ages: 14 - UP

Synopsis

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the YearAmerican Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Recommended

Solace of the Road, Siobhan Dowd
Solace of the Road
by Siobhan Dowd

Holly’s story will leave a lasting impression on all who travel with her.Memories of mum are the only thing that make Holly Hogan happy. She hates her foster family with their too-nice ways and their false sympathy. And she hates her life, her...

Narrator: Sile Bermingham
Published: 10/13/2009

Willow, Julia Hoban
Willow
by Julia Hoban

Seven months ago, on a rainy March night, sixteen year- old Willow’s parents died in a horrible car accident. Willow was driving. Now her older brother barely speaks to her, her new classmates know her as the killer orphan girl, and Willow is ...

Narrator: Kim J. Ulrich
Published: 07/14/2009

Red Glass, Laura Resau
Red Glass
by Laura Resau

With a dazzling and thoughtful voice, this critically acclaimed novel deals directly with the challenges and dangers of immigration, exploring the ties that bind us together in an age when issues threaten to divide us. One night Sophie and her pare...

Narrator: Emma Bering
Published: 03/10/2009

Stargirl, Jerry Spinelli
Stargirl
by Jerry Spinelli

A modern-day classic and New York Times bestseller that celebrates the power of individuality and personal expression from beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli.Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, ...

Narrator: John H. Ritter
Published: 05/14/2002

A Step From Heaven, An Na
A Step From Heaven
by An Na

From master storyteller An Na comes the Printz Award–winning novel about a Korean girl who tells her firsthand account of trying to find her place and identity in America from the day she leaves Korea as a child to her rocky journey through th...

Narrator: Jina Oh
Published: 03/14/2017

Saint Iggy, K. L. Going
Saint Iggy
by K. L. Going

When Iggy Corso gets kicked out of high school, there’s no one for him to tell. His mother has gone off, his father is stoned on the couch, and because the phone’s been disconnected, even the social worker can’t get through. So he ...

Narrator: Stephen Hoye
Published: 10/10/2006

True Believer, Virginia Euwer Wolff
True Believer
by Virginia Euwer Wolff

What's new in LaVaughn's life is Jody--a boy she knew as a child who's come back to the housing project where she lives. Jody is like a miracle: He smells like chlorine, he calls her "little buddy," he goes with her to the dance. It's ju...

Narrator: Heather Alicia Simms
Published: 01/22/2002

The Iron Thorn The Iron Codex Book One, Caitlin Kittredge
The Iron Thorn The Iron Codex Book One
by Caitlin Kittredge

In the city of Lovecraft, the Proctors rule and a great Engine turns below the streets, grinding any resistance to their order to dust. The necrovirus is blamed for Lovecraft's epidemic of madness, for the strange and eldritch creatures that roam th...

Narrator: Katie MacNichol
Published: 02/22/2011

Canyons, Gary Paulsen
Canyons
by Gary Paulsen

Two boys, separated by the canyons of time and two vastly different cultures, face the challenges by which they will become men.Coyote Runs, an Apache boy, takes part in his first raid. But he is to be a man for only a short time.More than a hundred...

Narrator: Peter Coyote
Published: 07/05/2000
{"id":"1562131","ean":"9780062661241","abr":"Unabridged","title":"American Street","subtitle":"","author":"Ibi Zoboi","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Robin Miles","ubr_id":"1562131","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Robin Miles","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}