All the Names They Used for God: Stories, Anjali Sachdeva
  • List: $17.50  |  Sale: $12.25
    Club: $8.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

All the Names They Used for God: Stories

Author: Anjali Sachdeva

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell, Various

Unabridged: 7 hr 16 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 02/20/2018

Genre: Fiction - Magic Realism

Synopsis

For fans of Dave Eggers and Kelly Link, an exhilarating collection of stories that explores the mysterious, often dangerous forces that shape our lives—from censorship and terrorism to technology and online dating.

Spanning centuries, continents, and a diverse set of characters, these alluringly strange stories are united by each character’s struggle with fate. In a secret, subterranean world beneath the prairie of the Old West, a homesteader risks her life in search of a safe haven. A workman in Andrew Carnegie’s steel mills is turned into a medical oddity by the brutal power of the furnaces—and is eventually revitalized by his condition. A young woman created through genetic manipulation is destroyed by the same force that gave her life.

With her distinctive blend of magical realism, science, and poetic prose, Anjali Sachdeva demonstrates a preternatural ability to laser in on our fears, our hopes, and our longings in order to point out intrinsic truths about society and humanity. “Killer of Kings” starts with John Milton writing Paradise Lost and questions the very nature of power—and the ability to see any hero as a tyrant with just a change in perspective. The title story presents a stirring imagining of the aftermath of the kidnapping of Nigerian schoolgirls by Boko Haram that leaves us pondering what is lost when we survive the unsurvivable.

Like many of us, the characters in this collection are in pursuit of the sublime, and find themselves looking not just to divinity but to science, nature, psychology, and industry, forgetting that their new, logical deities are no more trustworthy than the tempestuous gods of the olden days. Along the way, they walk the knife-edge between wonder and terror, salvation and destruction. All the Names They Used for God is an entrancing work of speculative fiction that heralds Anjali Sachdeva as an invigorating, incomparable new voice.

Audiobook Table of Contents:
THE WORLD BY NIGHT, read by Cassandra Campbell
GLASS-LUNG, read by Cassandra Campbell
LOGGING LAKE, read by Cassandra Campbell
KILLER OF KINGS, read by Cassandra Campbell
ALL THE NAMES FOR GOD, read by Zainab Jah
ROBERT GREENMAN AND THE MERMAID, read by Cassandra Campbell
ANYTHING YOU MIGHT WANT, read by Cassandra Campbell
MANUS, read by Will Damron
PLEIADES, read by Jorjeana Marie and MacLeod Andrews


“So rich they read like dreams—or, more often, nightmares—the nine stories in Sachdeva’s otherworldly debut center upon the unforgiving forces that determine the shape of our lives, as glorious as they are brutal. . . . These modern forces are as vast and incomprehensible as any gods. . . . [The stories] span time, space, and logic: Nigeria and New Hampshire, the past and the future, realism and science fiction. And yet, for all its scope, it is a strikingly unified collection, with each story reading like a poem, or a fable. . . . They are enormous stories, not in length but in ambition, each an entirely new, unsparing world. Beautiful, draining—and entirely unforgettable.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Recommended

Hear the Wind Sing, Haruki Murakami
Hear the Wind Sing
by Haruki Murakami

List: $10.00

Sale: $7.00

Club: $5.00

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, Haruki Murakami
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Year...
by Haruki Murakami

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Philip Gabriel
Published: 08/12/2014

A House at the Bottom of a Lake, Josh Malerman
A House at the Bottom of a Lake
by Josh Malerman

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Ozzie Rodriguez , Taylor Meskimen
Published: 01/19/2021

Before the Coffee Gets Cold A Novel, Toshikazu Kawaguchi
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Arina Ii
Published: 11/17/2020

The City We Became A Novel, N. K. Jemisin
The City We Became
by N. K. Jemisin

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Robin Miles
Published: 03/24/2020

Pinball, 1973, Haruki Murakami
Pinball, 1973
by Haruki Murakami

List: $10.00

Sale: $7.00

Club: $5.00

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

Wind/Pinball Two novels, Haruki Murakami
Wind/Pinball
by Haruki Murakami

List: $20.00

On Sale: $4.99

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

The Lonely Hearts Hotel A Novel, Heather O'Neill
The Lonely Hearts Hotel
by Heather O'Neill

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 05/09/2017

Tortuga, Rudolfo Anaya
Tortuga
by Rudolfo Anaya

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Timothy Andres Pabon
Published: 03/31/2020
{"id":"2070525","ean":"9780525587491","abr":"Unabridged","title":"All the Names They Used for God: Stories","subtitle":"Stories","author":"Anjali Sachdeva","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Cassandra Campbell","ubr_id":"2070525","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.38","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Cassandra Campbell","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 16 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}