All That Remains: A Life In Death, Sue Black
  • List: $29.99  |  Sale: $21.00
    Club: $14.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

All That Remains: A Life In Death

Author: Sue Black

Narrator: Angela Dawe

Unabridged: 9 hr 37 min

Format: Digital Audiobook (DRM Protected)

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Published: 03/05/2019

Genre: Medical - Forensic Medicine

Synopsis

For fans of Caitlin Doughty, Mary Roach, and CSI shows, a renowned forensic scientist on death and mortality.Dame Sue Black is an internationally renowned forensic anthropologist and human anatomist. She has lived her life eye to eye with the Grim Reaper, and she writes vividly about it in this book, which is part primer on the basics of identifying human remains, part frank memoir of a woman whose first paying job as a schoolgirl was to apprentice in a butcher shop, and part no-nonsense but deeply humane introduction to the reality of death in our lives. It is a treat for CSI junkies, murder mystery and thriller readers, and anyone seeking a clear-eyed guide to a subject that touches us all.Cutting through hype, romanticism, and cliché, she recounts her first dissection; her own first acquaintance with a loved one’s death; the mortal remains in her lab and at burial sites as well as scenes of violence, murder, and criminal dismemberment; and about investigating mass fatalities due to war, accident, or natural disaster, such as the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She uses key cases to reveal how forensic science has developed and what her work has taught her about human nature.Acclaimed by bestselling crime writers and fellow scientists alike, All That Remains is neither sad nor macabre. While Professor Black tells of tragedy, she also infuses her stories with a wicked sense of humor and much common sense.

Recommended

Undoctored Why Health Care Has Failed You and How You Can Become Smarter Than Your Doctor, William Davis, MD
Undoctored
by William Davis, MD

List: $22.95

Sale: $16.07

Club: $11.47

Narrator: Dan Woren
Published: 05/09/2017

The Checklist Manifesto How to Get Things Right, Atul Gawande
The Checklist Manifesto
by Atul Gawande

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 12/22/2009

Extreme Measures Finding a Better Path to the End of Life, Jessica Nutik Zitter, MD
Extreme Measures
by Jessica Nutik Zitter, MD

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Jessica Nutik Zitter, MD
Published: 02/21/2017

Deep Medicine How Artificial Intelligence Can Make Healthcare Human Again, Eric Topol
Deep Medicine
by Eric Topol

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Graham Winton
Published: 03/12/2019

Ebola Story of an Outbreak, Laurie Garrett
Ebola
by Laurie Garrett

List: $5.98

Sale: $4.19

Club: $2.99

Narrator: Kristin Kalbli
Published: 12/02/2014

Deadliest Enemy Our War Against Killer Germs, Michael T. Osterholm
Deadliest Enemy
by Michael T. Osterholm

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Jamie Renell
Published: 03/14/2017

Aroused The History of Hormones and How They Control Just About Everything, MD Epstein
Aroused
by MD Epstein

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Donna Postel
Published: 08/07/2018

Better A Surgeon's Notes on Performance, Atul Gawande
Better
by Atul Gawande

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 04/03/2007

The Good Gut Taking Control of Your Weight, Your Mood, and Your Long Term Health, Justin Sonnenburg
The Good Gut
by Justin Sonnenburg

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Marc Cashman
Published: 04/21/2015
{"id":"2711188","ean":"9781721385379","abr":"Unabridged","title":"All That Remains: A Life In Death","subtitle":"A Life In Death","author":"Sue Black","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Angela Dawe","ubr_id":"2711188","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"29.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.49","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Angela Dawe","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}