• Regular: $29.95

    Sale: $20.97 (30% Off)

    Club: $14.97

  • Regular: $17.95

    Sale: $12.57 (30% Off)

    Club: $8.97

Details

12 Strong: The Declassified True Story of the Horse Soldiers

Author: Doug Stanton

Narrator: Jack Garrett

Unabridged: 16 hr 45 min

Abridged: 7 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 03/08/2011

Genre: History - Military

Synopsis

“A thrilling action ride of a book” (The New York Times Book Review)—from Jerry Bruckheimer in theaters everywhere January 19, 2018—the New York Times bestselling, true-life account of a US Special Forces team deployed to dangerous, war-ridden Afghanistan in the weeks following 9/11.Previously published as Horse Soldiers, 12 Strong is the dramatic account of a small band of Special Forces soldiers who secretly entered Afghanistan following 9/11 and rode to war on horses against the Taliban. Outnumbered forty to one, they pursued the enemy army across the mountainous Afghanistan terrain and, after a series of intense battles, captured the city of Mazar-i-Sharif. The bone-weary American soldiers were welcomed as liberators as they rode into the city. Then the action took a wholly unexpected turn. During a surrender of six hundred Taliban troops, the Horse Soldiers were ambushed by the would-be POWs. Dangerously overpowered, they fought for their lives in the city’s immense fortress, Qala-i-Janghi, or the House of War. At risk were the military gains of the entire campaign: if the soldiers perished or were captured, the entire effort to outmaneuver the Taliban was likely doomed. “A riveting story of the brave and resourceful American warriors who rode into Afghanistan after 9/11 and waged war against Al Qaeda” (Tom Brokaw), Doug Stanton’s account touches the mythic. The soldiers on horses combined ancient strategies of cavalry warfare with twenty-first-century aerial bombardment technology to perform a seemingly impossible feat. Moreover, their careful effort to win the hearts of local townspeople proved a valuable lesson for America’s ongoing efforts in Afghanistan. With “spellbinding...action packed prose...The book reads more like a novel than a military history...the Horse Soldier’s secret mission remains the US military’s finest moment in what has since arguably been a muddled war” (USA TODAY).

Recommended

Lone Survivor
by Marcus Luttrell

A Navy SEAL's firsthand account of American heroism during a secret military operation in Afghanistan.Inspiration for a major motion picture by Mark Wahlberg. On a clear night in late June 2005, four U.S. Navy SEALs left their base in northern Afgh...

Narrator: Kevin T. Collins
Published: 05/01/2012

Dead Wake
by Erik Larson

#1 New York Times BestsellerFrom the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the LusitaniaOn May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as...

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 03/10/2015

Killing Patton
by Bill O'Reilly

Listeners around the world have been enthralled by Killing Lincoln, Killing Kennedy, and Killing Jesus—riveting works of nonfiction that journey into the heart of the most famous murders in history. Now from Bill O'Reilly, iconic anchor of The...

Narrator: Bill O'Reilly
Published: 09/23/2014

Killing the Rising Sun
by Bill O'Reilly

The powerful and riveting new book in the multimillion-selling Killing series by Bill O'Reilly and Martin DugardAutumn 1944. World War II is nearly over in Europe but is escalating in the Pacific, where American soldiers face an opponent who will go...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 09/13/2016

Flags of Our Fathers
by James Bradley

Now abridged for young people, Flags of Our Fathers is the unforgettable chronicle of perhaps the most famous moment in American military history: the raising of the U. S. flag at Iwo Jima. Here is the true story behind the immortal photograph tha...

Narrator: Stephen Hoye,Barry Bostwick
Published: 01/17/2006

The Operator
by Robert O'Neill

A stirringly evocative, thought-provoking, and often jaw-dropping account, The Operator ranges across SEAL Team Operator Robert O’Neill’s awe-inspiring four-hundred-mission career, which included his involvement in attempts to rescue &ld...

Narrator: Robert O'Neill
Published: 04/25/2017

The Imperial Cruise
by James Bradley

In 1905 President Teddy Roosevelt dispatched Secretary of War William Taft, his gun-toting daughter Alice and a gaggle of congressmen on a mission to Japan, the Philippines, China, and Korea. There, they would quietly forge a series of agreements th...

Narrator: Richard Poe
Published: 11/24/2009

13 Hours
by MItchell Zuckoff

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTUREThe harrowing, true account from the brave men on the ground who fought back during the Battle of Benghazi.13 HOURS presents, for the first time ever, the true account of the events of September 11, 2012, when terrorists at...

Narrator: Author
Published: 09/09/2014

Shadow Divers
by Robert Kurson

New York Times Bestseller In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great histo...

Narrator: Campbell Scott
Published: 06/29/2004
{"id":"127784","ean":"9781442342385","abr":"Unabridged","title":"12 Strong: The Declassified True Story of the Horse Soldiers","subtitle":"The Declassified True Story of the Horse Soldiers","author":"Doug Stanton","rating_average":"3.66","narrator":"Jack Garrett","ubr_id":"127784","abr_id":"129025","ubr_price":"29.95","abr_price":"17.95","ubr_memprice":"17.97","abr_memprice":"10.77","ubr_narrator":"Jack Garrett","abr_narrator":"Dennis Boutsikaris","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 16 hr 45 min","abr_length":"Abridged: 7 hr"}