12.21, Dustin Thomason
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

12.21

Author: Dustin Thomason

Narrator: Fred Sanders, Noel R. Bearheart, Dustin Thomason

Unabridged: 10 hr 53 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/07/2012

Genre: Fiction - Thrillers

Synopsis

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
 
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
 
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
 
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life’s work and to one of history’s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
 
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.
 
Advance praise for 12.21
 
“Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”—Nelson DeMille

“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”—Vince Flynn

“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”—Publishers Weekly


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

The Wife Between Us, Greer Hendricks
The Wife Between Us
by Greer Hendricks

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 01/09/2018

Odd Thomas An Odd Thomas Novel, Dean Koontz
Odd Thomas
by Dean Koontz

Meet Odd Thomas, the unassuming young hero of Dean Koontz’s dazzling New York Times bestseller, a gallant sentinel at the crossroads of life and death who offers up his heart in these pages and will forever capture yours. “The dead don&r...

Narrator: David Aaron Baker
Published: 12/09/2003

Behind Closed Doors The most shocking new psychological suspenseful thriller you'll read this year, B. A. Paris
Behind Closed Doors
by B. A. Paris

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING DEBUT PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER YOU CAN'T MISS!The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?a€œA hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep you read...

Narrator: Georgia Maguire
Published: 08/09/2016

The Couple Next Door, Shari Lapena
The Couple Next Door
by Shari Lapena

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERShari Lapena’s new thriller, AN UNWANTED GUEST, is available now!“The twists come as fast [as] you can turn the pages.” —People“Provocative and shocking.” —...

Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Published: 08/23/2016

American Assassin, Vince Flynn
American Assassin
by Vince Flynn

INCLUDES THE FIRST CHAPTER FROM VINCE FLYNN AND KYLE MILLS’ LATEST THRILLER, ENEMY OF THE STATE! New York Times bestselling author Vince Flynn returns with his most exhilarating political thriller to date, a pulse-pounding tale of espionage t...

Narrator: George Guidall,Armand Schultz
Published: 10/12/2010

The President Is Missing, James Patterson
The President Is Missing
by James Patterson

"This book moves like Air Force One. Big and fast. Clinton and Patterson are a dream combo." --Michael Connelly, author of the Ballard and Bosch seriesThe publishing event of 2018: Bill Clinton and James Patterson's The President Is Missing is a sup...

Narrator: Dennis Quaid
Published: 06/04/2018

American Assassin, Vince Flynn
American Assassin
by Vince Flynn

INCLUDES THE FIRST CHAPTER FROM VINCE FLYNN AND KYLE MILLS’ LATEST THRILLER, ENEMY OF THE STATE! Now a major motion picture New York Times bestselling author Vince Flynn returns with his most exhilarating political thriller to date, a pulse-p...

Narrator: George Guidall,Armand Schultz
Published: 10/12/2010

Dark Places, Gillian Flynn
Dark Places
by Gillian Flynn

I have a meanness inside me, real as an organ.Libby Day was seven when her mother and two sisters were murdered in “The Satan Sacrifice of Kinnakee, Kansas.” As her family lay dying, little Libby fled their tiny farmhouse into the freezi...

Narrator: Rebecca Lowman
Published: 05/05/2009

The President Is Missing, James Patterson
The President Is Missing
by James Patterson

"This book moves like Air Force One. Big and fast. Clinton and Patterson are a dream combo." --Michael Connelly, author of the Ballard and Bosch seriesThe publishing event of 2018: Bill Clinton and James Patterson's The President Is Missing is a sup...

Narrator: Dennis Quaid
Published: 06/04/2018
{"id":"319053","ean":"9780449011607","abr":"Unabridged","title":"12.21","subtitle":"","author":"Dustin Thomason","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Fred Sanders","series_id":"9417","ubr_id":"319053","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Fred Sanders","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}