1221
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

12.21

Author: Dustin Thomason

Narrator: Fred Sanders, Noel R. Bearheart, Dustin Thomason

Unabridged: 10 hr 53 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/07/2012

Genre: Fiction - Thrillers

Synopsis

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
 
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
 
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
 
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life’s work and to one of history’s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
 
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.
 
Advance praise for 12.21
 
“Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”—Nelson DeMille

“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”—Vince Flynn

“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”—Publishers Weekly


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Forever Odd
by Dean Koontz

Every so often a character so captures the hearts and imaginations of readers that he seems to take on a life of his own long after the final page is turned. For such a character, one book is not enough—readers must know what happens next. Now...

Narrator: David Aaron Baker
Published: 11/29/2005

The Quickie
by James Patterson

Lauren Stillwell is not your average damsel in distress. When the NYPD cop discovers her husband leaving a hotel with another woman, she decides to beat him at his own game. But her revenge goes dangerously awry, and she finds her world spiraling i...

Narrator: Mary Stuart Masterson
Published: 07/02/2007

The Big Bad Wolf
by James Patterson

Who's Afraid?Alex Cross battles the most ruthless and powerful killer he has ever encountered: a predator known only as the Wolf.Alex Cross' first case since joining the FBI has his new colleagues stymied. Across the country, men and women are bein...

Narrator: Peter J. Fernandez
Published: 08/01/2005

The Couple Next Door
by Shari Lapena

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERShari Lapena’s new thriller, AN UNWANTED GUEST, is available now!“The twists come as fast [as] you can turn the pages.” —People“Provocative and shocking.” —...

Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Published: 08/23/2016

Behind Closed Doors
by B. A. Paris

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING DEBUT PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER YOU CAN'T MISS!The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?a€œA hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep you read...

Narrator: Georgia Maguire
Published: 08/09/2016

The Lincoln Lawyer
by Michael Connelly

Mickey Haller has spent all his professional life afraid that he wouldn't recognize innocence if it stood right in front of him. But what he should have been on the watch for was evil. Haller is a Lincoln Lawyer, a criminal defense attorney who op...

Narrator: Adam Grupper
Published: 10/03/2005

The Wife Between Us
by Greer Hendricks

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 01/09/2018

Odd Thomas
by Dean Koontz

Meet Odd Thomas, the unassuming young hero of Dean Koontz’s dazzling New York Times bestseller, a gallant sentinel at the crossroads of life and death who offers up his heart in these pages and will forever capture yours. “The dead don&r...

Narrator: David Aaron Baker
Published: 12/09/2003

The Husband
by Dean Koontz

With each and every new novel, Dean Koontz raises the stakes—and the pulse rate—higher than any other author. Now, in what may be his most suspenseful and heartfelt novel ever, he brings us the story of an ordinary man whose extraordinar...

Narrator: Holter Graham
Published: 05/30/2006
{"id":"319053","ean":"9780449011607","abr":"Unabridged","title":"12.21","subtitle":"","author":"Dustin Thomason","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Fred Sanders","ubr_id":"319053","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Fred Sanders","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}