12.21, Dustin Thomason
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

12.21

Author: Dustin Thomason

Narrator: Fred Sanders, Noel R. Bearheart, Dustin Thomason

Unabridged: 10 hr 53 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/07/2012

Genre: Fiction - Thrillers

Synopsis

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
 
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
 
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
 
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life’s work and to one of history’s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
 
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.
 
Advance praise for 12.21
 
“Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”—Nelson DeMille

“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”—Vince Flynn

“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”—Publishers Weekly


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

The A List, J.A. Jance
The A List
by J.A. Jance

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Karen Ziemba
Published: 04/02/2019

Mississippi Blood, Greg Iles
Mississippi Blood
by Greg Iles

List: $40.99

Sale: $28.70

Club: $20.49

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 03/21/2017

Worth Dying For A Jack Reacher Novel, Lee Child
Worth Dying For
by Lee Child

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Dick Hill
Published: 10/19/2010

Inferno, Dan Brown
Inferno
by Dan Brown

List: $30.00

Sale: $21.00

Club: $15.00

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 05/14/2013

The Black Book, James Patterson
The Black Book
by James Patterson

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Edoardo Ballerini
Published: 03/27/2017

Dragon Teeth, Michael Crichton
Dragon Teeth
by Michael Crichton

List: $21.99

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Sherri Crichton
Published: 05/23/2017

Pretty Things A Novel, Janelle Brown
Pretty Things
by Janelle Brown

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 04/21/2020

The Enemy A Jack Reacher Novel, Lee Child
The Enemy
by Lee Child

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Dick Hill
Published: 02/02/2021

The Pharaoh Key, Douglas Preston
The Pharaoh Key
by Douglas Preston

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: David W. Collins
Published: 06/12/2018
{"id":"319053","ean":"9780449011607","abr":"Unabridged","title":"12.21","subtitle":"","author":"Dustin Thomason","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Fred Sanders","ubr_id":"319053","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Fred Sanders","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 53 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}