We Are Displaced
  • List: $24.98  |  Sale: $17.49
    Club: $12.49
    • facebook
    • Twitter
    • googleplus
    • pinterest

Details

We Are Displaced: My Journey and Stories from Refugee Girls Around the World

Author: Malala Yousafzai

Narrator: Malala Yousafzai, Neela Vaswani

Unabridged: 4 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 01/08/2019

Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography

Synopsis

After her father was murdered, María escaped in the middle of the night with her mother.Zaynab was out of school for two years as she fled war before landing in America. Her sister, Sabreen, survived a harrowing journey to Italy.Ajida escaped horrific violence, but then found herself battling the elements to keep her family safe in their new makeshift home.***Nobel Peace Prize winner and New York Times-bestselling author Malala Yousafzai introduces some of the people behind the statistics and news stories we read or hear every day about the millions of people displaced worldwide. Malala's experiences visiting refugee camps caused her to reconsider her own displacement - first as an Internally Displaced Person when she was a young child in Pakistan, and then as an international activist who could travel anywhere in the world except to the home she loved. In We Are Displaced, which is part memoir, part communal storytelling, Malala not only explores her own story, but she also shares the personal stories of some of the incredible girls she has met on her journeys - girls who have lost their community, relatives, and often the only world they've ever known. In a time of immigration crises, war, and border conflicts, We Are Displaced is an important reminder from one of the world's most prominent young activists that every single one of the 68.5 million currently displaced is a person - often a young person - with hopes and dreams.

Recommended

Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution
by Bernie Sanders

In The Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Independent congressman, presidential candidate and activist Bernie Sanders continues his fight against the imbalances in the nationa€™s status quo, and shows you how to make a differen...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 08/29/2017

Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different
by Karen Blumenthal

"Your time is limited. . . . have the courage to follow your heart and intuition."--Steve JobsFrom the start, his path was never predictable. Steve Jobs was given up for adoption at birth, dropped out of college after one semester, and at the age of...

Narrator: Sean Runnette
Published: 02/14/2012

Mountains Beyond Mountains (Adapted for Young People)
by Tracy Kidder

“[A] masterpiece . . . an astonishing book that will leave you questioning your own life and political views . . . Kidder opens a window into Farmer’s soul, letting the reader peek in and see what truly makes the good doctor tick.&r...

Narrator: Lincoln Hoppe
Published: 04/09/2013

Being Jazz
by Jazz Jennings

Teen advocate and trailblazer Jazz Jennings—named one of “The 25 Most Influential Teens” of the year by Time—shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people to accept the differences in others while th...

Narrator: Jazz Jennings
Published: 06/07/2016

Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith
by Deborah Heiligman

Charles Darwin published The Origin of Species, his revolutionary tract on evolution and the fundamental ideas involved, in 1859. Nearly 150 years later, the theory of evolution continues to create tension between the scientific and religious commun...

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor
Published: 01/06/2009

Discovering Wes Moore
by Wes Moore

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turn...

Narrator: Wes Moore
Published: 06/11/2013

Bad Boy
by Walter Dean Myers

Into a memoir that is gripping, funny, heartbreaking, and unforgettable, Walter Dean Myers richly weaves the details of his Harlem childhood in the 1940s and 1950s: a loving home life with his adopted parents, Bible school, street games, and the vi...

Narrator: Joe Morton
Published: 02/22/2005

Hole In My Life
by Jack Gantos

In the summer of 1971, Jack Gantos was an aspiring writer desperate for adventure, college cash, and a way out of a dead-end job. For ten thousand dollars, he recklessly agreed to help sail a sixty-foot yacht loaded with hashish from the Virgin Isla...

Narrator: Jack Gantos
Published: 07/22/2003

Leaving Glorytown
by Eduardo Calcines

Eduardo F. Calcines was a child of Fidel Castro’s Cuba; he was just three years old when Castro came to power in January 1959.  After that, everything changed for his family and his country, and over the next few years, it was hard for Ed...

Narrator: Eduardo Calcines
Published: 04/06/2010
{"id":"2675419","ean":"9781549170126","abr":"Unabridged","title":"We Are Displaced: My Journey and Stories from Refugee Girls Around the World","subtitle":"My Journey and Stories from Refugee Girls Around the World","author":"Malala Yousafzai","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Malala Yousafzai","ubr_id":"2675419","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Malala Yousafzai","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}