Comfort Me with Apples
  • List: $12.95  |  Sale: $9.07
    Club: $6.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Comfort Me with Apples: More Adventures at the Table

Author: Ruth Reichl

Narrator: Ruth Reichl

Abridged: 5 hr 28 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 04/10/2001

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Women

Synopsis

In Ruth Reichl’s latest book — one that will delight her fans and convert those as yet uninitiated to her charming tales — the author brings to life her adventures in pursuit of good meals and good company. Picking up where Tender at the Bone leaves off, Comfort Me with Apples recounts Reichl’s transformation from chef to food writer, a process that led her through restaurants from Bangkok to Paris to Los Angeles and brought lessons in life, love, and food.

It is an apprenticeship by turns delightful and daunting, one told in the most winning and engaging of voices. Reichl’s anecdotes from a summer lunch with M.F.K. Fisher, a mad dash through the produce market with Wolfgang Puck, and a garlic feast with Alice Waters are priceless. She is unafraid — even eager — to poke holes in the pretensions of food critics, making each meal a hilarious and instructive occasion for novices and experts alike. The New York Times has said, “While all good food critics are humorous .. few are so riotously, effortlessly entertaining as Ruth Reichl.” In Comfort Me with Apples, Reichl once again demonstrates her inimitable ability to combine food writing, humor, and memoir into an art form.


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

The Middle Place
by Kelly Corrigan

Kelly Corrigans brilliant memoir explores the middle place between childhood and adulthood and how she made the leap to the other side. Intertwining her own story with that of her largerthanlife, IrishAmerican father, she illustrates a powerful fath...

Narrator: Tavia Gilbert
Published: 01/08/2008

The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

Such a Pretty Fat
by Jen Lancaster

A NOTE FROM JEN LANCASTER:"To whom the fat rolls…I'm tired of books where a self-loathing heroine is teased to the point where she starves herself skinny in hopes of a fabulous new life. And I hate the message that women can't poss...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

Bright Lights, Big Ass
by Jen Lancaster

Unabridged ? 10 hoursJen Lancaster hates to burst your happy little bubble, but life in the big city isn't all it's cracked up to be. Contrary to what you see on TV and in the movies, most urbanites aren't party-hopping in slinky dresses and strappy...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

Possible Side Effects
by Augusten Burroughs

From the million-copy bestselling author of Running with Scissors comes Augusten Burroughs's most provocative collection yet.This audiobook is approved for consumption by those seeking pleasure, escape, amusement, enlightenment, or general distracti...

Narrator: Augusten Burroughs
Published: 05/02/2006

Bitter is the New Black
by Jen Lancaster

Unabridged ? 11 hoursThis is the smart-mouthed, soul- searching story of a woman trying to figure out what happens next when she's gone from six figures to unemployment checks and she stops to reconsider some of the less-than-rosy attitudes and valu...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

A Girl Named Zippy
by Haven Kimmel

Laced with fine storytelling, sharp wit, dead-on observations, and moments of sheer joy, Haven Kimmel's straight-shooting portrait of her childhood gives us a heroine who is wonderfully sweet and sly as she navigates the quirky adult world that surr...

Narrator: Haven Kimmel
Published: 12/29/2006

Lucky
by Alice Sebold

The critically acclaimed memoir from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lovely Bones In a memoir hailed for its searing candor and wit, Alice Sebold reveals how her life was utterly transformed when, as an eighteen-year-old college ...

Narrator: Alice Sebold
Published: 01/01/2003

The Tender Bar
by J. R. Moehringer

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.J....

Narrator: Adam Grupper
Published: 09/05/2017
{"id":"319715","ean":"9780739300053","abr":"Abridged","title":"Comfort Me with Apples: More Adventures at the Table","subtitle":"More Adventures at the Table","author":"Ruth Reichl","rating_average":"2.11","narrator":"Ruth Reichl","ubr_id":"0","abr_id":"319715","ubr_price":"0.00","abr_price":"12.95","ubr_memprice":"0.00","abr_memprice":"8.42","ubr_narrator":"","abr_narrator":"Ruth Reichl","ubr_length":"Unabridged: ","abr_length":"Abridged: 5 hr 30 min"}