Our Team: The Epic Story of Four Men and the World Series That Changed Baseball, Luke Epplin
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Our Team: The Epic Story of Four Men and the World Series That Changed Baseball

Author: Luke Epplin

Narrator: Leon Nixon

Unabridged: 10 hr 47 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 03/30/2021

Genre: Sports & Recreation - Baseball - History

Synopsis

Luke Epplin's Our Team is an exciting, and too-little-known, baseball story--the tale of the first team with African-American players to win the World Series.

The integration of baseball is justly remembered through the prism of Jackie Robinson and the Brooklyn Dodgers. Yet there is a triumphant, and pivotal, narrative from those fraught years that has long been overlooked: the story of the 1948 Cleveland Indians.

This team featured two black players, Larry Doby and Satchel Paige, and in only the second year of integrated baseball, they won a championship. These two men represent different facets of the African-American experience. Doby, a young World War II veteran whose parents had been part the Great Migration, integrated the American League only 11 weeks after Robinson. He suffered the same indignities (as he recalled, “Nobody said we’re going to be nice to the second black”), but never received the aura of legend that could come only from being first. Paige meanwhile was a legend in his own time, an Alabama gardener’s son who became the greatest pitcher in Negro League history. When signed by the Indians to help lead them to the playoffs, he was forty-two, the oldest rookie ever.

These two compelling figures are at the center of a baseball story that also includes the owner of the Indians, Bill Veeck, the most colorful owner in baseball, and the Hall of Fame pitcher (and complicated human) Bob Feller. For fans of David Halberstam, Bill James, and Roger Angell, here is a new baseball classic.

A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books

"Epplin’s epic saga is simultaneously a riveting drama and a searing portrait of the racism that plagued baseball for decades. This sharp and well-documented history will be a hit with baseball lovers and general interest readers alike." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

Recommended

Stealing Home Los Angeles, the Dodgers, and the Lives Caught in Between, Eric Nusbaum
Stealing Home
by Eric Nusbaum

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: David Owen Nelson
Published: 03/24/2020

Off Speed Baseball, Pitching, and the Art of Deception, Terry McDermott
Off Speed
by Terry McDermott

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Joe Barrett
Published: 05/30/2017

The Cubs Way The Zen of Building the Best Team in Baseball and Breaking the Curse, Tom Verducci
The Cubs Way
by Tom Verducci

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Tom Verducci
Published: 03/28/2017

Game of Shadows Barry Bonds, BALCO, and the Steroids Scandal That Rocked Professional Sports, Mark Fainaru-Wada
Game of Shadows
by Mark Fainaru-Wada

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 04/04/2006

Astroball The New Way to Win It All, Ben Reiter
Astroball
by Ben Reiter

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Ben Reiter
Published: 07/10/2018

Kings of Queens Life Beyond Baseball with '86 Mets, Erik Sherman
Kings of Queens
by Erik Sherman

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Darrel J. Caneiro
Published: 03/22/2016

Where Nobody Knows Your Name Life In the Minor Leagues of Baseball, John Feinstein
Where Nobody Knows Your Name
by John Feinstein

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: John Feinstein
Published: 02/25/2014

Southern League A True Story of Baseball, Civil Rights, and the Deep South's Most Compelling Pennant Race, Larry Colton
Southern League
by Larry Colton

List: $19.98

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Fleet Cooper
Published: 05/14/2013

Game Six Cincinnati, Boston, and the 1975 World Series: The Triumph of America's Pastime, Mark Frost
Game Six
by Mark Frost

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Andrew Garman
Published: 12/04/2009
{"id":"4932475","ean":"9781250760029","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Our Team: The Epic Story of Four Men and the World Series That Changed Baseball","subtitle":"The Epic Story of Four Men and the World Series That Changed Baseball","author":"Luke Epplin","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Leon Nixon","ubr_id":"4932475","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Leon Nixon","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 47 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}