A Door in the Earth, Amy Waldman
  • List: $24.98  |  Sale: $17.49
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

A Door in the Earth

Author: Amy Waldman

Narrator: Roxanna Hope Radja

Unabridged: 12 hr 34 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 08/27/2019

Genre: Fiction - Political

Synopsis

For readers of Cutting for Stone and The Reluctant Fundamentalist, a "breathtaking and achingly nuanced" (Kirkus, starred review) new novel from the author of the national bestseller The Submission about the journey of a young Afghan-American woman trapped between her ideals and the complicated truth. "One of the essential books of the post-9/11 era." --George Packer, author of The UnwindingParveen Shams, a college senior in search of a calling, feels pulled between her charismatic and mercurial anthropology professor and the comfortable but predictable Afghan-American community in her Northern California hometown. When she discovers a bestselling book called Mother Afghanistan, a memoir by humanitarian Gideon Crane that has become a bible for American engagement in the country, she is inspired. Galvanized by Crane's experience, Parveen travels to a remote village in the land of her birth to join the work of his charitable foundation. When she arrives, however, Crane's maternity clinic, while grandly equipped, is mostly unstaffed. The villagers do not exhibit the gratitude she expected to receive. And Crane's memoir appears to be littered with mistakes, or outright fabrications. As the reasons for Parveen's pilgrimage crumble beneath her, the U.S. military, also drawn by Crane's book, turns up to pave the solde road to the village, bringing the war in their wake. When a fatal ambush occurs, Parveen must decide whether her loyalties lie with the villagers or the soldiers -- and she must determine her own relationship to the truth. Amy Waldman, who reported from Afghanistan for the New York Times after 9/11, has created a taut, propulsive novel about power, perspective, and idealism, brushing aside the dust of America's longest-standing war to reveal the complicated truths beneath. A Door in the Earth is the rarest of books, one that helps us understand living history through poignant characters and unforgettable storytelling.

Recommended

Vengeance, Newt Gingrich
Vengeance
by Newt Gingrich

Leading politician and bestselling author Newt Gingrich and novelist Pete Earley are back with another gripping international thriller. A terrorist drives an explosive-packed rental truck into Major Brooke Grant's Washington, D.C., wedding,...

Narrator: Eric Martin
Published: 10/10/2017

By the Rivers of Babylon, Nelson DeMille
By the Rivers of Babylon
by Nelson DeMille

Lod Airport, Israel: Two Concorde jets take off for a U.N. conference that will finally bring peace to the Middle East. Covered by F-14 fighters, accompanied by security men, the planes carry warriors, pacifists, lovers, enemies, dignitaries -- and...

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 11/01/2010

I Am Pilgrim A Thriller, Terry Hayes
I Am Pilgrim
by Terry Hayes

Critics are calling I AM PILGRIM:"Unputdownable." —Booklist "The best book of 2014." —Suspense Magazine "The next Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." —The New York PostA breakneck race against time…and an implacable enemy.An anonym...

Narrator: Christopher Ragland
Published: 05/27/2014

The Last Man, Vince Flynn
The Last Man
by Vince Flynn

A pulse-pounding thriller by #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon Vince Flynn, as Mitch Rapp heads to Afghanistan to track down a missing CIA agent.The four dead guards didn’t concern Mitch Rapp as much as the absence of the man they’...

Narrator: George Guidall,Armand Schultz
Published: 11/13/2012

Tom Clancy's Op-Center #4: Acts of War, Tom Clancy
Tom Clancy's Op-Center #4: Acts of War
by Tom Clancy

Kurdish terrorists have attacked a dam inside the borders of Turkey, threatening the water supply of their very homeland. It is not insanity, but the first step in a deceptively simple plan: force all-out war in the Middle East, drawing in the major...

Narrator: Michael Kramer
Published: 05/31/2011

Tom Clancy's Op-Center #6: State of Siege, Tom Clancy
Tom Clancy's Op-Center #6: State of Siege
by Tom Clancy

Op-Center chief Paul Hood was going to retire. But that's about as likely as a gun shooting flowers. A bunch of rogue U.N. peacekeepers, or "Keepers," has decided to cross over to the wrong side of the law. Armed with stolen U.N. weapons and ammo, t...

Narrator: Michael Kramer
Published: 05/31/2011

The Last Man, Vince Flynn
The Last Man
by Vince Flynn

A pulse-pounding thriller by #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon Vince Flynn, as Mitch Rapp heads to Afghanistan to track down a missing CIA agent.The four dead guards didn’t concern Mitch Rapp as much as the absence of the man they’...

Narrator: George Guidall,Armand Schultz
Published: 11/13/2012

Duplicity, Newt Gingrich
Duplicity
by Newt Gingrich

The greatest nightmare for the free world today would be a master terrorist hiding somewhere, controlling and coordinating radical Islamic groups at the highest level around the globe. In DUPLICITY, the newest thriller from former Speaker of the Ho...

Narrator: Robert Fass
Published: 10/13/2015

Exit West, Mohsin Hamid
Exit West
by Mohsin Hamid

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 MAN BOOKER PRIZEFINALIST FOR THE 2017 KIRKUS PRIZEA NEW YORK TIMES AND TIME MAGAZINE "BEST BOOK OF 2017"“A breathtaking novel…[that] arrives at an urgent time.” –NPR.org“It was as if Hamid...

Narrator: Mohsin Hamid
Published: 03/07/2017
{"id":"3325699","ean":"9781549173431","abr":"Unabridged","title":"A Door in the Earth","subtitle":"","author":"Amy Waldman","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Roxanna Hope Radja","ubr_id":"3325699","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Roxanna Hope Radja","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 12 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}