A Door in the Earth, Amy Waldman
  • List: $24.98  |  Sale: $17.49
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

A Door in the Earth

Author: Amy Waldman

Narrator: Roxanna Hope Radja

Unabridged: 12 hr 34 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 08/27/2019

Genre: Fiction - Political

Synopsis

For readers of Cutting for Stone and The Reluctant Fundamentalist, a "breathtaking and achingly nuanced" (Kirkus, starred review) new novel from the author of the national bestseller The Submission about the journey of a young Afghan-American woman trapped between her ideals and the complicated truth. "One of the essential books of the post-9/11 era." --George Packer, author of The UnwindingParveen Shams, a college senior in search of a calling, feels pulled between her charismatic and mercurial anthropology professor and the comfortable but predictable Afghan-American community in her Northern California hometown. When she discovers a bestselling book called Mother Afghanistan, a memoir by humanitarian Gideon Crane that has become a bible for American engagement in the country, she is inspired. Galvanized by Crane's experience, Parveen travels to a remote village in the land of her birth to join the work of his charitable foundation. When she arrives, however, Crane's maternity clinic, while grandly equipped, is mostly unstaffed. The villagers do not exhibit the gratitude she expected to receive. And Crane's memoir appears to be littered with mistakes, or outright fabrications. As the reasons for Parveen's pilgrimage crumble beneath her, the U.S. military, also drawn by Crane's book, turns up to pave the solde road to the village, bringing the war in their wake. When a fatal ambush occurs, Parveen must decide whether her loyalties lie with the villagers or the soldiers -- and she must determine her own relationship to the truth. Amy Waldman, who reported from Afghanistan for the New York Times after 9/11, has created a taut, propulsive novel about power, perspective, and idealism, brushing aside the dust of America's longest-standing war to reveal the complicated truths beneath. A Door in the Earth is the rarest of books, one that helps us understand living history through poignant characters and unforgettable storytelling.

Recommended

Vengeance, Newt Gingrich
Vengeance
by Newt Gingrich

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Eric Martin
Published: 10/10/2017

The Girl from the Garden, Parnaz Foroutan
The Girl from the Garden
by Parnaz Foroutan

List: $18.99

Sale: $13.29

Club: $9.49

Narrator: Lameece Issaq
Published: 08/18/2015

In the First Circle, Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn
In the First Circle
by Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Derek Perkins
Published: 10/09/2018

I Am Pilgrim A Thriller, Terry Hayes
I Am Pilgrim
by Terry Hayes

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Christopher Ragland
Published: 05/27/2014

The Last Man, Vince Flynn
The Last Man
by Vince Flynn

List: $29.95

Sale: $20.97

Club: $14.97

Narrator: George Guidall,Armand Schultz
Published: 11/13/2012

Lost Children Archive A novel, Valeria Luiselli
Lost Children Archive
by Valeria Luiselli

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Valeria Luiselli
Published: 02/12/2019

Duplicity, Newt Gingrich
Duplicity
by Newt Gingrich

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Robert Fass
Published: 10/13/2015

Mitla Pass, Leon Uris
Mitla Pass
by Leon Uris

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Angela Dawe
Published: 05/14/2019

Exit West, Mohsin Hamid
Exit West
by Mohsin Hamid

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Mohsin Hamid
Published: 03/07/2017
{"id":"3325699","ean":"9781549173431","abr":"Unabridged","title":"A Door in the Earth","subtitle":"","author":"Amy Waldman","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Roxanna Hope Radja","ubr_id":"3325699","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Roxanna Hope Radja","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 12 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}